Skip to main content

Full text of "Bruton Parish Church"

See other formats


121 693 



JUfflUfl^*uffluauttuauj^^ 



(Ettg 
Sthrarg 




This Volume is for 
REFERENCE USE ONLY 



Bruton 
Gburcb 

IReetorefc 

anb its Ibfstoric Environment 




. (21. (R* <BoobJin t (^ (ttl 



o 



Wiffiomsfiurg, (Virginia 



Illustrated 
1907 



COPYRIGHT APPLIED FOR. 



Errata 

McClellan (not McClennan), p. 13. 
Whittaker (not Wittaker), p. 38. 
Charlotte (not Sarah Pendleton), p. 143 



PRINTED BY 

THE FRANKLIN PRESS CO. 
PETERSBURG. VA. 



Dedication 

Co one supremely unselfish, who 
has blessed her children with a 
love that has been to us the 
highest interpretation of the 
love of 6od in Christ; 

and 

to the Rt Rev* Hlfred ]M Ran- 
dolph, 0, D*, Bishop of the 
Diocese of Southern Yirginia, 
with grateful remembrance of a 
service held at Christ Church, 
Norwood, many years ago, this 
volume is affectionately dedicated* 



preface 



By Rt, Rev* H* JVL Randolph, IX D,, LLJX, 
Bishop of Southern Virginia 




|HIS book is designed to convey information and 
to awaken the patriotic sympathies of our 
countrymen in the associations connected 
with Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg. Its 
author has accomplished the work as a labor 
of love, amid his arduous duties as Rector of 
the old Church, and Pastor of its Congrega- 
tion. 

The historical significance of the Church is 
unique among the Colonial Churches of Vir- 
ginia and America The names upon its pews, 
which appear in the restoration, will be at 
once recognized as those of men whom history 
has designated as the Fathers of the Republic of the United 
States of America. The great political thinkers who con- 
tributed the largest share towards the conception of the 
principles of our government and the embodiments of those 
principles in the formation of the State and the National 
governments were, with their families, worshippers in this 
building and contributors to its erection and the maintenance 
of the ordinances of religious worship. The old Church, 
since its early days, has undergone, or rather suffered, many 
alterations in its interior forms The restoration has swept 
away these blots upon its ancient beauty and dignity and 
has revealed the grace and symmetry and the religious aspi- 
ration in the mind of the architects who projected its origi- 
nal plans. The work has been done under the supervision 
of a son of Virginia, who has earned exceptional distinction 
as an architect in the city of New York. He has contributed 
time and means and skill in the spirit of enthusiasm for his 



Bishop's preface 



art, and reverence for antiquity, declining any recompense 
save the appreciation of his beautiful work. 

We are grateful for the generous contributions from 
friends in the North, especially in the city of New York, 
without which the restoration of the Church could not 
have been accomplished. Their ready response suggests the 
vitality of the instinct of love for our common country, and 
reverence for the origin of our religious life as represented 
by the Protestant Church of England, which guided and 
fostered the infancy of this nation. 

As the Chairman of the Advisory Committee upon the 
restoration of Bruton Parish Church, I feel it our duty to 
express to the Rev. Mr. Goodwin our appreciation of the 
energy and ability and unstinted sacrifice of time and labor 
which, for more than three years, he has expended in collect- 
ing the means and in supervising and directing this work 
from the beginning to its completion. 

A. M. RANDOLPH, 
Bishop of Southern Virginia. 



Hutbor's preface 




N response to an ever increasing demand this 
volume has been prepared. The full trans- 
cript of the Parish Register of 1662, and the 
existing orders of the Vestry book of 1674 
having been inserted in "The Sketch of Bru- 
ton Parish Church/ 1 published in 1903, this 
matter is not repeated in full. 

In this volume, some of the most quaint 
and interesting ancient Vestry orders are 
grouped together to show in cotemporaneous 
form some of the customs of the Colonial 
Church and to recall the spirit of the past 

A chapter has been inserted on "The His- 
torical Environment of the Church," because the church was 
a component part of the community life ; and while it contrib- 
uted spiritual help and inspiration to the people of the past, 
it stands in an atmosphere created by the past, through which 
it should be viewed, and by which it is also hallowed and 
enriched. 

During the work of restoration, many additional facts, 
throwing light upon the ancient history of the church, were 
discovered, which are recorded in this volume. 

An account of the restoration of the church is given, 
with a transcript of the memorial pew plates and mural tablets 
placed in the building; and the sermon preached by the Rt. 
Rev. Beverley Dandridge Tucker, D. D., inaugurating the 
work of restoration, is inserted. 

The building, though venerable and sacred, is not the 
Church. The ivy-mantled structure stands as a hallowed 
memorial and consecrated symbol of the vital body, which is 
the witness of Christ to men and the living channel of His 
blessing. In the chapter on "Three Hundred Years of 
Church Life and Influence in Virginia/ 5 what the church has 



Hutbor^s preface 



stood for, and \vhat she has inspired, consecrated, and helped 
to accomplish, is suggested. Because Bruton Parish Church 
bears witness to the continuity of this life, and shared se 
largely in the accomplishment of the results which have been 
attained, the building, as a memorial of the past, is "The 
noblest monument of religion in America/ 1 

The Rector \vould record his grateful appreciation of the 
kind co-operation of those who have, by plans contributed, 
advice given, and generous contributions made to the work, 
enabled us to preserve the church and restore its interior to 
its ancient form and appearance. 

WM. A. R. Goonwix, 
Rector of Brut on Parish Church 

\YlLLIAMSBURG, VA., 

March 22, 1907. 



Contents 



The Historic Environment of Bruton Parish Church 13-33 

The Church at Jamestown 35-40 

Historical Sketch of Bruton Parish Church 41-51 

Some of the Ancient Vestry Orders 52-56 

Church Service in Colonial Days 57-59 

Memorials of the Past..'. 61-62 

(a) Communion Silver 62-63 

(b; Font 65 

(c) The Bell 66 

(d) Old Record Books... 66 

(e) The Clock 66 

(f) Pre-Revolutionary Prayer Book and Bible 69 

Memorial Endowment Fund 70-71 

TheChurchyard 73-74 

Some Quaint and Ancient Epitaphs 75-79 

Names Engraved on Tombstones 80-81 

Notes Relative to the Restoration of the Church 83-92 

Memorials in Bruton Parish Church 

(1) Tercentenary Memorials 

(a) President's Lecturn 95 

(b) King's Bible 95-102 

(2) Tombstones 104-110 

(3) Marble Mural Tablets 111-114 

(4) Bronze Memorials 115-139 

(5) Special Memorials 140-143 

Location and Description of Graves found in the Church 

while Excavating 144-147 

Sermon by Rt. Rev. B. D. Tucker, D. D., inaugurating the Restora- 
tion 149-156 

Three Hundred Years of Church Life and Influence in Virginia 159-171 

The Spiritual and Ideal Significance of Bruton Parish Church, 

Restored 173-191 

The Consecration of the Church 193-195 

The Third Sunday after Trinity 1607-1907 at Jamestown. Me- 
morial Communion 197-198 



Illustrations 



Bruton Parish Church, Restored, viewed from the Duke of Gloucester 

Street 1 

The Church Viewed from the Palace Green and the East 12 

The College of William and Mary 15 

The Duke of Gloucester Street, looking west, Colonial Capitol and 

Clerk's Office in the foreground 17 

Mathew Whaley School, built on the foundations of the Colonial Palace 18 

The Old Powder Horn 21 

The Old Court House, 1769 22 

The Home of George Wythe 25 

The Home of Hon. John Blair 26 

Bassett Hall 27 

The Home of Peyton Randolph 28 

The Moore House at Yorktown 31 

The Yorktown Centennial Monument 32 

The Old Church Tower at Jamestown 34 

The Rev Robert Hunt Memorial 37 

Bruton Parish Church viewed from the East 42 

The Duke of Gloucester Street 44 

Partition Wall built in 1840, removed in 1905 48 

Colonial Scene, by Wordsworth Thompson 57 

The Jamestown Communion Silver 60 

Communion Silver used at the College of William and Mary 63 

The Jamestown Baptismal Font 1 63 

The King George III Communion Silver 64 

The Old Liberty Bell of Virginia 65 

Two pages of the Parish Register of 1662 67 

P re-Revolutionary Prayer Book, with Prayer for the President pasted 

over Prayer for King George III 68 

Bruton Parish Church Yard 72 

The Tomb of the Custis Children 77 

Diagram showing location of Partition Wall of 1840, removed in 1905 85 

Restoration Plans, Transverse Section 86 

Just after the Removal ofthe Partition Wall 88 

Among the Ancient Tombs, Restoring Foundations 88 

The President's Lecturn 94 

The King Edward VII Bible, (six views) 97-102 

The Colonial Capitol 120 

Pew Plan ofthe Church restored 128 

The Church prior to the restoration, viewed from the Duke of 

Gloucester St 148 

Old Wood Cut View of the Church 158 

Brafferton Indian School at the College of William and Mary 165 

View of the Restored Interior 172 

Jamestown Island 177 

Bruton Parish Church, Restored 177 

Pre-Revolutionary Prayer Book, with marginal corrections 178 

The Nelson House, Yorktown 181 

The Colonial Governor's Canopied Pew 182 

The Colonial Governor's Chair 186 

Home of the Presidents of the College of William and Mary, where 

manv Colonial Ministers resided 189 

The Pulpit, Reading Desk, and Clerk's Desk in the restored Church 192 

View of the Improvised Church at Jamestown for the Holy Com- 
munion on the Third Sunday after Trinity, 1907 196 




w 

<u 
A 



4) 




Historic Environment of 
Bruton parish (tburcb 



HE English colonies in Virginia extended first 
along- the line of the great rivers which flow 
into die Chesapeake Bay and its estuaries, and 
in this territory we find most of our colonial 
chinches. Between the James River and the 
Y"ork, lies the Peninsula of Virginia, which 
is about twelve miles wide from Jamestown, 
on the north bank of the James, to Gloucester 
County, on the north bank of the York, where 
was situated the ancient seat of King Powha- 
tan. Though small in compass, this Peninsula 
is Virginia's richest historical possession. Here 
was cradled the infant republic. Here one 
called, by those who conquered him. Bacon the rebel, mar- 
shalled the patriots, of 1676, who enlisted to protect their 
homes against the Indians, and fought, when forced to, against 
Sir William Berkeley, the Governor, to maintain their liberty 
as freeborn Englishmen. 

Down the road which runs upon the crest of the Penin- 
sula, parallel with the present line of the Chesapeake and 
Ohio Railroad, marched the armies of the Revolution, led by 
LaFayette, Washington, and Lord Cornwallis, and in later 
years, the great armies of Johnston and McClennan passed 
over this road on the way to Richmond. 

The soil is blood stained and thronged with sacred and 
stirring memories. Here was not only the Cradle of the Re- 
public, but the birthplace of her liberty. The foundation 
stones alone remain of the buildings where, in 1619, the first 
representative Legislative Assembly held in America met at 
Jamestown, and where, in later years, in the House of Bur- 
gesses in Williamsburg, the eloquence of Patrick Henry 
kindled in Virginia the flames of the American Revolution : 



Bistomc environment 



but these stones are the corner-stones of the foundation 

upon which rests the government of the Federal Republic, 
while the monument which rises from the battlefield at York- 
town marks the place where the old order gave place to the 
new, and reminds us of the price of liberty. 

Here the value of our free institutions may be measured 
by recalling what their creation cost, for on this soil are the 
tokens which recall the toil, the tears, the blood, and the birth- 
pangs of our civilization and our liberty. 



Because here the "air was pure and serene" and because 
"clear and crystal springs burst from champaign soils," set- 
tlers came in 1632 and "laid off and paled in" Middle Planta- 
tion, and named it thus because it lay midway between the 
James and the York. To both of these rivers it had access by 
navigable creeks, which run up to the outskirts of the town. 

Of these early days little is known. The pioneers battled 
with the wilderness, with no dream of the glory which the 
future would throw like a halo over the soil reclaimed from 
the primeval forests. Their dreams were of Indians lurking 
without the palisades and hiding in the outskirts of the wood- 
land. 

ZEbe Cfourcb 

These forefathers of the hamlet* built for themselves a 
church here at Middle Plantation, and sleep in unknown 
graves in its unknown churchyard. The written records of 
the Parish do not begin until 1674. 

ZEbe College 

The College of William and Mary was largely the gift of 



* The use in this connection of the familiar quotation from the Elegy in the Country 
Churchyard in a previous History of Bruton Parish has lead the sexton to tell visitors 
that "the father of Hamlet dat Mr. Shakespeare wrote about in buried soxnewhar in dis 
here churchyard.*' A.S the Rector 1* quoted as authority for this statement, this explana- 
tory note is inserted to safeguard the truth of history. 



s 





5 

a 




16 Bistoric environment 

the Church to the people of Virginia. It was established in 
1693 through the efforts of Rev. Commissary James Blair, D. 
D., once Rector of the Church at Henrico and, subse- 
quently for many years, the Rector of Bruton Parish Church 
and President of the College. This institution was founded 
for the purpose of educating and Christianizing the Indian 
youth, who were quartered in Brafferton Hall, on the College 
grounds, and for training a native ministry, and educating the 
sons of the Virginia planters. All of the eight presidents of 
the College prior to the Revolution were clergymen or the 
Church of England. 

Next to Harvard in age, William and Mary has stood 
through the centuries for the making of men; and the presi- 
dents, statesmen, warriors, and clergymen who have gone 
from her ancient halls to serve their generation and their 
country are witnesses to the fact that the College has been 
faithful to her trust. The nation owes to this institution a 
debt of gratitude which has never been recognized, and which 
cannot be repaid too generously or too soon. She gave Wash- 
ington to lead our armies, because she made him County 
Surveyor, through which work he acquired the knowledge 
and experience which equipped him for larger service. 
She gave Jefferson to write our Charter of Independence,, 
and Monroe and Tyler to enlarge the nation's borders, and 
many others to stand among men as leaders in both peace 
and war. 

The students of the College, accompanied by one of the 
Masters, attended Bruton Parish Church, where the gallery 
in the west end was assigned to them, into which, by order 
of the Vestry, they were securely locked, and there they 
carved their names, which may be seen to-day, and doubtless 
dreamed of religious liberty. 

Removal of tbe Seat of Government 

Upon the removal of the Seat of Government from 
Jamestown to Williamsburg in 1699, the city assumed its 



Q 

o 



o 

- 
" 



Q 

ro' 

S: 

O3~ 

O 

I s 




Bistoric environment of Brutoti parish Church 19 



present name in honor of the King, and sprang immediately 
into prominence as the Capitol of Colonial Virginia. The 
streets looked back to old England for their names, or took 
them from the inherent vanity of man; the main thoroughfare 
running from the College to the Capitol being named by Sir 
Francis Nicholson for the Duke of Gloucester, and the two 
streets parallel, being named Francis and Nicholson, for the 
Governor himself. 

Gbe palace 

To the east of the church lies the Palace Green, at the 
head of which stood, until just after the Revolution, the 
Palace of the Governor, built at a cost of three thousand 
pounds sterling. This was a "magnificent structure built at 
the public expense, finished and beautified with gates, fine 
gardens, offices, walks, and a canal, and orchard embracing 
in all 370 acres, bordered with lindens brought from Scot- 
land."* 

Facing the Green may be seen to-day the home of Chan- 
cellor Wythe, which adjoins the Parish churchyard, and fur- 
ther down, on the same side, the white columned house used 
for awhile as the residence of Governor Dinwiddie, while just 
across from this is the home of Audrey, of fiction, and nearby, 
on the same side of the Green, was the colonial theatre, where, 
"by permission of His Excellency, the Governor/ 1 many 
hours were spent by the Virginians of other days in enjoying 
the transported London plays. 

The Governors were associated in many ways with Bru- 
ton Parish Church. Francis Nicholson and the Parish Vestry 
were in constant and often unpleasant contact, each being 
jealous of the power claimed and exercised by the other. 

Governor Spotswood furnished the plans for the present 
church building, and largely supervised its erection, providing 
for himself and the members of his Council a canopied 
pew, around which his name was written in letters of gold. 

See "Colonial Capitols of Virginia," page 63 Miss Mary L. Foster. 



20 Che Bfetoric environment of Bniton parish Church 

Francis Fauquier is buried in the north aisle of the 
Parish Church, and Lord Botetourt, a devoted churchman 
and a sincere Christian gentleman, was followed by a great 
concourse of mourning friends, to whom he had endeared 
himself, from the church to his last resting place in the Chapel 
vault in the College of William and Mary. Lord Dun- 
more gave to the gallery in the west end of the church the 
name, "Dunmore's Gallery/' by resorting to it with his Coun- 
cil when the prayer for the King began to be unpopular, and 
when tne Burgesses around the Governor's pew began to 
mutter irreverant imprecations, when, as loyal churchmen, 
they should have been praying devoutedly for King George 
III and his Parliament. 

Gbe Mouse of Burgesses 

The removal -of the House of Burgesses to Williams- 
burg m 1699, caused the building of the present church in 
1710-15, and brought Bruton into prominence as the Court 
Church of Colonial Virginia. As suggested by Governor 
Spotswood, the government appropriated a sufficient sum of 
money to "build the wings and intervening part of the church, 
and to provide pews for the Governor, his Council, and the 
members of the House of Burgesses." The foundations alone 
remain of the "Old Capitol" at the extreme east end of Duke 
of Gloucester Street, and a plain granite boulder, strong and 
rugged, bears this brief and eloquent inscription : 

Che Old Capitol 

"Here, Patrick Henry first kindled the flames of Revolu- 
tion by his resolutions and speech against the Stamp Act, 
May 29-30, 1765. 

Here, March 12, 1773, Dabney Girr offered, and the 
Convention of Virginia unanimously adopted, the resolutions 
to appoint a Committee to correspond with similar Commit- 
tees in the other Colonies: the first step taken towards the 
union of the States. 



H) 

rr 

Q 

g 

E 

o 








t> 




"Cbc Btstoric environment of Bnrton parish Church 23 

Here, May 15, 17/6, the Convention of Virginia, 
through resolutions drafted by Edmund Pendleton, offered 
by Thomas Nelson, Jr., advocated by Patrick Henry, unani- 
mously called on Congress to declare the Colonies free and 
independent States. 

Here, June 12, 17/6, was adopted by the Convention the 
immortal work of George Mason, the Declaration of Rights; 
and on June 27, 1776, the first written Constitution of a free 
and independent State ever framed." 

These were the men and these the days which did most 
to -enshrine old Bruton in the heart of history; and in the 
church, restored through simple memorials, the nation pays 
to them a tribute of devotion. 

ZTbe temple of Justice ftbe temple of TKftar 

From the churchyard, looking eastward over the Palace 
Green, may be seen the COURT HOUSE of 1769, across from 
which is the octagon POWDER HORN, built by Governor Spots- 
wood in 1714, in which was started the Revolution in Vir- 
ginia by the removal of the powder by Lord Dunmore on April 
21, 1775, and in which was subsequently organized the Bap- 
tist Church in Williamsburg, by the Rev. Scervant Jones, 
whose fame as a writer of epitaphs has seldom been surpassed, 
as may be seen from the inscription on the tomb in the 
churchyard in memory of Ann, his "angel wife."* 

Some Hnctent Homes of IDestr^men of 
ffiruton partsb (tburcb 

Che Qlytbc Rouse . 

The large brick house adjoining the churchyard and 



The blessing of Scervant Jones, said at the tavern of Mr. Howl whore * ^WcVen that 
had been dinner on several previous occasions was served to the Reverend gentleman. 
1 ' Good Lord of Love 
Look down from above, 
And bless che 'Owl 
Who ate this fowl 
And left these bones 
For Scervant Jones." 



24 t*e fitstoric environment of Bruton parish Church 

facing the Palace Green, was the home of Chancellor George 
\Yythe, the teacher, at the College of William and Mary, of 
Jefferson, Monroe, and Marshall ; and a signer of the Declara- 
tion of Independence. During his Yorktown campaign, this 
house was used by General Washington as his headquarters. 

Chancellor Wythe was for many years a vestryman and 
warden of Bruton Parish Church. 

Che Rouse ditb Olhite Columns 

The house on the same side of the Palace Green, with 
the white columned porch, is associated with the names of 
the Pages and Saunders, and as before mentioned, was used 
for awhile by Governor Dinwiddie as his palace. 

Che Blair Bouse 

As one passes from the church to the college, on the right 
hand side of the street, there is seen a low house with stone 
steps, which was the home of Hon. John Blair, appointed by 
Washington as Judge of the United States Supreme Court. 
It is said that Chief Justice John Marshall at one time resided 
here. 

An old letter written by Miss Blair tells of the genial 
entrance of Lord Botetourt into a circle of young people, 
who, gathered on these stone steps, on a moonlight night, 
were singing to the accompaniment of a guitar. 

Judge Blair was a member of the Parish Vestry. His 
grave lies nearby the gate which opens upon the Palace 
Green. 

Che College president's Bouse 

The house to the right of the walk leading through the 
campus of William and Mary College, was the home of the 
college presidents, manv of whom were Rectors of Bruton 
Church, while others served the church as Parish Vestrymen. 
Here, Lord Cornwallis had his headquarters. The building. 



8 

3 

8 



l-t- 

S 







a 





n; 

o 

B 



fiistortc ewrironment of Bruton parish Church 29 



having been subsequently burned by French troops quartered 
there while on their way from Yorktown, was rebuilt by Louis 
XVI, from his private purse. (See index for illustration; 

Homes on tbe Court (5reen 

'Che ditcher Rouse 

The house diagonally across from the church with dormer 
windows, which wanders with colonial freedom over the lot 
once owned by Edmund Randolph, was occupied by Judge 
St. George Tucker about 1779, anc ^ has remained in the family 
of his descendants. 

Tfte peachy Bouse 

The second house to the east was the home of Dr. 
Peachy, who entertained General LaFayette, and it is said 
that when the General returned to Williamsburg in 1824, he 
addressed the people of the city from the balcony of this 
house. 

Basset Rail 

At the far east end of Francis Street, back in a spacious 
lawn, stands the home of Bunvell Bassett, the friend and fre- 
quent host of General Washington. This was also the home 
of John Tyler, President of the United States. 

Rome of Peyton Randolph 

Adjoining the Bassett Hall property is the home of the 
Hon. Peyton Randolph, Speaker of the House of Burgesses 
and President of the Continental Congress, who for many 
years served as Vestryman of Bruton Parish Church. 

*Che Gait Bouse 

One oi the most ancient homes in Williamsburg stands 
on the opposite side of Francis Street, further to the west. 



30 Che BtstoHc environment of Bmton parish Church 

By whom it was built is not known, but for many years it 
was the home of the Gaits, vestrymen of Bruton Parish 
Church, and doctors, through successive generations, in charge 
of the Eastern State Hospital, which was established by the 
House of Burgesses in 1769, and is the oldest institution for 
the exclusive care of the insane in America. 

The Gaits were also prominent in the Masonic Fra- 
ternity, whose delapidated ancient temple, where the first 
Grand Lodge of Virginia was organized, stands farther up 
on the same side of the street. 

Cazetwll Ball 

Until recently, the home of Sir John Randolph, Speaker 
of the House of Burgesses, and of Edmund Randolph, At- 
torney-General during Washington's administration, stood 
at the head of England Street, to the south of the Powder 
Horn. The house has been turned around, and now faces 
the east. 

tber points of Interest 

Raleigh Cavern 

The site of the old Raleigh Tavern, now occupied by the 
store of L. W. Lane & Son, is of interest, as it was here that 
the Burgesses frequently met, after the House was dissolved 
by I^ord Dunmore, and acted upon many of the most import- 
ant measures culminating in the Revolution. Bruton Parish 
Church was doubtless called in those days to counteract 
many influences which proceeded from this famous resort, 
where the genial freedom of colonial life gave vent to itself 
in excesses which often called for repentance. 

Che Six Chimney Lot 

.- 

On the grounds of the Eastern State Hospital, where 
now stands the brick Custis kitchen, once stood the home 



8 

s 

o 
o 

(5 

B 
o 
c 





The Yorktown Centennial Monument 
Fourteen miles from Williamsburg 



Cbc Btstortc Biroiroinwnt of Bruton parish Cburcb 33 

where Washington and his bride resided a short time after his 
marriage to Mrs. Custis. 

Cartels Grove 

Five miles from Williamsburg, on the James River, is 
the home built by "King Carter" for his daughter, who 
married Nathaniel Burwell. This is one of the most stately 
and beautiful homes on the James. During the Revolution, 
Tarleton and his Cavalry Officers were quartered there, and 
they left upon the banisters in the hall the deep slashes of 
their sabres 

be Spirit of tbe past 

Intangible, but real ; invisible, but ever present, the spirit 
of the days of long ago haunts and hallows the ancient city 
and the homes of its honored dead; a spirit that stirs the 
memory and fires the imagination ; a spirit that will, we trust, 
illumine the judgment of those who have entered upon this 
rich inheritance of the past and lead them to guard these 
ancient landmarks and resist the spirit of ruthless innovation 
which threatens to rob the city of its unique distinction and 
its charm. 



Yorktown, with its many associations with the Revolu- 
tion, and its interesting memorials of the past, is fourteen 
miles from Williamsburg, from which point it is generally 
reached by visitors. 




T3 

3 




08 
T3 

s 

MH 

(90 

i 

A 





v 



Cburcb at Jamestown 




HEN I went first to Virginia, I well remember 
wee did hang an awning ( which is an old saile) 
to three or foure trees, to shadow us from the 
Sunne, our walles were railes of wood, our 
seates unhewed trees, till we cut plankes; our 
Pulpit a bar of wood nailed to two neighbour- 
ing trees; in foule weather we shifted into an 
old rotten tent ; for we had few better, and this 
came by way of advanture for new. * * * wee 
had daily Common Prayer morning and even- 
ing, ever} T Sunday two Sermons, and every 
three months the holy communion, till our min- 
ister died (the Rev. Mr. Hunt) : but our pray- 
ers daily, with an homily on Sundaies, we continued two or 
three } T ears after, till more Preachers came."* 

Thus John Smith describes the beginning at Jamestown 
of the permanent establishment of the English Church in 
America. It was no commercial spirit, no wild impulse of 
godless adventurers, which almost impatiently improvised this 
temple in the midst of the primaeval forests, where good 
Master Hunt read each day the Morning and Evening Prayer 
of the English Church liturgy, and where, having first healed 
the dissensions which threatened to overthrow the whole 
enterprise, he administered to his people the Holy Communion 
"as an outward and visible token and pledge of reconcilia- 
tion." The American Church has sought to recall that scene 
and to present it as a witness and memoral, through the bas- 
relief erected at Jamestown to the memory of Rev. Robert 
Hunt It is a witness of a fact which lies firm and strong as 
a corner-stone in the foundation of the republic, namely, that 
religion was present as a powerful, regulative and construc- 
tive force in the establishment of the Virginia Colony, and 

Smith, Work* (Arber's ed.), 958 



36 Che Church at 



was planted here to be a blessing to the people under the 
ministry of the old Church of England, and through the forms 
of worship set forth and sanctioned in the Book of Common 
Prayer. Beneath that sail awning was the ministry of the 
English Church represented in Robert Hunt, commissioned 
by the Archbishop of Canterbury, the Bible, the rule of the 
Church's faith, the Book of Common Prayer, embodying the 
historic Creeds of Christendom, and the sacred vessels for the 
administration of the Holy Communion. These, with the 
baptismal font, were the tokens sent by the Mother Church 
of England, with her blessing to Virginia, and these tokens 
have remained as witnesses to the continuity of the Church's 
life, and as the symbols of her terms of unity. They consti- 
tute the fundamental part of our inheritance as churchmen, 
which we cherish without bigotry, and offer, without narrow- 
ness or presumption, as a basis of unity to all who profess 
and call themselves Christians. 

THE SECOND CHURCH. The second Church was 
built within the triangular fort, and was "a homely thing like 
a barne, set upon crotchetts, covered with raftes, sedge and 
earth; so was also the walls." This building was destroyed 
in the conflagration which occurred on January 7, 1608. 

THE THIRD CHURCH. The third Church was built 
by Captain Newport in 1608, and was repaired by Lord Dela- 
ware in 1610. It was a frame structure, sixty feet long by 
twenty-four feet wide. "All the pews and the pulpit were of 
cedar, with fair broad windows, also 'of cedar, to shut and 
open, as the weather shall occasion." The font was "hewen 
hollow like a canoe,," and there were two bells in the steeple 
at the west end. "The Church was so cast as to be very light 
within, and the Lord Governor caused it to be kept passing 
sweet and trimmed up with divers flowers." There was a 
sexton in charge of the church, and every morning at the 
ringing of a bell by him, about ten o'clock, each man ad- 
dressed himself to prayers, and so at four of the clock, be- 
fore supper. There were a sermon every Thursday and two 



38 tftc Church at 



sermons every Sunday, the two preachers taking their weekly 
turns. "Every Sunday, when the Lord Governor went to 
church, he was accompanied with all the Councillors, Cap- 
tains, other officers, and all the gentlemen, and with a guard 
of fifty Halberdiers in his Lordship's Livery, fair red cloaks, 
on each side and behind him. The Lord Governor sat in 
the choir, in a green velvet chair, with a velvet cushion be- 
fore him on which he knelt, and the council, captains, and 
officers, sat on each side of him, each in their place, and when 
the Lord Governor returned home, he was waited on in the 
same manner to his house."* 

In this Church was celebrated the marriage of John 
Rolfe, to the Princess Pocahontas in 1614; she having been 
previously baptized, most probably, by Rev. Alexander 
Wittaker, minister of the Church at Dale's, in the Parish of 
Henrico. 

THE FOURTH CHURCH. The fourth Church, a 
frame structure 50 ft. x 20 ft., was built, "wholly at the 
charge of the inhabitants of Jamestown," by Captain Argall 
in 1617. This was doubtless the first Church built upon the 
present site of the Jamestown Church, and it was in this 
building that the first representative legislative Assembly 
ever held in America met on July 30, 1619. "Where Sir 
George Yeardley, the Governor, being sett downe in his 
accustomed place, those of the Counsel of Estate sate next 
to him on both handes, except onely the Secretary (John 
Pory), then appointed Speaker, who sate right before him; 
John Twine, clerke of the General Assembly, being placed 
next the Speaker; and Thomas Peirse, the Sergeant, stand- 
ing at the barre, to be ready for any service the Assembly 
should command him. 

"But forasmuche as men's affaires doe little prosper 
where God's service is neglected, all the Burgesses took their 
places in the Quire till a prayer was said by Mr. (Richard) 

* Brown, Firit Republic, 129 



"Che Church at Jamestown 39 

Bucke, the minister, that it would please God to guard and 
sanctifie all our proceedings to his o\vne glory and the good 
of this Plantation." i. 

THE FIFTH CHURCH. (First Brick Church). 
The fifth Church was the first one built of brick, and .was 
begun in 1639, under the administration of Sir John Harvey. 
This Church was burned September 19, 1676, being fired by 
Nathaniel Bacon, Jr. The tower of this building stands,* 
"Lone relic of the past." 

THE SIXTH CHURCH. The sixth Church, also built 
of brick, was upon the foundations of the Church of 1639, 
and remained in use for many years. After the removal of 
the seat of government to Williamsburg in 1699, Jamestown 
languished. This Church, however, remained in use until 
about 1758, when it fell rapidly into ruins. The last rector 
at Jamestown was Rev. James Madison, D. D., the first 
Bishop of Virginia. 

THE SEVENTH CHURCH. The seventh Church built 
on the Island has just been erected by the Society of Colo- 
nial Dames of America over the ancient foundations. The 
old tower has not been touched, and stands apart from the 
new building, to which it gives entrance. The building and 
grounds about it are now the property of the "Associa- 
tion for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities." It is a 
Church without a minister and without a congregation, 
a memorial through which and beyond which one catches 
a vision of the church of the tragic past, and from the 
ancient tower there seem to come the far away echoes 
of the service of other days, but, 

"The worshippers are scatted'd now 

Who met before thy shrine, 
And silence reigns where anthems rose 

In days of auld lang syne. 



(i) Virginia State Senate Doc. (extra), 1874 , 9-32- 

* " Cradle of tfce Republic." revised and rewritten by Lyon G. Tyler, L.L. D , President 
of the College of William and Mary. 



40 Che Church at 



And rudely sighs the wandering wind 

Where oft, in years gone by, 
Prayer rose from many hearts to Him, 

The highest of the high. 

The tramp of many a busy foot 

Which sought thy aisles is o'er. 
And many a weary heart around, 

Is still'd for evermore." 

With the removal of the Government, Bruton came to 
be the Court Church of the Colony; subsequently inheriting 
the Jamestown Font and Communion Silver, and is now 
the only Episcopal Church in the original County of James 
City. 



TKistorical Sketcb of Bruton pansb 
Cburcb, TOHiamsburg, tDfrginia 




Parish Church bears witness to the 
continuity of the life of the Church established 
at Jamestown in 1607. The history of its 
beginning and early life lies in that period of 
obscurity occasioned by the destruction and 
loss of the written records of the Church and 
the county courts of Virginia. From what 
remains we learn that in 1632 Middle Planta- 
tion (subsequently \Yilliamsburg) was "laid 
out and paled in" seven miles inland from 
Jamestown in the original county of James 
City, and soon thereafter a parish bearing 
the plantation name was created. In 1644 a 
parish in James City county, called "Etarrop/' was established, 
which, on April i, 1648, was united with Middle Plantation 
Parish, forming the parish of Middletown. In 1674 the parish 
of Mars ton (established in York county in 1654) and Middle- 
town Parish were united under the name Bruton Parish. 

IRame of tbc parisb 

The source from which the name was derived is sug- 
gested by the inscription on the tomb of Sir Thomas Lud- 
well, which lies at the entrance of the north transept door, 
which states that he was born " at Bruton, in the county of 
Summerset, in the Kingdom of England, and departed this 
life in the year 1678." 

* The more complete history of the Parish from the ancient Vestry Books was publish- 
ed by the author in 1903. This chapter was first written by the author for the Southern 
Churchman, Oct. 37, 1906, for the series of article* on Colonial Churches and was copy* 
righted by the Southern Churchman Co. and is nied by permission of the Company. 



fitstorical Sketch 



(tburcb 

Che first Church and the Church of 1674 

There was a church building in Williamsburg in 1665, 
which in 1674 had come to be known as the "Old Church." 
This fact is established by an entry in the vestry book of 
Middlesex Parish, \yhich directs that a church be built in 
that parish, "after the model of the one in Williamsburg.' 1 
How long this building had been in use is not known, but it 
had grown old in 1674, at which time the new vestry book 
opens with the order under date "April ye i8th," that a 
"New church be built with brick att ye Middle Plantation." 
Land sufficient for the church and churchyard was given by 
Col. John Page, together with twenty pounds sterling to aid 
in erection of the building. The beginning of Church life in 
this building, the foundations of which were unearthed during 
the excavations made in 1905, is noted in the quaint entry 
under date "November ye 29th f 1683 : Whereas, ye Brick 
Church at Middle Plantation is now finished, It is ordered yt 
all ye Inhabitants of ye said Parish do for the future repair 
thither to hear Divine Service and ye Word of God preached ; 
And that Mr. Rowland Jones, Minister, do dedicate ye said 
Church ye sixth of January next, being ye Epiphany." 

The records of this period tell of the "old Communion 
Table," which is to be removed to the minister's house and 
there remain; of the purchase of a "Ring of Bells;" of fees 
paid in tobacco for registering official acts, and for digging 
graves in the church aisle and chancel, and of "ye sum of 
Sixteen Thousand Six Hundred and Sixty Six pounds of 
Tobacco and Caske," to be paid annually to Mr. Rowland 
Jones, Minister. Col. John Page has accorded to him "the 
privilege to sett a pew for himself and ffamily in the Chancell 
of the New Church," while the rest of the congregation is 
made subject to the order "that ye Men sit on the North side 
of the Church and ye Women on the left." Later on it is 
ordered that "Ye Gallerv be assigned for the use of the Col- 



44 



fiistoncal Sketch 



lege Youth" of William and Mary, to which gallery there is 
to be 4 put a door with a lock and key, the sexton to keep the 
key " Here the students sat and carved their names, which 
may be seen to-day, and doubtless indulged in incipient rea- 
soning relative to religious liberty. Thomas Jefferson was 
among them In the long records relative to the conflict as 
to the "right of Induction" we see the evidence of the spirit 
of liberty and the demand for self-government The vestry, 
the representatives of the people, in these conflicts were gain- 
ing experience in the science of self-government Their con- 




The Duke of Gloucester Street, looking East 

tention, that the civil authority should not impose ministers 
upon the congregation without the consent of the people, led 
to struggles which were prophetic and preparatory to the part 
which the vestrymen of the Church were subsequently to take 
in the House of Burgesses as champions of the liberties of 
the peopk of Virginia 



Btstortcal Sketch 45 

Bruton Parish church, upon the removal of the seat of 
government from Jamestown to \Yilliamsburg in 1699, suc " 
ceeded to the prestige which pertained to the church of the 
Capital of the Colony. From this time there grew about the 
church an environment of ever-increasing interest, and about 
it gathered an atmosphere which with the passing years has 
caught and reflects the light of other days. 

The county road which ran by the church yard, marking 
the inward and outward march of English civilization, now 
rose to the dignity of the Duke of Gloucester Street The new- 
ly-designed yard and gardens of the Governor's palace swept 
down along the east wall of the church. In spacious yards 
adjacent rose the stately houses of the Virginia gentry who 
had resorted to the capital. Near by towered the wall of the 
College of William and Mary, and the halls of the Virginia 
House of Burgesses, and facing each other on the open green 
stood the Court of Justice and the octagon Powder Horn. 
The church had become the Court church of Colonial Vir- 
ginia. His Excellency the Governor, attended by his Council 
of State and surrounded by the members of the House of 
Burgesses, gave to the church an official distinction and a 
position of unique importance. 

t3be Church of 1710-15 

The old brick building of 1674 soon became inadequate 
to the needs of the situation, and in 1710, during the rector- 
ship of the Reverend Commissary James Blair, D. D., it was 
determined that a new church should be built. Plans were 
furnished by Governor Alex. Spotswood, who proposed that 
the vestry should build the two ends of the church and prom- 
ised that the government "would take care of the wings and 
intervening part." The House of Burgesses, in addition, was 
pleased to state that they "would appropriate a Sufficient Sum 
of Money for the building of pews for the Governor, Council 
and the House of Burgesses/' and appointed Mr. John Hollo- 



46 Rtstortcal Sketch 

way, Mr. Nicholas Meriwether and Mr. Robert Boiling a 
committee to co-operate with the vestry in the undertaking. 

This building, which was completed in 1715, has re- 
mained continuously in use and has well withstood the rough 
usages of war and the devastating touch of time. Its minis- 
ters, as shown from cotemporaneous records, were, without 
a single exception, men of superior culture and godly piety. 
Most of them were Masters of Arts from the Universities of 
Oxford and Cambridge, or full graduates of the College of 
William and Mary, and that they served the cause of Christ 
with devotion and fidelity is attested in every instance by 
resolutions of the vestry. 

Official distinction was recognized and emphasized in the 
church. >To His Excellency the Governor and his Council 
of State was assigned a pew elevated from the floor, over- 
hung with a rich red canopy, around which his name was em- 
blazoned in letters of gold, the name being changed as Spots- 
wood, Drysdale, Gooch, Dinwiddie, Fauquier, Lord Bote- 
tourt and Lord Dunmore succeeded to office. In the square 
pews of the transepts sat the members of the House of Bur- 
gesses, the pews in the choir being assigned to the Surveyor- 
General and the Parish Rector, while in the overhanging gal- 
leries, in the transepts, and along the side walls of the church 
sat the Speaker of the House of Burgesses and other persons 
of wealth and distinction to whom the privilege of erecting 
these private galleries was accorded from time to time. 

t*e Church and the Revolution 

With the approach of the American Revolution, the ser- 
vices in old Bruton assumed a tone of tenderness and of thril- 
ling interest, unique in character, and fervent with power. 
Men, as they listened to the proclamation of the Gospel of re- 
demption, saw clearer the vision of liberty, and felt a deeper 
need of the guidance and help of God. Washington makes 
mention in his diary of attending services here and adds, 
"and fasted all day." A cotemporaneous letter, written by one 



Btstcrtcal Sketch 47 

of the congregation to a friend in London, tells of the in- 
tensity of grief and the depth of feeling manifested in the ser- 
vice held by order of the government when news reached 
America that Parliament had passed the "Stamp Act." The 
church, it was said, would not begin to hold the people who 
thronged to attend the service. These people loved old Eng- 
land, and were bound to her by material interests and by ties 
of blood. They wanted to continue to honor and obey the 
civil authority, and to pray for their King, and they thronged 
to these services in old Bruton to express their faith and de- 
votion and the passionate longing of their lives for justice, 
liberty, and peace, and to-day the old church is hallowed by 
the memory of these prayers which arose from bleeding hearts 
to our Fathers' God and our God, through the 'Liturgy which 
we use and love the more for these associations by which it 
is hallowed and enriched. In the eventide, when the parting 
glory of the day falls like a benediction and lingers in the 
old church, the old scenes come like a vision before the illum- 
ined imagination. Upon bended knee we seem to behold that 
noble band of patriot legislators Nelson, Wythe, Harrison, 
Braxton, the Lees, Cabell, Gary, Carr, Carrington, Carter, 
Nicholas, Norvell, Richard Bland, George Mason, Edmund 
Pendleton, Peyton Randolph, Patrick Henry, George Wash- 
ington and the rest, and the walls seem again to echo back 
their supplication to the King of Kings: "We beseech thee 
to hear us good Lord." 

Rfetoric Memorials 

The old Prayer Book, which bears the inscription "Bru- 
ton Parish, 1752," bears witness, through erasures and mar- 
ginal insertions, to answered prayers. The Prayer for the 
President is pasted over the Prayer for King George III. 
while the prejudice engendered by the passions of men is 
evidenced by a line run through the words "King of Kings," 
and the marginal insertion, "Ruler of the Universe." The 
Bible of this period is also preserved, together with the old 




d 

Ui 

cs 

&4 



fifetorical Sketch 49 

Parish Register, containing the name of George Washington 
eleven times and it tells of the baptism of 1,122 negro ser- 
vants within a period of twenty years, with man}' pages 
of this part of the record missing. 

Besides these, the church is the inheritor and custodian 
of other sacred memorials of the past. The old Jamestown 
baptismal font and Communion silver are still in use at Bru- 
ton Church, together with a set of Communion Silver, made 
in 1686, given by Lady Gooch to the College of William and 
Mary, and a set bearing the royal arms of King George III. 
These memorials will be preserved in the future in the fire- 
proof crypt built beneath the chancel of the church. 

Innovations of 1840 

It seems almost incredible that the need of a Sunday- 
school room should have led the congregation in 1840 to 
yield to the spirit of innovation,. and destroy, as they did, the 
interior form and appearance of the church, but at this time 
a partition wall was built across the church; the high corner 
pulpit, the colonial pews and the flag-stone chancel and aisles 
were removed; the chancel, which enshrined the graves of 
Orlando Jones, progenitor of Mrs. Martha Washington, the 
graves of the Blairs and Monroes and of Rev. Dr. William 
H. Wilmer, was removed from its ancient place in the east 
end of the church and affixed to the wall of partition, and 
the interior of the building furnished and decorated in modern 
style with money secured by a church fair. 

Oe Restoration of 1905-07 

The work of restoration, inaugurated on May 15, 1905, 
by a sermon preached by Rev. Beverley D. Thicker, D. D., now 
Bishop Coadjutor of the Diocese of Southern Virginia, has 
been planned and executed with absolute fidelity to colonial 
type 9nd historic verity, with the endeavor to reproduce the 



50 Bfetorleal Sketch 

form and feeling of the past. Over $27,000 has been spent 
for the structural preservation and restoration of the building. 
The foundations and roof timbers have been renewed; a shin- 
gle tile roof covers the building, and an iron and concrete 
floor safeguards it from dampness and fire. The tower wood- 
work, together with the clock, originally in the House of Bur- 
gesses, have been restored, and the bell, engraved, "The gift 
of James Tarpley to Bruton Parish, 1761," again rings out 
the passing hours. The high pulpit with overhanging sound- 
ing-board stands again at the southeast corner and is memo- 
rial to the Rev. Commissary James Blair, D. D., and the other 
clergy of the colonial period. The chancel has regained its 
place in the east, and with the aisles, is paved with white mar- 
ble in which are set tombstones appropriately inscribed to 
mark the graves discovered during the process of excavation. 
Of the twenty-eight graves found in the aisles and chancel, 
nine were identified by letters and dates made by driving brass 
tacks in the wood of the Coffin. Among the graves thus 
marked with marble slabs are those of Governor Francis Fau- 
quier, Governor Edmund Jenings, and Dr. William Cocke, 
Secretary of State. The pews restored in colonial style have 
all been made memorial ; those in the transepts, to twenty-one 
of the patriots of the Revolution ; those in the choir, to the 
Surveyors-General and the Presidents of the College of Wil- 
liam and Mary, and those in the nave, to the vestrymen of the 
parish during the colonial period. Each pew has upon the 
door a bronze tablet, inscribed with the name of the person 
memoralized. Over the Governor's pew has been placed 
a silken canopy, emblazoned with the name of Governor Alex- 
ander Spotswood, and affixed to the wall is a bronze tablet 
inscribed with the names of the colonial governors who wor- 
shipped here. 

The Bible to be given by King Edward VII, and the 
Lectern to be presented by the President of the United States, 
are in memory of the three hundredth anniversary of the 



fifetortcal Sketch 51 

establishment of the English Church and English civilization 
in America. 

Preserved and restored, the old church will be typical of 
the strong and simple architectural designs of the colonial 
period, and a witness to the faith and devotion of the Nation 
Builders. Rising from amid the sculptured tombs of the 
honored dead who lie beneath the shadows of its walls, old 
Bruton stands, as the Bishop of Southern Virginia has said, 
"The noblest monument of religion in America." 

"A link among the clays, to knit 
The generations each to each." 

Williamsburg, Va., September 27, 1906. 



Some Hncient Destv^ rbers 



first Entrs in IDestr? 3Boofc of 1674 



Hpril^c i8tb, 1674, Che Bonourable Coll: DanL parhe, 
JVfr* Rowland ^fotica, Minister, M** 7obn Page, JMr* Raines 
Besoutb, ]Mi** Robt* Cobb and JMr* Bray*, Capt* Cbesley, and 
Mr* Hylett, Church ^Hardens* Mv* 5obn Owens, Sidesman* 
Chcrc being in the last levie 6igbt Cbousand .five hundred 
pounds of tobacco in Caefce, Lcvycd to tbe honourable Cbomas 
Ludwell^ Secretary and Daniel Parhe t 6sq*, 25 pound sterling^ 
due to them upon y* purchase of y* 6lebe^ &c* 

trbe BeMcatton of tbe Cburcb of 1683 

"November y e 29 tb 1683.^ 

"t^be parish Church is at length completed, and the Vestry 
notice the fact by the following: <Hhereas y c Erich Church at 
Middle plantation is now finished, It is ordered y* all ye In- 
habitants of y c said parish, do for tbe future repair thitherto 
bear Divine Service, and y* word of God preached: Hnd that 
Mr* Rowland 'Jones, Minister, do dedicate y* said Church y* 
Sixth of January next* being y epiphany* Hnd that Hlexan- 
der Bonyman,Clerhe, sett up notice at y* Mill? to give notice 
thereof; Hnd that y* Ornaments, etc*, be removed pr yc 
Church ^Hardens, and also yt yc old Communion 'Cable be re- 
moved to y* ministers bouse and there remain*" 

3ees of Clerfc anb Sexton 

The fees of the Clerk at this time were ordered to be : 
" three pounds of Cobacco for registering every Christening 
and Burial in y* Parish, and y* Sexton to have ten of tobacco 
for every grave that be diggs*" 

(i) All of tbese ancient orders were published in "The Historical Notes of Bmton 
Parish Church," 1903. 



Some Hncient Vestry Orders 53 

rt>er TReiating to Governor THcboison ant> 
the parisb IDestrp 

Ht a Vestry held for Bniton Parish y* 7th Hugust, 1705," 
"Bis excellency the Governor sending to this Ves- 
try (bv y* band of ]Mr* <Bm* Robertson) Hn Hltar Cloth and 
Cushion as a present for y* use of y parish, together with 
fifty shillings for y* use of y* poor, and desiring y* said gift 
of fifty shillings might be recorded in the Vestry booh as being 
his excellency's usual quarterly gift ; and also what bis ex- 
cellency bath formerly given, together with an account how y* 
same bath been disposed of , 'Che Vestry return this answer 
by JMr* Robertson, (viz) We return bis excellency many 
tbanhs for ye Hltar Cloth, and also for y* fifty shillings now 
sentwinch we assure bis excellency's shall be registered; but 
not knowing it to be bis excellences Constant Custom, we 
cannot register it as such without we hnow att present what 
bis excellency bath given to the poor; but we do promise to 
examine that matter against y* next Vestry, and what ap- 
pears to us, then shall be registered*" 

As to the thoroughness of this investigation, and its re- 
sult, we are not told. His Excellency gets no farther credit 
for his accustomed benevolence. He sends no more quar- 
terly offerings. 

minister's Salary 

Ninth of 3une, 1682, "Ordered that MI*. Rowland 3ones 
minister, for the future shall be paid annually y* sum of Six- 
teen thousand six hundred and sixty-six pounds of Cobacco 
and Cashe* Hny former order of Testry to the contrary not- 
withstanding** Here follow the names and the sentence, 
Cester, Hlex* Bonnyman* u Teritas non est dubitanda*" 

Cburcb attendance 

3une 9tb, 1682. " 'Che Vestry of this parish taheing into 
consideration that many and divers of the inhabitants have 



54- Some Hncient Vestry Orders 

been negligent in comeing to church, tending to ye dishonor of 
6od and the contempt of Government, Cbere the said Vestry 
have now ordered, Chat such person or person inhabiting in 
this Parish, as shall be negligent herein, shall be presented by 
ye Church CQardens to ye Court, and then be proceeded with 
according to Law, and that publication hereof be made p r ye 
Clerfee at both Churches*" These Churches were, no doubt, 
one in the upper and one in the lower portions of the Parish. 

private pews 

Jimc 9th, 1 682, "thought fit and likewise ordered, that Coll : 
3no* page may (might) have the privilege to sett a pew for 
himself and his ffamily in the Chancell of the new Church at 
JMiddle plantation." 

Cburcb H?art> Xanfc 

On November i4tb, 1678, the land on which the Church was 
built, together with * sixty feet of the same, every way for a 
Church-yard," was the gift, forever, of the "Bonourable Coll: 
John Page** every receipt given by frauds page, for moneys 
received for the new Church, is thus signed j " I say, Received 
pr Me ffra: Page." 

rber IRegulattne Burial in tbe Cburcb an& 
Cfoancel 

Ht a Vestry held the sist October, 1684* present: "Che 
Minister, Mr* Rowland lones, the Bon* Philip Ludwell, 6sq*, 
the Bon* 3no* page, 6eq*, the Bon* lames Bray, Gsq*, 
ye Bon* Cbos* Ball and Capt* ffrancis page," Ac*, it was 
resolved that "ffor the privilege of Burials either in y* Chan- 
cell, or in y^ new Church, it is ordered by this Vestry, that for 
breaking up ye ground in ye Cbancell, ye ffees payable to ye 
Minister shall be one thousand pounds of tobacco, or five 
pounds sterling; and in ye Church ye ffee payable to the par- 
ish shall be five hundred pounds of tobacco, or fifty shillings 



Some Hncient Vestry Orders 55 

in money; and that y* Minister be at y* charge to relay y* 
Cbancell, and y* parish for the same*" 

rfcer as to Wbere Certain people Sboulfc 
Sit in Cburcb 

January 9, 1716, it is "Ordered that the Men sitt on the 
North side of the Church, and the Olomen on the left* 

Ordered that Mr. Commissary Blair sitt in the head pew 
in the Church, and that be may Carry any Minister into the 
same. 

u Ordered that the parishioners be seated in the Church, and 
none others* 

"Ordered that the Vacant room in the -west end of the 
Church be made into three convenient pews, and that the 
Church ^Hardens agree with some workmen to do the same* 

"Ordered that Mr* lobn Custis be removed into the pew 
appropriated to the Surveyor General*" 

provision flDafce for College Students 

On the i otb 3uly, 1718," Olbereas complaint bad been made 
to this Vestry* that there was not room in the gallery for the 
^outb that come from the Coltedge, and that they were 
crowded by others* also that several of the parishioners were 
crowded, for remedy of which, it is 

"Ordered, that libertv shall be given the Colledge to tahe 
that part of y* Gallery for the use of the Colledge toutb, as 
far from the pillar on the south side of the Isle of the Church, 
to the north side of the Church, also that farther leave be 
given them to put a door, with a loch and hey to it, to the 
stairs of the said Gallery, and the Sexton to keep the hey*" 

Organ Xoft 

govern* 18, 1755, "Ordered that the Revd* and Bonourable 



56 Some Hncient Vestry Orders 

Commissary 'Chomas Dawson> the Honourable Jno* Blair, 
6sqr*, Peyton Randolph, Gsqr*, Benjamin Qlaller, Ssqr*, or any 
three of them, do agree with a person to build a loft for an 
Organ in the Church in the City of OKUiamsburg, and to set 
up the same* M* * Peter pelham is unanimously appointed and 
Chosen Organist of the Church in the City of QliUtamsburg." 

rfcer Showing Mow 36ruton (tame to be tbe 
44 Court Cburcb of Colonial Dirginfa" 

* Ordered, Chat the Church {Hardens goe and acquaint the 
Rouse of Burgesses, that the Gentlemen of the Testry were 
ready to -wait upon them when they should appoint*" 

u Having Delivered their Message, they returned and ac- 
quainted this Meeting that the Rouse had appointed Mr* ^fohn 
Bolloway, Mr* Nicholas Mcrriwctbcr, and Mr* Robert Boiling, 
to wait upon the Testry and hear their proposals*" 

"Mr* 3no* Bolloway, Mr* Robert Boiling and Mr* Nicholas 
Merriwetbcr, delivered a Message (from the Bouse of Bur- 
gesses) to this effect, that the Bouse was willing to appropri- 
ate a sufficient sum of money for the building pews for the 
6overmv Council and Bouse of Burgesses;" 

9 sufficient sum of money was snbsequently appropriated 
by the Bouse to do this, and to pay for building the "two 
wings and intervening part of the Church*" 



Cburcb Service in Colonial 



EFORE passing from this long ago period of the 
histor\ r of the Church, let us endeavor to bring 
back an accustomed scene in Bruton Parish 
Church in Colonial da3 T s: 

The old bell breaks the stillness of the Sabbath 
morn. It calls the whole community to the 
house of pra} r er. Xo other bell is heard. There 
is no other place for worshippers to go. unless 
they choose to attend some gathering in an 
humble meetinghouse where some who co not 
like the Prayer-book, vestments, or organ music, are wont 
to meet to v^orship according to the dictates of their con- 
science. The community, as a whole, adheres to the estab- 
lished Church. Old fashioned coaches diive up to the gate 





Colonial Scene from Painting: by Wordsworth Thompson, in the Metropolitan 
Museum of Art 

and, as the door is opened by a liveried footman, the occu- 
pants come forth clothed after the last year's fashion of the 
Court of George the Third. Around the door the colonial 



58 Cbe Church Service in Colonial Days 

Gentry are assembled, clothed in colonial garb. In 
voices somewhat animated, and with language not 
always according to the catechism, they are discussing the 
Stamp Act, and other usurpations and injustices of the 
Government. It is a genuine debate, for here forces are very 
largely divided, and in the crowd are many stout Tories, 
who are warm in support of the King, and of his representa- 
tive, his Excellency the Governor. From Raleigh Tavern 
there comes a group of men who are representatives of the 
people in the House of Burgesses. Some of them give indi- 
cation of having been up late the night before. Their faces 
show very red beneath their flowing wigs of white. They 
are talking with loud voice and animated gesture. The 
King finds few advocates among them, and is being roundly 
abused in a most disloyal way. They calm down as they 
approach the Church. The Governor's carriage sweeps 
down the Palace Green and draws up before the door. The 
service will soon begin. We pass into the Church. In spite 
of all the care we take, our footsteps resound through the 
building as we walk down the flag-stone aisle. Passing into 
a large square pew we close the door and wait. It is diffi- 
cult to see those in front of us. The pews, we note, were 
built to encourage reverence rather than observation. 
There are some things, however, which we can see in spite 
of the high back pews. We notice that the men sit on the 
north side of the Church, and the women on the left, and 
are informed that it is because the Vestry has so ordered it. 
Mr. Peter Pelham enters, and ascending the "organ loft," 
begins to play the new organ recently purchased in England 
for the Church by order of the House of Burgesses. The 
students from the College of William and Mary enter, 
attended by one of the Masters, and file into the gallery 
assigned to them in the south wing of the Church. Among 
them are a number of young Indians who are being educated 
and christianized at the college. When the students have 
all entered, the gallery door is locked, and the key given to 
the sexton. There is no chance now for tliem to escape, no 
matter how long the parson may preach. 

By an outside stairway, leading up to the gallery in the 
north wing, we see the servants of the parishioners enter, 



Che Church Service tn Colonial Days 59 

and reverently await the commencement of the service. 
We are told that many of them are consistent communi- 
cants, and that all have been baptized. 

The door at the west, leading from the tower, opens, 
and the minister, who has vested there, enters and, passing 
down the aisle, enters the chancel at the east end of the 
Church. The Clerk takes his place at the desk below the 
pulpit, which stands down in the body of the building at 
the south-east corner of the Church. 

And now, even over the high back pews, we can see 
that something is attracting general attention. The tower 
door opens, and the Court procession enters; His Excellency, 
the Governor, passes down the aisle to his pew. It is in 
the chancel end of the Church, on the north side of the aisle; 
it is elevated from thefloor. A rich red canopy hangs over it, 
and around it in large letters of gold is the Governor's 
name. The Council of State, and the members of the House 
of Burgesses, and the Surveyor-General take pews officially 
assigned. The service begins. The minister reads, and the 
Clerk, and the people who have Prayer Books, respond. 
The Beadle keeps his e\ e upon the College youth in partic- 
ular, and upon the whole congregation in general. There is 
no disturbance. We hear what sounds like an imprecation 
from a near-by pew when the prayer is said for George the 
Third and the Royal Family, but it is discreetly suppressed, 
and no note is taken of it. 

The service ended, the minister leaves the chancel and, 
passing down the aisle with the Governor's pew on his right, 
ascends the high steps leading up into the pulpit at the 
south-east corner, takes his text, and begins his sermon. 
Those who have brought braziers with which to warm 
their pews, listen with comfort, if not always with patience. 
Others grow cold and restless, and determine that they 
would not come to Church if the law had not made it an 
offence for fine and imprisonment to stay away. 

The benediction said, groups gather in the Church (in a 
very unchurchly way) and exchange greetings, collect the 
news> discuss the sermon, and exchange opinions, and go to 
their homes, homes noted for hospitality and good-cheer, 
but pervaded, nevertheless, by a respect for religion and, in 
many instances, by a beautiful spirit of earnest Christian 
devotion. 




a 



"c 

3 

S 

o 




flRemorials of tbe past 




HE Church has at present three sets of Com- 
munion Silver, which on account of their 
sacred associations and antiquity, are highly 
prized and carefully preserved. The follow- 
ing description of this plate is taken by permis- 
sion from a book entitled "Old Plate/' by John 
H. Buck, publisher! by the Gorham Manufac- 
turing Co , New York, 1888, pp 210-212 : 



Jamestown Cburcb Service 



"CHALICE, H ro 3-4 in. PATEN, Dia. 7 
in. One mark, | \tf, oval object below, plain shield 

Inscription on each : JMixc not holy thinges with pro- 
fane. Bx dono -francisct Morrison, Hrmujert Hnno Domi 
1661* The makerN mark is on the celebrated cup formerly 
belonging to the Blacksmith's Company, London, 1655, and 
purchased at the Dexter sale for no less a sum than 378 
and it is also found in a shaped shield on the copper plate 
preserved at Goldsmith's Hall 1675-1697. 

ALMS BASIN, Dia. 9 3-4 in. Four marks: i, Lion pas- 
sant : 2, Leopard's Head, crowned : 3, Small Roman d, London 
1739 : 4, maker's mark, T. F. ( Thomas Farren). Inscription : 
For tbe use of jfamca City parish Church* This service has 
been in use in Bruton Church since the Church at Jamestown 
was abandoned. (See illustration.) 



College Silver 



Two-handled CUP AND COVER, gilt H 3 3-4 in. ; Dia. 
4 1-4 in. Four marks: Lion passant; 2, Leopard's Head, 



62 Memorials of Che past 

crowned; 3, black letter small \ London 1686; 4, maker's 
mark PH> crown and two ermine spots above, crescent 
below, shaped escutcheon, Peeter Harache. This maker's mark 
is also to be found on the copper plate preserved at Gold- 
smith's Hall. 

PATEN, Dia. 51-2 in. Four marks: I, Lion passant; 2, 
Leopard's Head, crowned; 3, small Roman q, London 1751 ; 



4, maker's mark R0, (Richard Gurney and Co.) 
C 

The cup is beautifully chased and embellished with ap- 
plique leaves and bears private arms, the Paten is of less deli- 
cate workmanship. (See illustration.) 

3be Iking George IHIfl Service 

FLAGON, H 10 1-2 in. CHALICE, H 10 in. ALMS 
BASIN, Dia 10 in. Four marks on Flagon: I, Lion passant; 
2, Leopard's Head, crowned; 3, Old English capital ^London 
1766; 4, makers mark 9^ crowned (Thos. Heming). 

On Chalice the maker's mark is wanting, and the date 
letter is an Old English 3| London 1764, there are no marks 
on the Alms Basin. All engraved with the Royal Arms be- 
between the initials G 1 1 1 R th motto "fioni soft qui 
mal y pcnse** (See illustration.) 

Plate of the same date and by the same maker is at 
Trinity Church, New York." 

These services of communion silver, when not in use, 
are kept in a fire-proof vault. 

Gbe font 

According to tradition, the Font in Bruton Church was 
used in the Church at Jamestown, and was brought from that 





The Communion Silver known as *' The Queen Anne Set " 
Presented to the College of William and Mary by Lady Gooch, 




The Jamestown Baptismal Font. 





CC 

C 


3 
3 



JVfctnonals of the past 



65 



place when the House of Burgesses was moved to Williams- 
burg, m 1699. 



The bell which has rung out the years for more than a 
century and a quarter, has engraved upon it, "The gift of 
James Tarpley to Bruton Parish, 1761." There was a still 




The Bell, presented by James Tarpley to Bruton Parish Church, 1761. 

older bell, which has been referred to; for the vestry, in 1769, 
entered an order for their contractor, Benjamin Powell, to 
have the "Old Bell and the materials of the old steeple." 
(For associations connected with this bell, see copy of in- 
scription on the Bell tablet) 



66 Memorials of ^Cbc Past 

Cbe Clocfc 

The clock in the church steeple is said to have been 
originally in the Virginia House of Burgesses, from which 
place it was moved to the Court House, and in 1840, permis- 
sion was given to the town authorities to have it placed in 
the steeple of the church. 

The works were sold in 1905, the old dial plate being 
retained. (See inscription on the clock tablet.) 

<>R> IRecorfc ffioofcs 

The old Parish Register of the Church is still in the pos- 
session of the Vestry. It was found some years ago in a 
box of papers, where it had doubtless been hid for safe keep- 
ing during the war. During this time, it was badly mutilated 
by some person, ignorant of its value. A large number of 
pages were torn from the front and back of the book. It 
now contains the records of Baptisms from 1739 to May 2ist, 
1797, and the record of Deaths from April I3th, 1662, to De- 
cember i8th, 1761. Thus it would appear that pages contain- 
ing the record of seventy-seven years were torn from the 
front, and pages containing the record of deaths for thirty- 
six years were torn from the back. The book that remains 
has been rebound, and is kept in an iron safe in the crypt 
of the church. 

The entries in this Old Parish Register prior to 1674 
seem to belong to one of the adjacent churches, probably to 
the one situated in the Marston Parish, which was united with 
Middletown Parish in 1674. 

The Baptismal record in this book shows with what 
care the members of the Church provided spiritual ministra- 
tion for the children of their servants. During the twenty- 
five years over which the records extend, 1122 negro servants 
were baptized in Bruton Parish. A gallery was subsequently 
built for the colored servants in the north transept. 

The data contained in this old Parish Register has been 
incorporated in the History of Bruton Parish Church, pub- 
lished in 1903. 



H 
o 





s 




Evening 

is from all penis and dangers 

of this night, for the hne of 

thy only Son our Saviour Jefus 

Chnft. Amen,- 

1 1n Cfatrs and Places where they 

fmg^ Ixre fottmetk the Anthem. 

1 A Prayer for the Kings 

Majejty. 

heavenly Fa- 
therj^feh and mighty, 
ofr4anffl, LbEd-offord^ 
MB^rtio 

'doftrrom thy throne behold all 
the dwellers upon earth j Moft 
heartily we befeech t* 
thy favour to behold 
^^^tf<a*^gr^oas-4>ovcrcign Lord- 



Prayer. 




thy heavenly grace; profper 
them with all luppmek ; and 
Dnng them to thine cverlaftii* 
Kingdom, through Jefus ChrriJ- 
our Lord. Amen. 
f Prayer for tbd Ckrgy and 

People. 

A Lmighty and everlaftmo; 
/\GU^eB64wA6te y 
great mapcds^S 




fiijpf/fa. G&ORCK, and to repleni 
a**e3S&& ; with the <*r|ee of thy Holy Spi- 
&} a& sfov? rit, tliatMnmy alway incline to 
^ 4^&rt< thy will, japd-walk in thy way 
' Endue ^K^>lenteounv^witt: 
^heavenly ^s; grant -^ffi^ir 
'"health andwftfefe-long to live; 
4feegtbAnrihat ho me 
: - J H 



\anquith and < 



ad finally after this 
J atom everlafting 
Joy and feliaty, through Jefus 
Chrift our Lord. ^/msn. 
K A Pray erf or tbs Royal Family 

ALmighty God, the foun- 
tain or ail goodnefs, we 
humify, beftech thec to blefs 

\-\. '** -<- . - --die Princds 
Dovrae?sr of ff r aks s . - j- 6 - 
*. - . - - and all the Roya 
Warmly: Eodue them With rlry 
HdySpiritj enrich them with 



to their C, 
Spirit of thy grace; and that 
they may truly pleafe thee, 
pour upon them the continual 
dew of thy blefling. Grant 
.this, O Lord, for the honour 
'of our Advocate and Media- 
tor, Jefus Chrift Jmm 
\ APrayeroj S. Chryfoftom 
A Lmighty God, who haft 
\^ given us grace at this 
time with one accord to make 
our common fupplications unto 
thee 5 and doft promife, that 
when two or three are gathered 
together in thy Name, thou wilt 
grant their retjuefts* Fulfil now, 
OLord,the defiresand petitions 
of thy forants, as may be moft 
expedient for them , granting 
us in. tliis world knowledge of 
thy truth, and in the world to 
come life evcrhfting. Jmen* 
^ Cor, xiii 14. 

THE grace of our Lord 
Jefus Chrift, and the lore 
of God, and the fcllovvlhip of 
the Holy Ghoft, be with us all 




Jftre enfati tfa Qrdtf of Swung Pnyj 



; 2lw 



The Pre-Revolutionary Prayer Book with Marginal Corrections 



Memorials of the Past 69 



lre*1Re\>olutionar\> flira^er J&oofc anb Bible 



In 1905, the Pre-Revolutionary Prayer Book of Bruton 
Parish Church was accidentally found while removing debris 
from an unused room adjoining St. Paul's Church, Peters- 
burg, Virginia, and was returned to Bruton Parish by Rev. 
O. S. Bunting, D. D., Rector of St. Paul's Church. The 
book, which measures one foot, six and a half inches by eleven 
inches and a half, was printed in London by John March, for 
the Company of Stationers, 1729, and has stamped on the 
outside of the leather binding "Bruton Parish, 1/52." In 
this book, the prayer for the President of the United States 
is pasted over the prayer for King George III, in the morn- 
ing service. In the evening service the charges are interlined, 
"King cf Kings" yielding by reason of the then prevailing 
prejudice, to "Ruler of the Universe. 1 ' Many other changes 
are also interlined, making the book conform to the ratified 
American use. 

Later prayer Booh 

The Parish also has a book of Common Prayer, printed 
in Philapelphia in 1837, presented by Mrs Elizabeth Scott 
of Philadelphia, in which the prayer for the President of the 
United States is scratched out, and on the margin is written, 
"April 17, 1861, the Governor of Virginia." 



ttbe l& Bible 

The Pre-Revolutionary Bible bound in boards covered 
with thick black leather, measures one foot, seven and a half 
inches by twelve inches and a half. It was printed in London 
by Thomas Baskett, Print-er to the King's Most Excellent 
Majesty; and by the Assigns of Robert Baskett. MDCCLIIL 

On the blank page of this Bible, between the Apocrypha 
and the New Testament, are a number of records of births and 
deaths in the Mills family. 

These old books will be kept in the safe in the crypt of 
the church. 




flfoemorial Bnbowment 



secure its protection and preservation, the 
Church should be endowed. This endowment 
should be given to provide a perpetual fund, first 
of all, for the preservation of the old Church 
building, and for the rightful care of the grounds 
where sleep the dead who worshipped here, and 
loved, as we do now, this sacred soil which now 
enshrines their dust. This endowment would be 
a fitting tribute from the living to the memory of 
the dead, and would be to the glory of God, who 
has watched over and protected this ancient and hallowed 
Temple which bears witness to the faith and devotion of 
our forefathers. 

All the pews in Bruton Parish Church have been restored 
in Colonial style to the memory of distinguished statesmen 
and Churchmen who worshipped here during the Colonial 
period of Virginia's history. The names of those to whose 
memory the pews have been restored have been placed on 
bronze tablets on the pew doors. 

It has been decided that the pews, thus restored, may be 
endowed. The plan adopted proposes that inside the pew a 
tablet may be placed, which can be read from the aisle of the 
Church, stating that the pew has been endowed in memory of 
the person named on this second tablet. 

The memorial endowments may be made as follows : The 
four pews in the choir (exclusive of the Governor's pew) in 
the sum of $1.000 each; the pews in the transepts of the 
Church in the sum of $500 each ; the pews on either side of 
the main aisle of the Church, except the two front pews, in 
the sum of $250 each. 

It is hoped that these endowment gifts will be made 
memorial either to persons of the Colonial period, or to the 
memory of others of later date, who have been connected 



Memorial endowment fund 71 

with Bruton Parish Church, and who, having finished their 
course in faith, do now rest from their labors. 

After consultation with the Chancellor of the Diocese of 
Southern Virginia, the necessary legal steps were taken to 
safeguard this endowment fund, and to secure its investment 
and perpetual tenure by Trustees appointed by the Court for 
this purpose, in order to secure the fond itself from ever 
being borrowed or expended. The interest accruing from 
the fund is to be devoted to the purposes for which the 
endowment is provided. 

A number of these endowments have already been taken. 
Those desiring further information on this subject will kindly 
communicate with the Rector or Vestry of Bruton Parish 
Church. 




1 

3 



Cburcb^arb 




OD, through nature, has done much to make 
beautiful the spacious grounds where the old 
Church stands. Each season gives to the place a 
special charm, and a varied loveliness. The spring 
calls forth the wild buttercups which spread 
themselves over the entire ground like a rich 
cloth of gold The summer breathes upon the 
roses which blossom forth and bloom here 
among the tombs and above the green graves of 
the dead of other days. The ancient trees, full- 
leaved, cast upon the dark walls of the old Church deep 
shadows which lengthen and deepen with the dying day. 
Then the touch of autumn tells that another year is begin- 
ning to die ; the berries redden on the English hawthorn 
tree which stands* near by the ancient tnwer door ; the 
vine, clinging to the north wall of the Church, turns 
crimson ; and the leaves flash with varied color, then 
fall and die. In the bleak winter, the wind, as if at 
requiem, sighs through the bare trees, and moans about the 
walls and tower of the old Church, and only the ivy which 
mantles the eastern end of the building, and clings to the old 
trees in the churchyard, remains green. But the scene is one 
of matchless beauty, when, from heaven, the mantle of spot- 
less white softly falls o'er church and tombs and bending 
trees. And then again, there come the glad days that speak 
of life, and suggest thoughts of immortality. Dormant vital 
forces stir and breathe and move. The air is filled with the 
music of birds singing as they nest in the trees in the Temple 
court, and is laden with the perfume of the hawthorn bloom, 
and violets come forth and weave a border of purple and 
green about the bases of the tombs. 

The churchyard is associated with many- of the stirring 
scenes of the ancient past. Here Nathaniel Bacon, in 1676, 
assembled his followers for conference, and beneath the shade 



74 "Che Churchyard 

of its trees in after years, Commissary Blair presided over 
the conference of the Virginia Colonial Clergy. Here the 
statesmen and warriors of the Revolutionary period, gathered 
in eager groups to debate questions of vital importance, pend- 
ing before the Virginia House of Burgesses. And here, in 
long years after, the soldiers, wounded in the battles around 
Williamsburg, sat talking of other issues while convalescing 
from wounds received in battle, the church having been used 
for a while as a Confederate Hospital. 

In the churchyard many ancient tombs remain, some of 
which are of peculiar interest. Here are buried the two chil- 
dren of Mrs Martha Washington, by her first husband; the 
tombstones of her grandfather, grandmother, great-grand- 
father being in the chancel of the church. The sculptured 
marble over the grave of Gov. Edward Nott is worthy of 
close inspection, speaking through symbols of the flight of 
time, of mortality and of an eternal beyond. 

The entire surface of the yard has been used for the 
burial of the dead, and in many places the shallow graves of 
later date were dug where the ground had been used for 
burial years before. No stone marks many of these graves 
where the fathers of the hamlet and some of the fathers of 
the nation sleep. 

be <tburcb$arb Mall 

The wall around the churchyard was built in 1752. 



Some (SUiaint anb Hncfent lpu 
tapbs in tbe Cbutcb^arb 



Governor igbwarb IRott 



Under tbfe Marble Rests y* Hsbcs 

of Bis excellency Gchvard JNfott 

Late Governor of this Cottony who 

In bis private character was a good 

Christian and in bis public a good 

Governor be was a H lover of Mankind 

Hnd Bountiful to bis friends By y* 
Sanctity of his Moralls and y* Mildness 
prudence and justice of bis Hdmintstra- 

tion he was Deservedly esteemed H 

public Blessing while be Lived & when 

Be Dyed H public Callamity* be Departed 

tHris Life tbe zs& Day of Hugust 1706 

Hged 49 'tears* 

In Grateful Remembrance of who 
se many Dutyes tbe General Hssembly 
of this Collony have Greeted this 
Monument * 

SYMBOLISM: The symbolism on this tomb deserves 
more than passing notice. On the two sides angels are rep- 
resented as seeking in vain to hide death from vie TV. On the 
east end are the emblems of mortality, of the resurrection, of 
the book of deeds, and of the book of life, and on the west 
end the emblems of mortality, the symbol of the flight of 
time and the emblems of life, strength, and of nobility. 

(i) Edward Nott entered upon his duties as I/ieutenant-Goyernor August 15, 1705. He 
procured the passage by the Assembly of an act for the building of a "palace" for the 
Governor, with an appropriation of 3.000, also an act establishing the general court; 
but the last was disallowed bv the British Board of Trade During Governor Nott's 
administration the College of 'William and Mary was destroyed by fire. R. A. BROCK. 



76 Some Quaint and Hncient epitaphs in Churchyard 

ftbomas OLufcwell 

(Hrms)i 

Cinder this Marble lieth the Body 

of Chomas Joidwell 6sq* 

Secretary of Virginia, who was born 

at Sruton in the County of Somerset 

in the Kingdom of 6N6LHWX and 

departed this Life in the ^ear 1 678 Hnd 

near this place lye the Bodies of Richard 

Kemp, 6sq r his predecessor in y* Secretarys 

Office 2 and S^Cbomas Lunsf ord K^ 
in JMemory of whom this ]Marble is placed 

by Order of Philip Ludwell 6sq^ 

Nephew of the said 'Cbomas Ludwell 

inthe^ear 1727 

flDatbew Wbalep 

3 ]Mathew ftlhaley lyes Interred here 
QKthin this Comb upon bis father dean 

<5dbo Departed 

this Life the 26th of 

September 1705 Hged 

JSine years only child 

of iamea Qlhaley 

and Mary his wife* 



(1) The arms upon the book-plate of Philip I/adwell of "Green Spring" are* Gu, a 
bead ar. f three eagles displayed sa. between three towers. MOTTO Penned stretti edil 
viso sdolto. R. A BROCK. 

(2) Richard Kemp was a member of the Council of Virginia, 1642, and as its President 
in June, 1644, upon the departure of Sir William Berkeley for England, became the acting 
Governor of the Colony. It is notable that during his incumbency, the first fast and 
thanksgiving days in the Colony, of which any record is preserved, were ordered. " Att 



, 

That the last Wednesday in every month be sett apart for a day of fiast and humiliation. 
And that it be wholly dedicated to prayers and preaching." Also, "That the eighteenth 
day of April be yearly celebrated by thanksgivings for our deliverance from the hands of 
Savaaes." Referring to the recent massacre by the Indians (Henuing's Statutes, I, pp. 
289, 390.) Sir William Berkeley returning in June, 1645, resumed tne government of 
Virginia, but Richard Kemp continued to serve the Colony as a member of the Council 
until 1648. and perhaps later, latterly as the Secretary of the body. He died some time 
before 1678 R. A BROCK. 

(3) Square piece of marble on the front face of the monument. 



Some Quaint and Hnctent epitaphs in Churchyard 



77 



A legacy left to perpetuate his memory by erecting a 
school for the poor of Brtrton Parish, after lying dormant 
for over two centuries and a half, was used to erect the 
school which now stands at the end of Palace Green, on the 
site of the Colonial Governors' Palace. This is now the 
observation school of the College of William and Mary. 




The Tomb of the Custis Children 

Cbiforen of flQrs. Ottartba Custte 
Washington 

Cinder this stone lies interred 
the body of franees park 
Custis daughter of Daniel 
park Custis, 6scp% and Martha i 
bis -wife bom H|irit t^tb 1754 
Dyed Hpril ist 1757 
.4 years* 



(i) Subsequently Mrs. Martha Washington. 



78 Some Queer and Hncient epitaphs in Churchyard 



Hnn atmson 3ones 

Bere lies all that the grave can claim of 
JM*a* Hnn "Cimson Atones* 

Consort of the 
Rev* Scervant lones* 
Bom 1st Sept* 1787, 
Married i6 Dec, 1 805. 
Baptised 3 ]ttar* 
Died3une6, 



If woman, ever yet did well; 
If woman, ever did excell ; 
If woman, husband ere adored; 
If woman, ever loved the Lord; 
If ever faith and hope and love ; 
In Rutnati flesh did live and move; 
If all the graces ere did meet; 
In her in her they were complete. 

JMy Hnn, my all my angel wife, 
]My dearest one my love my life, 
I cannot sigh or say fare well, 
But where thou dwellest I will dwell* 



IHotu 3obn 

Sacred to the memory of the 



eldest son of the 
formerly president of the Council and 

General Court of Virginia* 

Soon after his admission to the Bar, 

be was appointed Clerh of the Council, which 

office he resigned on the commencement 
of our Great Revolutionary contest* from that 



( i) The tradition is that this stone came down on the same stage that brought Rev 
Scerrant Jones and his second -wife to Williamsbturg, but. true to the epitaph on her 
tombstone, "He sleeps with the dust of his first partner now." 



Some Queer and Hncient epitaphs in Churchyard 79 

period he was honoured with a variety 
of the most important public appointments, 

the duties of which he discharged 

with acknowledged talents, singular integrity and 

universal approbation to the last office, 

which he filled. 

Hssociate 3udge of the Supreme Court 

of the United States, he was selected, 

from the Court of Hppeals of Virginia, by that 

distinguished ?udge of merit the father of his country, 

Genl tQasbington* Be was a rare 

instance of the influence of mild and polished 

manners, united with upright conduct, and 

and flowing from a heart devoid of 

guile or the resentments and passions 

of mankind as it is believed he 
never excited enmity nor lost a friend* 

Be died, as he had lived, a sincere 
and pious Christian with entire resignation 

to the will of bis Creator, and in 

confident expectation of another and 

better life, on the 3ist of Hugust 1800* 

Hged 68 years and 10 months* 



Ulames Jgngraveb on Gomb^Stones in Bruton 

Cburcb ant) Cburcb lj)art> t witb 

Date of 5>eatb 

Michael Archer, 1726; Joan Archer, 1732; Thomas 
Hugh Nelson Burwell, 1841; Rolandus Jones, clericus, 1688; 
David Meade Randolph, 1830; Hon. John Blair, 1800; John 
Millmgton, 1868; his mother-in-law, Mrs. Elizabeth Lett, 
1847; Sidney Smith, 1881 ; Virginia C. Smith, 1878; Delia 
Adalaide Bucktrout, 1857; Josiah Nelson Bucktrout, 1836; 
Richard Manning Bucktrout, 1847; Horatio Nelson Buck- 
trout, 1854; Lulie E. Dugger, 1870; Benjamin Earushaw 
Bucktrout, 1846; Benjamin Bucktrout, 1849; Mrs. Catherine 
Stephenson, 18(32?) ; H. S. E. Edwardus Barradall Armiger, 
1743; Henricus Barradall, 1737; children of Henry Washing- 
ton and his wife, Cynthia Beverly Tucker, Lucy, 1854; Sarah 
Augustine, 1862; Catherine Brooks Coleman, 1883; Annie B. 
Gilliam, 1900; Mary Westwood, 1869; Mrs. Ann Burgess, 
1771; Catherine Stith, 1776; Mrs. Catherine Blackley, 1771; 
James Grimsley, 1763; Robt H. Hord, 1845; James Dix, 
1 86 1 ; John Blair, 1792; James Blair, 1791 ; Edward B. Lind- 
say, 1855; J ane Blair Henderson, 1800; James Blair Hender- 
son, 1795; John Blair Henderson, 1797; Blair Monroe Hen- 
derson, 1801: George Bascom Lindsay, 1860; Mr. Charles 
Hunt, 1794; Sarah Lindsay, 1850; John Greenhow, 1787; 
Elizabeth Greenhow, 1781; Judith Greenhow, 1765; Mrs. 
Francis Custis, 17 14-15; Daniel Parke Custis, 1754; Francis 
Parke Custis, 1757; Elizabeth Henderson, 1813; Revel. James 
Henderson, 1818; Thomas Hamilton Henderson, 1814; Eliza- 
beth Bingham, 1851; Ann B. Wilmer, 1854; Captain Francis 
Page, i6q2; Alice Pa^e, 1698; John Collett, 1749; Mrs. Mary- 
Francis Page, i6q-; Col. John Page 169 1-2; Thomas Horns- 

by, 1772; Mrs. Margaret Hornsby. ; Margaret Brown, 

1720; Jane Brown, 1720; Thomas Lyttleton Savage, 1855; 
Lauretta Ann Winder, 1870; Mary Nicholson, 1793; 
Thomas Ludwell, Esq., 1678; Mary E. Dixon, 1836; Eliza- 



Bistorical environments 81 

beth Page, 1/02; Col. David Bray, 1717; Mrs. Judith Bray, 
1720; David Bray, Armiger, 1731; Elizabeth Bray, 1/34; 
James Bray, 1690; Joseph Scrivener, 1772; James \VhaIey, 
1701; Mathew Whaley, 1705; Capt. Thomas Thorp, 1693; 
Katherinc Thorp, 1695; Edward Dyer, 1722; Ann Charlton, 
17(44?) ; Mrs. Eliza Williams, 1829; Hugh Orr, 1/64; John 
Yuille, 1/46; Seth Sewell Briggs, 1812; Susand L. \V. 
Briggs, 1811 ; Man- M. Dehart, 1839; John \V. Wyatt, 1849; 
Margaret F. Clows, 1853; Ann Snow, 1855: John L. Tilford, 
1862; Mary L. McCann, 1846:" Rev. Scervant Jones, 1854; 
Mrs. Ann Tinison Jones, 1849; Millicent Jones, 1751: Mrs. 
Anne Frank, 1759; Robert Major Garrett, 1885, and Susan 
C. Winder, his wife, 1854; Henry Winder Garrett, 1879; 
Robert Winder Garrett, 1838; Comfort Anna Garrett, 1854; 
S. C Garrett, 1878; Thomas O. Cogbill 1858; Mrs. Virginia 
Abbott, 1830; James Cabaniss, 1837; Robt Rae, 1753; His 
Excellency Edward Nott, 1706; Mrs. Mary Purdie, 1772; 
Mrs. Sarah Griffin, 1846; Lady Christina Stuart, 1807; James 
Nicolson, 1773; Judge Xathl. Beverly Tucker, 1851; Mrs. 
Lucy Ann Tucker, 1867; Reuben Smith, 1843; Margaret W. 
Durfey, 1865; Altazera E. Durfey, 1835; Thomas G. Durfey, 
1847; Mr Orlando Jones, 1681; Bowcock, the Con- 
federate dead (see Memorial page.) 

The tomb-stones give no indication as to the number of 
persons buried in the church-yard. Many of the old stones 
have been broken, and the fragments scattered. Over the 
larger portion of the church-yard the graves are unmarked 
by either monument or mound. In the spring fresh flowers 
grow over them, and in the winter they lie covered with leaves 
of autumn, or beneath an unsullied mantle of snow. 




floteslRelatfte to tbe "(Restoration of 
Biruton parish Gburcb 



HE work of restoring Bruton Parish Church 
was begun by writing the history of 
the Parish which was undertaken with 
the view of preserving the ancient records, and 
ascertaining facts relative to the colonial form 
and appearance of the church. These facts 
having been ascertained, the work of securing 
sufficient funds to justify us in beginning 
the work was undertaken. Much encourage- 
ment was received at the outset by the gen- 
erous contributions made by Mrs. Eva. S. 
Cochran, of New York, and Mr Joseph 
Bryan and Mrs. Stewart, and daughters, of 
Richmond, Va. Through the courtesy of Mr. J. Stewart 
Barney, Architect, New York City, plans and specifications 
for the restoration of the church were gratuitously fur- 
nished. 

At a meeting of the Vestry, held the 8th of April, 1905, 
it was decided that the work of restoration should begin on 
Monday, May 15, 1905. On Sunday, May 14, the restoration 
was inaugurated by a sermon preached by the Rev. B. D. 
Tucker, D. D., Rector of St. Paul's Church, Norfolk, Vir- 
ginia, on 'The Continuity of the Life of the Church." 

On May I5th, the furniture was removed from the 
building and carefully stored, the chancel furniture being 
placed in the Parish House, and the rest of the furniture and 
heart flooring being subsequently stored in a temporary build- 
ing erected in the churchyard, and the cushions in one of the 
basement rooms of the Eastern State Hospital. 

The organ was taken down by the Hutchings-Votey 



84 Restoration Notes 

Organ Company, of Boston, and the parts which were thought 
to be of any value, shipped to the Organ Company. 

On the 1 8th day of May, a contract was made with 
Messrs. G. B. Keeler & Son, of Petersburg, Virginia, to re- 
move the partition wall, the gallery in the east end of the 
church, the floor, the old plastering, etc., for the sum of $316, 
which included the cost of building a large room in the 
churchyard for storing the pews, where they were placed and 
kept until as many as necessary were placed in the present 
gallery of the church, and in the Parish House, the remainder 
having been given to Christ's Church, Amelia Court House, 
Virginia. 

On Monday, May the 22nd, this work was begun. While 
removing the floor at the west end of the church, two cannon 
balls were discovered, a large number of unused army car- 
tridges, and the Sunday School book of 1832, containing the 
roll of teachers and scholars. Upon the removal of the plas- 
ter, the blocking was found, indicating the size and elevation 
of the colonial pews, the location of the sounding board over 
the old pulpit at the southeast corner, and also the blocking at 
the opposite corner, which had doubtless been used in some 
way to give support to the. canopy over the colonial governor's 
pew; and also the blocking indicating the location of the 
galleries 117 the transepts and nave of the church. 

Two pieces of flag stone were found cemented where 
they had been placed in the original aisle of the church, en- 
abling us to determine its original width and elevation. In 
* ] ie east wall of the church, near the southeast corner, indica- 
tions were found of a door or window, which had subse- 
quently been bricked up. and at the point now marked by the 
boundary stone in the chancel, the foundations of the east 
wall of the church as built in 1710, were discovered, an 
addition at the east end having been made in 1751. 

On June 27th, plans and specifications were received, 
and on the 4th of July, the contract for the structural work 
was awarded to Messrs. G. B Keeler & Son, Petersburg, Va., 





Diagram showing where the partition wall was built in 1MO, removed in 1985. 



Restoration Notes 87 

at $6,225, to which was added $617 for the slate walks in the 
churchyard. 

On September 29th, contract for the tile roof was 
awarded to the Ludowici Roofing Tile Company, of New 
York City, for $1.820, which Company commenced to put the 
tile on the roof over the old tin on April 5, 1906. 

The American Seatihg Company commenced putting 
furniture in the church on May 14, 1906, in fulfilment of the 
contract made with them for the sum of $5,950, a large 
number of orders for special furniture having been subse- 
quently added. This work was sufficiently completed by 
May 27, 1906, for the Confirmation Service held by Bishop 
Randolph. In the afternoon the sermon was preached by 
Rev. Samuel H. Bishop, of New York City 

On Sunday, June 10, at five o'clock, Bishop Edwin S. 
Lines, of New Jersey, preached in the church. On September 
23, 1906, the church carpet and hassocks were received, hav- 
ing been presented by Mrs. William Pollock, of New York, 
who also gave the cushions for the pews. 

On November 14, 1906, the Hutchings-Votey Organ 
Company, of Boston, commenced to install the new organ, 
in fulfilfnent of their contract in the sum of $3,350, not in- 
cluding the organ fronts. The work was completed on 
December 6th, and the organ used for the first time at the ser- 
vice held under the auspices of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew, 
on December 9, 1906, the sermon having been preached by 
the Rev. John J. Lloyd, D. D., of Lynchburg, Virginia. 

On December 19, the work of putting in the chandeliers 
and gas fixtures (furnished by J. B. McCoy & Son, of New 
York City, for the sum of $412.50) was begun, and on De- 
cember 20, at 7:30 P. M., the Three Hundredth Anniversary 
of the sailing of the colony from England, which landed at 
Jamestown on May 13, 1607, was observed by appropriate 
service, and an address was delivered by Rev. C. Braxton 
Bryan, D. D., Historiographer of the Diocese of Southern 
Virginia. At this service, the choir appeared in vestments 
for the first time. 




Just after the removal of the partition wall, May 5, 1905 




Among: the Ancient Tombs Restoring- Foundations, July and August, 1905 



Restoration Notes 89 

The contract for the mitral tablets and bronze pew plates 
was awarded to the Gorham Manufacturing Company, of 
New York. The cost of this work has been about 
$1,500. 

The work of restoration was not superficial in its char- 
acter. It began at the foundations of the church, which were 
examined at every point around the building, and reenforced 
wherever necessary, a cement and tile drain being placed en- 
tirely around the building beneath the surface of the ground 
to protect them in the future. While excavating on the north 
side of the church for the window in the crypt, near the 
northeast corner, the foundations of the church of 1674 
were discovered. The roof and ceiling timbers were thorough- 
ly examined and largely reenforced. The causes 
for the cracks which had appeared in the tower and church 
walls were discovered and remedied, and where necessary, 
the walls were securely bound together by iron braces let 
into the brick work. The furnace room was largely increased 
in size for the accommodation of an additional heating plant, 
and a fireproof crypt was provided beneath the chancel of the 
church, containing a fireproof safe for the preservation of the 
old records and other memorials of the past. 

The aisles and chancel floor of the church were repaved 
in marble, the original stones having been removed from the 
church at the time of the innovations of 1840. 

While excavating in the building, twenty-eight ancient 
graves were found in the aisles and chancel, all of which were 
carefully examined, and many of which were identified by 
means of brass head tacks which had been nailed in the wood 
of the coffin, indicating the name, and date of burial. Among 
these were the graves of two Colonial Governors and one Sec- 
retary of State. 

Over all of these identified graves marble slabs, suitably 
inscribed, were placed. These inscriptions are given else- 
where in this history, and also a diagram showing the 
, location of all the graves identified. 

In the west gallery, many coats of paint were sand- 



90 RcstorationJFotcs 

papered from the original rail, revealing hundreds of names 
and dates carved there by the students of other days. , 

The tower woodwork was reenforced, and the c terior 
covered with panel work as it appears at present, which was put 
on over the modern tin with which the steeple had been cov- 
ered prior to the restoration work. The ancient clock in the 
steeple was restored through a contribution made by the 
" Colonial Dames of America, in Virginia, 1 ' Many of the 
pews in the church were restored by patriotic societies and 
by descendants of the persons whom the pews memoralize. 

The total cost of the work of preservation and restora- 
tion has been about $27,000. Of this amount, about $14,000 
was contributed in Virginia, of which nearly $6,000 was 
given in Williamsburg. All the bills for work done ha been 
carefully audited, paid, and receipted, and placed on file in the 
crypt of the church. 

While acknowledging with cordial gratitude the kindness 
of all who have aided in the work of restoration, we feel that 
special mention should be made of the kind co-operation of 
those, without whom the work could not have been nccom- 
plished. 

We would make grateful recognition of the uniq'U dis- 
tinction and honor conferred upon the Parish, by the gift of 
a memorial lecturn presented by His Excellency, Theodore 
Roosevelt, President of the United States, and a Memorial 
Bible presented by His Majesty, King Edward VII, com- 
memorative of the Three Hundredth Anniversary oi , the 
establishment of English civilization and the English Church 
in America, and of the kind interest and intervention of His 
Grace, the Archbishop of Canterbury, and the Bishop of 
Washington, through whom these gifts were suggested. 

Much of the success of the restoration is due to the sympa- 
thetic and intelligent interest of the architect, Mr. J. Stewart 
Barney, of New York City, who gave his service to the 
church; and to the carefol supervision of Mr. Charles A. 
Hoag. 

We would record with grateful appreciation, the kind 



Restoration Notes 91 

co-operation of the members of the Advisory Committee, all 
of \vLom gave careful consideration to the work of inspecting 
the j. ans, and advising with the Rector and Vestry through- 
out the entire progress of the work. 

Through the kindness of Rev. \V. R. Huntington, D. D., 
Rect T of Grace Church, New York City, the work was 
prominently brought to the attention of the general public. 

We would make special acknowledgment of the valuable 
service rendered by Mr. J. Frederic Kernochan, of Xew 
York City, without whose kind interest and cordial co-opera- 
tion the funds for the work could not have been secured in 
time to have had the restoration completed by 1907, and 
also for the co-operation of Mr R. Fulton Cutting of New 
Yor City, and of the services rendered by Mr. Robert L. 
Harrison, custodian for the funds contributed in New York. 

Grateful record is made of the generous contribution of 
Miss Marie Marshall to the restoration fund, and of the kind 
and generous interest of Mrs. William Pollock of New York, 
and of the memorial gift made by Mr. and Mrs P. H. Mayo, 
of Richmond, Ya. 

The organ was largely secured through the generous in- 
tertssft of the Chesapeake & Ohio Railroad, Mrs. H. H Houston, 
of Philadelphia, and Mr. Andrew Carnegie, to whose gifts 
were added generous contributions from persons in Williams- 
burg. 

The pulpit and clerk's desk were secured through the 
loving interest of Mrs. Byam K. Stevens, of New York City. 

J We would also make mention of the kind participation 
in the work on the part of the Association for the Preserva- 
tion of Virginia Antiquities, the Colonial Capitol branch hav- 
ing- } contributed the alms basin memorial to Rev. Robert 
Hunt, and secured, through Miss Lottie C. Garrett, the funds 
for the restoration of the colonial Governor's pew ; the Wash- 
ington, D. C, branch having secured the contributions for 
four memorial pews. 

The Society of Colonial Wars in the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania restored the pew in memory of Thomas Jeffer- 



92 Restoration Notes 

son, which was endowed by the General Society of Colonial 
Wars, and the Society of Colonial Dames in Virginia con- 
tributed the funds for the restoration of the clock in memory 
of the House of Burgesses. The pew memorial to Richard 
Bland has been restored by the Virginia Chapter of the 
Daughters of the American Revolution, and the Governor's 
Chair, Memorial to Lord Botetourt, was given by the 
Colonial Dames of America, in Missouri We would also 
record our appreciation of generous contributions made to 
the Endowment Fund by Mrs. Mary Corling Dunlop, of 
Petersburg, Va., and Mrs- Van Ness, of Lexington, Mass. 

The names of all who have contributed will be recorded 
in the Book of Memorial to be kept in the crypt of the Church. 

To those who have contributed special memorials, and to 
those who have kindly acted as sponsors for special pews, 
especially to Mrs. W. Hartwell Macon, who secured funds for 
so many memorials, and to all who have, through sympathy, 
advice, and contributions, aided in the work, the congrega- 
tion, Vestry, and Rector of Bruton Parish Church would ex- 
tend most grateful and cordial thanks. 




Bronze Lectern, Presented by His Excellency, Theodore Roosevelt, President of the 

United States. 
(Photographed from the plaster cast of Mr J Stewart Barney, Architect) 



tercentenary flUemorials 



se tlLecturn 



Presented by 

Bis excellency, Theodore Roosevelt 
president of the United States. 
"Co the Glory of God 
and Commemorative of 

"Che "Cbree Bundrcdtb Hnmversary of the first permanent 

establishment of Gnglisb Civilization in Hmerica at 

Ofamestowv Virginia, May 1 s t 1 607* 

flDcmorial Btble 

presented by 
Bis ]ajesty, King Bdward YEL 

Co the lory of God 
and Commemorative of 

Cbe Cbree Bundredtb Himiversary of the planting of 

tbeSnglisb Church in Hmerica at ^Tamesto-wn, 

Virginia^ on JMay 1 3* 1607* 

Description of the King's Bible 

The following items from the London Times of June 1st 
and 3rd, 1907, have been received from His Grace, the Arch- 
bishop of Canterbury. 

JUNE 1, The Archbishop of Canterbury was received in 
audience to-day, and submitted to His Majesty the Bible 
-which the King is presenting to the Episcopal Church in 
America for use in the Parish Church of Bruton, Virginia, in 
connexion with the 300th anniversary of the establishment 
of the Colony in Jamestown, Virginia. 



96 Memorial Bible 

Miss Paget, of Farnham, under whose direction the 
Bible has been specially bound, had the honour of being 
presented to His Majesty. 

JUNE 3, In connexion with the celebration now taking 
place in Virginia to commemorate the tercentenary of the 
landing of the English colonists at Jamestown in 1607, the 
King has presented to Bruton Parish Church a large Bible 
for use in the services of the church. It is understood that 
the lecturn on which the Bible will rest is being presented by 
the President of the United States. The Bible which was on 
Friday last submitted to the King by the Archbishop of 
Canterbury, as was briefly announced in the "Court Cir- 
cular" published in The Times of Saturday, is bound in red 
Niger leather with a decorative treatment of interlaced lines 
tooled in gold The doublures and fly leaves are of undyed 
levant morocco, and the clasps are of gold. The dominant 
design on the front cover is a cross, accompanied or sur- 
rounded by the conventional symbols of the Christian faith 
and the four Evangelists. On the front and back doublures 
are the Arms of His Majesty and of the United States, respec- 
tively. On the back cover are the arms of Virginia. The 
following inscription tooled in gold on an inlaid red Niger 
panel appears on the front fly leaf: 

This Bible is presented by his Majesty King Edward the Seventh, King 
of Great Britain and Ireland and Emperor of India, to the Church of 
Bruton, Virginia, a sbrine rich in venerable traditions of -worship, in sol- 
emn memories of patriots and statesmen, and in historic witness to the 
oneness of our peoples. The King will ever hope and pray that the ties 
of kinship and of language and the common heritage of ordered worship 
and of ennobling ideals may, through the saving faith in Oar Lord and 
Redeemer Jesus Christ revealed in these sacred pages, continue to unite 
Great Britain and America in a beneficent fellowship for setting forward 
peace and good will among men. MCMYIL 

The preparation of the Bible was entrusted to Miss 
Paget, of Farnham, who bound the service books used by 
their Majesties on the occasion of their Coronation. The 
binding of the Bible was carried out under Miss Paget's 
direction by Messrs. Sangorski and Sutcliffe, of South- 
amptonrow, Holborn. 



1! 

p s 
* 






I 




3 



2L 






s. 

1 





FRONT COVER AND BACK, 

Tooled in gold with symbolical devices representing the four Evangelists; The Holy Spirit; 
The Trinity; and the Alpha and Omega. The I H S and the small circles are inlaid in green, 
and the Alpha, Omega and the Tnnity in black, 




THE BACK COVER AND CLASPS. 
Tooled in gold with small circles inlaid in green and with thearms of Virginia stamped in 

gold in the centre. 




FRONT DOUBLURE 

Tooled In blind and gold with small circles inlaid in red and green and with His 
Majesty's Arms stamped in gold on an inlaid red niger panel in the centre. 




BACK DOUBLURE 
Tooled in blind and gold with small circles inlaid in red and green and with the 




FRONT FLY LEAF 
Inscription tooled m gold on an mlaid red niger panel. 



<S>tber flOemortals in JSrutoit 
parish (Tfoutcb 



flDarMe OOemorialB 

TOMB STONES 

(a) In the Tower 

(b) In the Aisles 

(c) In the Chancel 

MARBLE MURAL TABLETS 

(a) In the Choir 

(b) In the Chancel 



OQemorials 



BRONZE MURAL TABLETS 

(a) In the Tower 

(b) In the Nave 

(c) In the Transepts 

(d) In the Choir 

BRONZE PEW PLATE MEMORIALS 



(a) In the 

(b) In the Transepts 

(c) In the Choir 

BRONZE ENDOWMENT TABLETS 

Special flQemorials 



flHatble flfcemoriate 
tombstones in tbe 



3obn page 

(Arms: Ar., a. fesse dancette between three martlets; 
azure, a bordiire of the last. Crest : A demi-horse forcene 
(rearing)* 

i Bere Uetb in hope of a 3foyfuU Resurrection 

the Body of Colonel ?obn page of 

Bmton parish esquire one of their 

Majesties Council in tbe Dominion 

(of) Virginia who Departed this 

(life t)be 2,3 of (7a)nu*ry in tbe year 

(of our) Lord 691/2 Hged 65 



* Bere Lyes Interred tbe Body of 
Mrs* Elizabeth tXmson mf e 
of ]Mv* 7obn TCmson who Departed 
tbis Life Hugust tbe ^6tb* 1735 
in tbe ^^d igcar of her Hge* 

Hnna flDaria Simeon 

3 Bere Lyes Interred tbe Body of 
Hnna Maria 'Ctmson Daughter 
of ?obn and Gli^abetb Cimson 
who was born December tbe i/tb day 
1732 and Departed tbis Life July tbe 23 
1734 

TKHtlliam Simeon 

Hlso the Body of OKUiam Citnson 
son of ?obn and 6lizabetb who 
-was born October tbe 21 at day 1734 
and Departed tbis life July tbe 
1736* 

( i ) Remored from the Church Yard. 

(2) Remored from the Waller farm oa York River in 1906. 

(3) Removed from the Waller farm on York River in 1906. 



Jttarbk Memorials 105 

tombstones in tbe Elsies of 
tbe Cburcb 

Beneath this marble was found a vaulted grave marked 

P* 6* 

8L 6l 

Adjoining this, another vaulted grave was found, south 
of which was located another, both of which were un- 
marked. 

This marble was placed here at the time of the Restora- 
tion of the Church in 1905. 

1ftenr$ Hacfeer 

fiere lyetb the body 
of M* fienry Backer -who 

Departed tbie life tbe 

gtb day of Hugust 1741 

In tbe 54tb year of Me age 

fl&rs. prentis 

Under this marble was found a grave marked 

JVIre* prentis 
Obt. 94 

Mary Prentis, daughter of John and Ann Brooke, of 
York County, and Wife of William Prentis, of Williamsburg, 
Virginia, died in 1794. 

Bv this grave were found two other graves, both of 
which were unmarked. 

This marble was placed here at the time of the Restora- 
tion of the Church in 1905. 



106 Marble Memorials 

2>r. William Cocfce 

Beneath this marble was found a grave marked 

L C 



This grave corresponds in location and date with the 
inscription on the mural tablet in memory of 

DR. WILLIAM COCKE, 

of the Council and Secretary of State for this Colony in the 
Reign of Queen Anne and of King George. 

South of this grave, another was found which, being 
below and partly under it, was doubtless in the Church of 
1683. 

This Marble was placed here at thetimd of the Restora- 
tion of the Church in 1905. 



Governor jfrancis Jfauquier 

Near this marble lies 

HON. FRANCIS FAUQUIER, ESQ. 



Lieutenant-Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the 
Colony, over which he presided near ten years, much to his 
own honor, and the ease and satisfaction of the inhabitants. 
He was a gentleman of the most amiable disposition, gener- 
ous, just and mild, and possessed, in an eminent degree, of 
all the social virtues. 

He was a Fellow of the Royal Society, and died in his 
65th year," the 3rd day of March, 1768 



Marble Memorials 107 

** If ever virtue lost a friend sincere, 

If ever sorrow claim'd Virginia's tear, 

If ever death a noble conquest made, 

'Twas when Fauquier the debt of nature paid." 

This marble was placed here at the time of the Restora- 
tion of the Church in 1905. 

The inscription is taken from the obituary notice in the 
Virginia Gazette, which also states that he was buried in 
the North aisle of Bruton Parish Church. 



(governor fifcmunb Jeninas 

Near this marble a grave was found marked 

e. % 

?u 17*7 

The Hon. Edmund Jenings, Esq., son of Sir Edmund Jen- 
ings of Ripon in Yorkshire, England, was born in 1659 and 
died in 1727. He was A ttorney General, Secretary of State 
President of the Council, and Acting-Governor (1706-1710) 
of the Colony of Virginia. 

For many years he was a Vestryman of Bruton Parish 
and was serving the Church in this capacity when this 
building was erected. In 1710 he was instrumental in per- 
suading the House of Burgesses *' to appropriate a Sufficient 
sum of Money for building pews for the Governor, 
Council >and House of Burgesses" in the two wings and 
intervening part of the Church, this entire portion- of the 
Church being subsequently built and paid for by the House 
of Burgesses, under the supervision of Governor Alexander 
Spotswood. 

This marble was placed here at the time of the Restora- 
tion of the Church in 1905. 



108 Marble Memorials 

tombstones in the Chancel 

rlanfco Jones (l) 

fiere lice in hope of a Blessed Resurrection 
the Body of Mn Orlando Ofenes, Son of Mr* 
Rowland Ofoncs sometime Minister of 
this parish be was born December ye sist 1681 
and died June y* i^tb 1719 in ye aStb year of his 
Hge* be -was twice married bis first Wife was 
Mrs* Martha Macon Daughter of Mr* Gideon 
Macon of JNfew Kent by whom be left one 
Son named Lane & one Daughter named 
frances* fits Second Wife was Mrs* Mary 
QJilliams daughter of James Williams 

of King & Queen who erected this 
Monument to his Memory. 

Sfoe Blair Cbtl&rcn 

Beneath this Marble lie deposited the 

' Bodies of two sweet infants* 

lames and Hnne Blair, Children of 

lobn Blair Bsq* and Mary bis wife 

who to the great grief of their parents 

and friends departed this life, 

lames on May the z^d 1740 

aged 10 year 3 months & 3 days, 

Htmc on octob* the 7* b 1741, 

aged 3 year wanting 3 weehs 

God prepare us all to follow* 

Here also rests the body of 
HRCBIBHLD BLHIR another 
son of the said 3OBN A MHR^ 
BLHIR who died 8ep* i$tb 1744 
Hged 9 months & 18 days; Garly 
Gone to happiness Blessed be God 

(1} The tomb and remains of Mrs. Orlando Jones (Martha Macon) were removed 
from New Kent County, and placed during the restoration by the grave o f her husband. 
The inscription is too iUegibleto be transcribed. 



Marble Memorials 109 



fIDrs. Christian flDonro 

Rerc Lie Deposited 

Che Remains of JM* 3 * Christian Mouro 
Relict of the Re\4, ]Vfo lobn Monro 
Late Minister of St. John's Parish 

in the County of King OKIHani. , 
She Departed this Life the 23d of Septembe* 
1725, in the 6oth year of her Hge* 

Rere Hlso Rests 

Che Body of Mary Blair Grand Daughter 
of y Said John & Christian Monro 

by their only Surviving Child 

Mary y* Wife of lohn Blair 6sq^ 

She Departed)* ist of HpriL 1730 in the 

Second year of her Hge* 

Hlso 

Sarah Hnotber Daughter of the 
Said lohn & Mary Blair tvbo Died f ebn 
"Che i9th 1735* Hged 3 months & 12 
Days. 

Beneath this marble a grave was found marked 

R. P* 

1730 

>C 32 

The marble that marks this grave was placed here at 
the time of the Restoration of the Church in 1905. 

3Bounfcar$ Stone 

EAST. 

The East side of this marble, which is 21 feet from the 
present East wall of the Church, marks the inside line of 
the foundation of the Church from its completion in 1715 
until the Chancel was extended to its present length, by 
Order of the Vestry en the 15th day of March, 1750-1. 



110 Marble Memorials 



tombstones in tbe TRecess Cbancel 

Revb, IRoIanbus Jones 

Bic jacet Rolandus Jotics 
clmcue filius Rolandi loms 
clerici JNatus Swimbrooh juxta 
Bwford in Comii Oxoii Collcgii 

]Mcrton Qniversitate Oxoii 

Hlurrmue parocbtac Bniton Virginia 

Pastor primus & delectisstmus 

f uncuone pastorali atmis 14 

fldeliter d parocbiae quam 

maximo de Obiit Hp ^a 

die JE tatis suae 48 Himo D 1688 

IRev. Mtlliam H. Milmer, B. S). 

Beneath this marble a vaulted grave was found on 
which was marked in cement the date 

, XXV, MDCCCXXVL. 



Cbe Rev. OKlliam ft OKbner, 0* D., 
Rector of Bniton parish Church, 
president of tbe College of OKUiam and Mary, and 
president of tbe Rouse of Clerical and Lay 
Deputies of tbe Protestant episcopal Church, 
Died July tbe 24tb, 1 8*7, 

"We know that we have passed from death unto life 
because we love the brethren" * * * u and he that dwelleth 
in love dwelleth in God, and God in him." 

This marble was placed here when the Chancel was re- 
stored to the East, at the time of the restoration of the 
Church in 1905. 



Marble Memorials 111 

flQural tablets Unsibe tbe Gburcb 

(Hn tbc Cbotr) 
ftbe parfce tablet 

JNfeare this marble lyes 

ye Rouble Daniel parhe 

of ye County of 6ssex 6sq, who 

was one of bis Majesties' Counselors 

and sometime Secretary of tbe 

Collony of Virgia. Be dyed ye 6tb of 

March Hnno 1679* 
Bis other f elecityes ware cwwned by 
bis happy marridg -with Rebbecba 
tbe daughter of George Gvelyn 
of tbe County of Surry 6sq* She dyed 
tbe zd of January Hnno 1671 at Long 
Ditton in ye County of Surrv and 
left behind her 
a most hopefull 
progeny 



Cocfte flUural ^tablet 



MDCCLU 
Inscribed to tbe memory of 

Dr. OKlliam Cocke, 
Hn 6nglisb physician^ Born of reputable Parents 

MDCLXXH 

at Sudbury in Suffolk 

and educated at Queen's College, Cambridge, 

Be was learned and polite, 
of tndfepiited Skill in bis profession, 



112 Marble Memorials 

of unbounded Generosity in bis practice: 
which multitudes yet alive, can testify* 

Be was," many years, of the Council 

and Secretary of State, for this Colony 

in the Reign of Queen Hime & of King George 

Be died Suddenly, sitting a ludge upon the Bench 

of the General Court in the Capitol : 

MDCCXX 

Bis Bon: friend Hlex a Spotswood, 6sq v then 
with the principal Gentlemen of the Country, 

attended bis funeral 

and, weeping, saw the Corps Interred 

at the West side of the Hltar, 

in this Church* 



flDural tablet 



In Memoriam* 

Benry T^yler, 8r* & Benry Cyler, Jr. 
Vestrymen and ^Hardens of Bruton 

Church & parish. 

jfohn tyler & 6lizabcth Low, parents of 

Joanna 'Cyler-JMcKenzie A ^Jobn Cyler 

the Marshall of the Colony of Va*: 

& Hnne Contesse parents of 

7obn Cyler, 

Patriot, GoVr, 3fudge of the Hdmiralty, 
Supreme & CL 8* Courts of Ta^ 

& Mary Hrmistead, 
of Buch-Rowe, parents of 

3(obn Cyler, 
Student, Visitor; Rector and Chancellor 

of Olm. and Mary College : 
GovV, Member of Congress, Senator, 
Vice president and president of the United 
States, Member of Confederate Congress : 



Marble Memorials 113 

& Letitia Christian, parents of 
Robert Cyler, poet, philosopher, States- 
man, Gentleman, Samuel Cyler, H* B*, LL* D* 
Chancellor of the State of Tsu, 

Grandson of the Marshall 

Chts tablet is erected by some 

of their Descendants 

June 1888, ELD. 

$be Udilmer flfcural Gabiet 

In 
Memory 

of 

the RevU HUtam B* SKlmer, D* D, 
whose eminent talents and exemplary piety 
enabled htm to fill with dignity 
the important stations of 

Rector of this Church 
president of OliUtam and Mary College 

president of the Bouse of Clerical 
and Lav Deputies of the Protestant 

6piscopal Church* 
Be was beloved in private 
Respected and honored in public Life 
H Sound Divine 
H faithful pastor, 
H sincere and practical Christian 
Bom in Cbester- 

March 9tb, 1784 
Died 3uly ^4tb, 1827. 



Monument is erected by the Congregation 
and Christians of other denominations, 
in testimony of their profound respect, 
and ardent affection, 
for the deceased 



114 Marble Memorials 

Confeberate SoIMers memorial flftural tablet 
Hn tbe transepts 

of 



the 

Confederate 

Soldiers, 

who fell in tbc 

Battle of OKHiameburg, 

May tbe 5th, 1862* 

Hnd of those who died of 

tbe wounds received tn 

tbe same. 
Cbeydiedforus* 



Coleman flllural 



In Memory of 
Charles Olasbtngton Colemati, ]M D 

Son of 

T3ttmas Colenun and frames 
Catherine Bill, Bis Oltfe, 

Born 1 8 ^fuly 1826 

Died 15 September 1894 

Be -was for many years a vestry- 

man and senior warden of Bruton 

Church, and long our beloved 

physician* 



Cbis tablet is emted by 
bis grateful friends* 



Brortse Memorials 

flDural tablets 

anb 
pew plates 



miural tablets in tbe 



Clock 

in the tower of the church was 

originally in the Virginia House 

of Burgesses. After a silence of 

many years, it was restored in 19O5 

by the Society of Colonial Dames 

of America in Virginia. 



in the tower is engraved : " The Gift of 

James Tarpley to Bruton Parish, 1761." 

In 1766 it celebrated the repeal of the 

Stamp Act. 

On May the 15th 1776, it celebrated the 

passing of a resolution by the House of 

Burgesses to establish a State Constitution 

and Declaration of Rights, and to instruct 

the Virginia Delegates in Congress to 

offer a resolution to declare the United 

Colonies free and independent states. 

In 1783 it celebrated the ratification of 

the Treaty of Peace between the United 

States and Great Britian 



n tbe <5allers 

Lord Dumnorc*s Gallery 

This gallery was occupied by 

Lord Dunmore 

Who removed from his accustomed seat among 
the Burgesses just prior to the outbreak 



Bronze Memorials 117 

of the American Revolution. 

The gallery was originally assigned to the 

Students of the College of 

William and Mary. 

EngraTed Brass Tablet 7 x 14 in 

flfourai tablets in tbe Iftave 



Cablet 
o tbe Glory of God 
and in memory of tbe colonial wardens of Bniton parish 

Names recorded : 

Capt. Philip Chesley and William Aylett 1674 
Hon. Philip Ludwell and Baldwin Matthews 1694 

William Pinkethman 1704 

Henry Tyler, Hon. Edmund Jenings 1710 

William Timson and Armistead Burwell 1751 

Hon. George Wythe 1760 
John Pierce and William Eaton 1768. 

Cast Bronce Tablet 15 1 12 in. 



This pew has been Endowed in memory 

of Hon. Samuel Matthews 
Captain General and Governor of Virginia 

1622-1660 

by the New York Chapter of the Daughters of 
Founders and Patriots of America (I) 

< 2 > "Co tbe 6lory of God and in memory of 

tbe presidents of tbe College of 

OKltiam and IMary 

Rev. James Blair, D. D., 1693-1743; Rev. William 
Dawson, D D., 1743-1752 ; Rev. William Stith, D. D., 1752- 
1755: Rev. Thomas Dawson, D. D., 1755-1761; Rev. 

(1) Mrs. Flora Adams Darling, Sponsor. , ^ _, _ o.*^ 

(2) Thi* memorial -was contributed by Mr. Charle* Cti Harriton, Prorott of the 
Unlrcrsity of Fexmsjlraaia, 



118 Bronze Memorials 

William Yates, 1761-1764; Rev. James Horrocks, D. D., 
1764-1771; Rev. John Camm, D.D., 1771-1777; Rt. Rev. 
James Madison, D. D., 1777-18 12: Rev. John Bracken, D.D , 
1812-1814; John Augustine Smith, M. D., 1814-1826; Rev. 
William H. Wilmer, D. D., 1826-1827; Rev. Adam Empie, 
D. D,, 1827-1836; Thomas R. Dew, LL. D., 18361846; 
Robert Saunders, 1847; Col. Ben jamin S. Ewell, LL. D., 1848 
and 1854-1888 ; Rt. Rev. John Johns, D. D., 1849-1854. 

Cast Bronze Tablet 15 x 12 in. 



To the Glory of God 
and to the memory of 

Maj, Joseph Crosbaw, JM R B. 

Donor in 1658 of the land on which 
Marston Parish Church was built 

and of 
Rev* 6dward fblltott 

Minister of Marston Parish 

which in 1674 united with Middletown Parish 

to form Bruton Parish 

and of 
Ralph Graves and ]Maj* lobn power 

vestrymen of Bruton Parish prior to 1769 

This tablet is erected by their descendants 

through John Munford Gregory I 

and Letitia Power Graves his wife 

& This memorial was contributed and the pew endowed 
by descendants. 

Cart Bronze Tablet 15 x 12 in. 
(i) MIM Lettic G. Warbnrton, Spon*or. 



Bronze Memorials 119 

Co the Glory of 6od and in memory of the Vestry 

of 1 674-1 68s who erected the first brich church 

upon this foundation 

The Honorable CoL Daniel Parke 

Mr. Rowland Jones, Minister 

John Page, James Besouth 

Major Otho Thorpe, Robert Cobb, James Bray 

Capt. Philip Chesley and William Aylett 

Church Wardens 

George Poyndexter, George Martin 

Samuel Timson, Hon. Thomas Ballard 

Capt. Francis Page, Treasurer, Alexander 

Bonyman, Clerk, and John Owens, Sidesman 

Attorney of the vestry, Major Robert Beverley 

Cast Bronze Tablet, 15 x 12 in. 



*Co the Glory of God and tn memory of 

the vestry of 1710-1715 who erected the 

present Cburcb building 

Henry Tyler John Holloway 

Richard Kendall Richard Bland 

Frederick Jones Hugh Norvell 

William Timson Edmund Jenings 

David Bray Ambrose Cobbs 

Christo Jackson, Clerk 

Minister, Rev. Commissary James Blair, D.D. 
Co-operating committee of the 

House of Burgesses 

Mr. John Hollo way, Mr. Robt. Boiling 
and Mr. Nicholas Meriwether, 

Cast Bronze Tablet size, 15 x 12 In. 



Bronze Memorials 1 21 

"Co the 6tory of God and in memory of 
the Httorneys General of Colonial Yirgima 

Worshippers in this church 

Benjamin Harrison 1702-1704 
Stephens Thomson 1704-1714 
John Clayton 1714-1736 
Edward Barradall 1737-1743 
William Bowden 1743-1748 
Peyton Randolph 3 748-1766 
John Randolph 1766-1776 

Cast Bronze Tablet 15 x la in. 

flUural tablets in tbe {Transepts 



"Co *Cbe lory of 6od 
and in Memory of tbe Members of tbe Rouse of Burgesses 

who, while representing the people of Virginia, worshipped 
in this part of Bruton Parish Church built by order of the 
House in 1713, and provided with pews for the Governor, 
His Council, and the Members of the 

House of Burgesses. 

With grateful devotion, Virginia here recalls the mem- 
ory of the life and service of that noble band of Patriots 
who consecrated themselves to the defense and preservation 
of the inalienable rights and charter liberties of the English 
colony in Virginia. The offspring of the Church, and the 
heirs of her teaching, these statesmen and warriors came 
here to find clearer vision and nobler courage, and to in- 
voke upon their cause the blessing of their God and the God 
of their fathers. 

As the Church at Jamestown ministered to the men 
who first established English civilization in America, so 
Bruton ministered to those who, through the State Consti- 
tution, and the Declaration of Rights, and the Declaration 
of Independence, by Congress, helped to establish upon a 



122 



Bronze Memorials 



firm and lasting foundation the government of the Federal 
Republic. 

In order that the high ideals of these Virginia partriots 
may be recalled as a perennial inspiration to men, this part 
of Bruton Parish Church, hallowed by their Memory, has 
been structurally preserved and restored through a gift for 
this purpose. 

Presented by Mr. and Mrs. Peter H. Mayo, of "Powha- 
tan Seat," near Richmond, Virginia. 

In memory of their Hncestors 

John Mayo of "Powhatan Seat" Nathaniel, Lewis and 
Peter Poythress, Carter Burwell, John 

Page, Robert Carter and 
Philip Ludwell 



Richard Bland 



Mayo 
Coat of 
Arms 




Members of the Council and of the House of Burgesses 

and 
Lawrence Taliaferro, Col. of the CulpeperMinute Men. 

"Che pulpit and Clerk's Desh were restored to the Glory cf 

0od and in memory of the Reverend Commissary Barnes 

Blair, D+D*, and the other clergv of Bruton parish 

Church during the Colonial period of its fiistory. 

Reverend Rowland Jones, Merton Col. Oxon 1674-1688. 
Reverend Samuel Eburne 1688-1697. 
Reverend Cope Doyley, B. A. Oxon 1697-1702. 
Reverend Solomon Wheatley M.A. Oxon 1702-1710 
Reverend James Blair A.M. Edin D. D. 1710-1743 
Reverend Thomas Dawson D.D Col. W. and M. Va 1743- 

1759 

Reverend William Yates 1759-1764 
Reverend James Horrocks 1764-1771 



Bronze Memorials 123 

Reverend John Camm B.A. Trin. Col Cam. M A. D.D. 1771- 

1773 
Reverend John Bracken D.D. 1773-1818 

and in memory of later rectors of 

Bruton Parish Church 
Reverend Reuel Keith D.D. 1821-1824; Reverend William 

H. Wilmer D.D. 1826-1827; Reverend Adam Empie 

D.D. 1828-1836 
Reverend William Hodges D.D. 1837-1848; Reverend Henry 

M Denison 1848-1852; Reverend George T. Wilmer 

D.D. 1856-1859 and 1872-1876; Reverend Thomas M. 

Ambler 1860-1872 

The gift of Mrs. Byam Kerby Stevens, of New York City, 
in memory of her mother Eliza Langdon Wilks 

Cast Bronze Tablet, 22x18 inches 

To the 6lorj> of Cod 

and in memory of 
the Speakers of the Bouse of Burgesses 

Worshippers in this church 
Peter Beverley 1700-1705, 1710-1714 
Benjamin Harrison 1705 
Daniel McCarty 1715-18 
John Halloway 1720-1734 
Sir John Randolph 1736 
John Robinson 1738-1765 
Peyton Randolph 1766-1775 

Cast Bronze Tablet, 15x12 inches 

"Co the Glory of God 
and in Memory of Members of the Committee 

who, in 1777, drafted the 

"Hct establishing Religious freedom" 

In Virginia* 

THOMAS JEFFERSON, Vestryman of St. Anne's Parish. 
EDMUND PENDLETON, Vestryman of Drysdale Parish, 
GEORGE WYTHE, Vestryman of Bruton Parish. 



124 Bronze Memorials 

GEORGE MASON, Vestryman of Truro Parish. 
THOMAS LUBWBIJ, LEE, Vestryman of Overwharton Parish. 
Being all the members of the Committee. 

"Co the Glory of 6od 

and Commemoratix* of 

Cbe first Representative Legislature Hssembly 

held in America, which met in this county, in the Church at 
Jamestown, on July 30, 1619. "Where Sir George Yeardley 
the Governor being sett downe in his accustomed place in 
the Quire, those of the Counsel pf Estate sate nexte him on 
both handes. But forasmuch as men's affaires doe little 
prosper where God's service is neglected, all the Burgesses 
tooke their places in the Quire till a prayer was said by Mr. 
Bucke. the Minister, that it would please God to guide and 
sanctifie all our proceedings to His own glory and the good 
of this plantation." 

and in Memory of 

Captain OGUiam pcwell 

Burgess from James City Co. 

This endowment Tablet is erected by one of his descen- 
dants, in the year of our Lord, Nineteen Hundred and Seven 

flfturai tablets in tbe Cboit 

Co tbe Glory of God 

and in memory of 

tbe Gownors of Colonial Virginia 

who occupied this pew, 

Col Francis Nicholson Lieutenant Governor 1698-1704 
Edward Nott Lieutenant Governor 1705-1706 

Edmund Jenings President of the Council 1706-1710 

Col. Alexander Spotswood Lieutenant Governor 1710-1722 
Hugh Drysdale Lieutenant Governor 1722-1726 

Robert Carter President of the Council 1726-1727 

William Gooch Lieutenant Governor 1727-1749 

Rev James Blair D.D. President of the Council 1740 



Bronze Memorials 125 

John Robinson President of the Council 1749 

Thomas Lee President of the Council 1749-1750 

Lewis Burwell President of the Council 1750-1751 

Robert Dinwiddie Lieutenant Governor 1751-1758 

John Blair President of the Council 1758 and 1768 

Francis Pauquier Lieutenant Governor 1758-1768 

Norborne Berkeley, Baron De Botetourt Governor in Chief 

1768-1770 

William Nelson President of the Council 1770-1771 

John Murray, Earl of Dunmore Governor in Chief 1771-1775 

Cast Bronze X&blet, iSx22 xnshes 

This pew has been restored through the Colonial Capitol 
Branch of the Association for the Preservation of Virginia 
Antiquities. 

and endowed in memory of 

Colonel Hleranfcer Spotswoofc 

by his descendants, Mrs. Mary Corling Dunlop and her, 
children, Mary Mercer Dunlop, Sally Harrison Dunlop 
Margeret Agnes Dunlop, and Charlotte Lemoine Dunlop. 

Tablet on inside of pew door 

Mayo Memorial (I) 

This pew has been endowed in memory of 

William Mayo II, John Mayo, his son, William Mayo III, 

son of John, and their descendants Robert A. Mayo, son 

of William III, born in 1799, a member of the legislature 

of Virginia, and others of" Powhatan Seat," Henrico 

County, Virginia 

William Mayo II, son of Joseph, son of William Mayo, born 

in 1620, of Poulshot, England, was appointed chief 

surveyor by Virginia and the crown, to run with 

Colonel William Byrd and others, the dividing line 

between Virginia and North Carolina, in 1728, 

and also to survey and adjust the lines in 
controversy between the crown and Lord Fairfax. 

(i) Contritmted t>j Mr. P. H. Mayo, Richmond/Va. 



1 26 Bronze JVUmortals 

He laid out the cities of Richmond and Petersburg in 

1737 for Colonel William Byrd. 

John Mayo was a member of the House of 

Burgesses in 1769-1772, and of the convention in 1775 

and 1776. William Mayo III was sometime warden 

of St. John's Church, Richmond, Virginia. 

In the IDestrs IRoom 

Restoration Cablet 

THE RESTORATION 

of the interior of Bruton Parish Church to its colonial form 
and appearance was inaugurated by a service held on May 
14th, 1905, with a sermon on the Continuity of the Life of 
the Church, by Rev. Beverley Dandridge Tucker, D.D. The 
work was completed in time to celebrate in the church on 
Dec the 20th, 1906, the Three Hundredth Anniversary of 
the departure of the colony from London which reached 
Jamestown, Virginia, on May 13th, 1607 

RESTORATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

Rt. Rev. A. M. Randolph, D.D , LL.D , D. C. L., Bishop 
of Southern Virginia, Rev. William R. Huntington, D.D., 
New York City, Rev. Randolph H. McKira, D.D , Washing- 
ton, D. C., Rev. B. D. Tucker, D D., Norfolk, Va., Rev. J. J. 
Gravatt, Richmond, Va., Mr. J. Frederic Kernochan, New 
York City, Mr. R. Fulton Cutting, New York City, Mr. 
Joseph Bryan, Richmond, Va. 

CUSTODIANS OF FUNDS 

Mr. Robert L. Harrison, New York City, Dr. S. Weir 
Mitchell, Philadelphia, Penn., Mr. Thomas Nelson Page, 
LL.D., Washington, D. C., Hon. Robert Treat Paine, Bos- 
ton, Mass. 

RECTOR 
Rev. William A. R. Goodwin, A. M. 



Bronze Memorials 127 

PARISH VESTRY 

Dr. Van. R Garrett, Senior Warden, H. Denison Cole, 
Jtmion Warden and Registrar, Dr. L. S. Foster, Treasurer, 
Capt L. W. Lane. John L. Mercer, Leonard Henley, Dr. P. 
T. Southall, W Hartwell Macon, Hugh S. Bird, Z. G". Durfey, 
Dr. John Blair Spencer. 

ARCHITECT 

contributing his service to the Restoration, 
Mr. J. Stewart Barney, New York City. 




13 6x. 



Memorial pews in the Have 



PEW No 2 l 
Owens, Sidesman, 1674. 



PEW No. 3 

OltUtam parka, 

Vestryman; First Editor and Printer of the Virginia 
Gazette, 1736. 2 

PEW No 4. 



PEW No. 5 A 

'Cbomas Scale, 

Member of the Council,' 1662; Vestryman, 1684 

CoL 'Cbomae Ballard, 

Member of the Council, 1670; Vestryman 

<r 'Cbornas pettud. Vestryman, 1698. 

PEW No. 5 A. 

^ MtcbacI Hrcben Vestryman, 1721. 
- Jxmea Hrcbcr t Vestryman. 

PEW No. 5 B. 

dtlUam fiansf ord, Vestry man, 1704. 
Benry Cai% Vestryman, 1721. 

i All the pew plates in the nave are Cast Bronze, aize, 5% x 3 in- ^ _.,._,_ 

a Contributed by some American Newspaper Editon, Mr. W. C. Johnson: Editor of 

the Virginia Gazette. Sponsor. * 

3 Coatribnted as a memorial to Governor Samuel Matthews, 1656. Mrs. Flora Adams 

Darling, Sponsor. 



130 Memorial Pews 

PEW No 6 A. 

lames SOhaley, Vestryman prior to 1701 
Thomas Olbaley, Vestryman prior to 1769 



Robertson, Vestryman, 1705 
Thomas 6verard, Vestryman, 1769 
--Thorny Thorp, Vestryman prior to 1698 

PEW No. 6 B. 
John Bollcro>ay, 1710 

PEW No. 7. 

lames Bray, Vestryman, 1674. 

David Bray, Vestryman, 1684 

Thomas Bray David Bray, Jr^ Vestrymen 

PEW No. 8. 
Thomas Ludwell, Vestryman, 1685 

PEW No. 9 
7obn prentis, Vestryman, 1769 

Oiaiiam prentfe, Vestryman 
Joseph Pmitts, Vestryman, 1775 w 

PEW No. 10 
edward Barradall, Vestryman, 1737 

(i) Contributed by a descendant, Jtidg* Robert R, Prenti*. 



Memorial pews 131 

PEW No- 11 <'> 
be president of the College of OKUiam and Mary* 

PEW No. 12 

Joseph Cvosbaw, Vestryman of Marston Parish, 1658 (2) 

This pew is dedicated to Judge John Munford Gregory, 
Governor of Virginia, 1842, and his sister, Letitia Gregory 
Ware. 

PEW No. 13 

Samuel Ctmson, Vestryman, 1674 
OKlltam *Cbn90fn, Vestryman, 1710 
OKUiam Cimeon, Jr* Vestryman, 1726 
Samuel Onwon, >*, Vestryman, 1740 <s> 

PEW No. 14 
Gideon ]Macon, Vestryman^ 1678 w 

PEW No. 15 
Lewis BuvtPellt Vestryman, 1725 

Nathaniel BurwelU Vestryman 
Hrmtstead BunvelU Vestryman prior to 1769 <s> 

(i) Contributed by Mr Charles Cnsti* HariiEon, Provost of the UniYenity of Pcnn- 
8y ?!Tcontribirted by descendants. Miw Lettie G. Warbwton, Sponsor. 

51 7i__ilii J.-J vi ^ u ^.Ja+. T^jk H/Hae VToi-tr riarr**t- SnOTlSOr. 




132 Memorial Pews 

PEW No. 16 

Ralph Gra\>ee, Vestryman prior to 1769 
OHUiam 6raws^ Vestryman, 1769 <'> 

PEW Xo. 17 
St, George Ciicher, 1775 < 2 > 

PEW No. 18 
Philip Ludwell, Vestryman, 1684 (3) 

PEW No. 19 
* Daniel Parhc, Vestryman, 1674 

PEW No. 20. 
6dnnmd Jeningd, Vestryman, 1694 w 

endowd to the Memory of 
Rev* John Cameron, O. D^ (Col. of Wm. and M). 

Graduate of King's College, Aberdeen, Scotland. 

Admitted to Holy Orders 1768 by the Bishop of Chester, 
England. 

Settled in Virginia, 1770. 

Rector successively of St. James', Bristol (Blandford), 
and Cumberland Parishes. 



1 nSKWS S 7 ? toceadaxit, Mrs. E. T. Lamb. 
U) Contributed by descendant!. Mrs. C. B. T Col< 
r\ S^SJ"*^ by * defendant, Master Phifip Lnd 



Memorial Pews 133 

Rector of the Diocesan School in Lunenburg County. 

Elected by Church Convention as Supervising Clergy- 
man or Visitor (Before Bishop Madison's Consecration). 

Selected by the Church as Chairman of its Committee 
to cope with Mr. Thomas Jefferson against his act for the 
despoliation of the Church, with the final result that the 
Court of Appeals being equally divided, the statute stood, 
without being declared constitutional. 

He died in Lunenburg County, 1815. 

This pew has been restored and endowed by his great- 
grandchildren, Mrs. Annie Cameron Collins, and Bennehan 

Cameron. 



PEW No. 21. 
fiugh Norvell, Vestryman, 1725 

Gecvge fforvdl, Vestryman 
OKUiam NorveH, Vestryman, 1775 < 



PEW No. 23 
Benjamin Kblter, Vestryman, 1744 < 2 

PEW No. 23 

7ohn Gratis, Vestryman. 1721 
Daniel Pat-he Cwstis, Vestryman 
Mm Martha Custfe <3> 

PEW No. 24. 
6dmund Randolph <*> 

(il Contributed by a descendant; Mr. J Stewart Barney, Architect of the Restoration, 

(a) Contributed by a descendant, Mrs. Ralph Cross Johnson. 

5) Contributed by descendants/Mrs Marjaret Cnstis Hansford, Sponsor. 

(!) Contributed by descendants, Mr. R. Lancaster Wffliams, Sponsor. 



134. Memorial Pews 

PEW No 25 

Sir 3obn "Ranfcolpb 

Vestryman, 1727 <" 
PEW No. 26 

3obn flOarsball w 

PEW No. 27 

3ames flDonroe (3) 

PEW No. 28 

3obn Wer 

1837 w 
PEW No. 29 

(Beorge Masbington 

(Duplicate Tablet in Nave) <s) 
PEW No. 30 



(DupHcate Tablet in Nave) < 6 > 

(r) Contributed tjy- descendants. Mr. R. Lancaster William*, Sponior. 



i 

DeMendaata rf the Whigto P fiuB fl T . Mfa. N^,!. Bird 

<6) Contritated by theSgdety of Colonial '-Wan in tie Commonirnlfh ofPennsjl- 
Tanla, and endowed by the General Society of Colonial Ware. ^=nnsji 



Memorial pews 135 

flUemorial pews in tbe transepts 

PEW No. 29 

(Beorge Washington (2> 

PEW No. 30 

ftbomas Jefferson (3) 

PEW No. 31 

William (Tabell, Joseph (Cabell <4) 

PEW No. 32 

Hrcfoibalo Cans, S)abne$ Carr (5) 

PEW No. 33 

7 Paul Carrf ngton (6) 

PEW No. 34 

Robert (tarter micbolas 

Vestryman, 1754 &> 

(2) Contribtrted P by^descendanta oi the Washington Family. Miss Nannie Bird 

W S C^ntiibnted'oytheSodetyof ColoniolWars in the Commonwealth of Pennsyl- 
vania, and endowed by toe General Society of Colonial Wars. 

(i5 Contributed by Descendants, Hon. Geo C. Cabell, Sponsor. 

(?) Contributed by Descendants. Mrs W H. Macon, Sponsor. 

(I) Contriboted by Descendants. Mr. J. C Carrington,Spons<,r. 
(7) Contribnted by Descendants. Mrs. F. R. Johnson, Sponsor. 



136 Memorial pews 

PEW No. 35 

Peyton *Ranbolpb 

Vestryman, 1747 (1) 



PEW No 36 

Digges, Hnbrew !Hewis 

PEW No. 37 

Patrick Henrs <a) 



PEW No. 38 

penbleton (3> 

PEW No. 39 

tTbomas iRelson (4) 

PEW No. 40 

George flRason (5) 

PEW No. 41 

Benjamin Harrison, Carter Braiton (6) 

PEW No. 42 



(i) Contributed by Descendants Mr. R. Laacaster Williams, Sponsor. 

(a) Contributed through the Public School children of Virginia. Miss Nannie Davia 
Sponsor. ' 

(3) Contributed by Descendants. Mrs. Sarah Pendleton Van Rensselaer. Sponsor. 

(4> Contributed by Descend ants. Miss Mary W. Garrett, Sponsor F"wr. 

(5 ) Contributed by Descendants. Mrs. Sarah Pendleton Van Rensselaer, Sponsor 

< 6) Contributed by Descendants. Mrs. W. H. Macon, Sponsor. sponsor, 

(7) Contributed by the Virginia Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution 
in part by Descendants. Sponsor, Miss Mildred Nelson Page. Mramion, 



337 



PEW Xo. 43 

(Beorge Mtfbe 

Vestryman, 1769 
PEW No. 44 A 

Hubitors General 

Wm. Byrd, 1687-1704; Dudley Digges, 1705-1 710; Philip 
Ludwell, 1711-1736; Peter Beverley, 1716; John Grymes 
1718; Nathaniel Harrison, 1724-1728; John Blair, 1732-1771. 

PEW No. 44 B 

Secretaries of State 

Christopher Robinson, Ralph Wormley, 1693-1701; 
Edmttnd Jenings, 1702-1712 and 1720-1722; William Cocke, 
1712-1720; John Carter, 1722-1743; Thomas Nelson, 1743- 
1776. <> 

PEW No. 44 C 

Receivers (general 

Wm. Byrd (1), 1687-1704; Wm Byrd (2), 1705-1716; 
James Roscoe, 1716-1723; John Grymes, 1723-1748; Philip 
Grymes, 1749-1754; Richard Corbin, 1754-1776. 

PEW No. 45 

Ricbarb 1Henr\> Xee, jfrancis OLifibtfoot Uee (2) 
n tbe Clerfe's Besft 

Hlexander Bonymati 

(Parish) Clerk. 1683. 

(1) Tablet given by General Charles Robinson of England, in memory of Christopher 
Robinson. 

(2) Contributed by Descendants. Mrs. Virginia Miller, Sponsor. 



138 Memorial 



flDemorial jpews in the Cboir 

PEW No. 44 "> 

His fijcellencs 
tbe (governor 
memorial to Governor HIeranber Spotswoob (2) 

For Restoration and Endowment inscription see pages 134, 125 

0o\wnot*8 Cbafr 

Memorial to 

Xorborne Berkeley Baron DeBotetourt 
Governor in Chief, 1768-1770 

Presented by the Society of Colonial Dames of America in 
the State of Missouri. 



minister's TReafcing Desfc 

Revmtid Rowland lones, Minister, 1674-1688. 

Reverend Commissary lames Blair, D* D^ 1656^1743, 

Minister, 1710-1743. <*> 

PEW No. 46 

DK Hrcbibald Blatr t Vestryman, 1721. 
lobn Blair, (1), Vestryman, 1744. 
r t (2), Vestryman. 



PEW No. 46 B. 

., CoL Cletmnt Read^ M. H. B., 1748-1768. 
, CoL Isaac Read, M. H B., 1769-1775 w 

(0 All the pe-w plates in the Choir are cast bronze, size 2% x 7 in. 

(2) Contributed through the Colonial Capitol Branch of the Association for the 
Preservation oi "Virginia Antiquities. Miss Lottie M. Garrett, Sponsor. 

(3) Contributed with the pulpit by Mrs. Byam K Stevens, of New York. . 
14) Contributed by descendants. Miss Edmonia Slaughter, Sponsor. 



139 



PEW No. 46 A 

John Cofee 

The Emigrant, 172-4, and his descendants. ' x) 

PEW No. 47 

be Surve\>or'0 General 

to whom this pew was assigned. 

PEW No. 47 A 
Miles Cary, Surveyor General, 1692-1708 <> 

PEW No. 47 B 
OKlKam Mayo, Chief Surveyor 

Appointed by Virginia and the Crown in 1728 to ran 
the dividing line between Virginia and North Carolina. 

PEW No. 47 C 
OKUiam Bucfener 

Deputy Surveyor General, 1708-1716. 

PEW No. 47 D 
peter Bcwley 

Deputy Surveyor General, 1716-1728 

PEW No. 48 

<EoL 3obn ipaae 

Vestryman, 1674 <*> 

Gbe raan 

peter pelbatti, Organist, 1755 <s> 

f i^ Contribtrted by a descendant, Mr. John Archer Coke. _.,_,,- 

(3 Contailwted by descendants, Mr. W. MUes Gary and Mr. Archibald Gary 
fV) Contributed by a descendant, Mr. P.H. Mayo. 



!!Sffl^a3 

the Chesapeake & Ohio 



Special flfeemoriais 
in Bruton parisb Cburcb 

Robert Runt Memorial Hltns Basin 

To the Glory of God 

and in memory of 

Reverend Robert Hunt 

Chaplain of the Colony which established 

the English Church and English Civilization at 

Jamestown in 1607. Presented by 

The Colonial Capitol Branch 

of the 
Association for the Preservation of 

Virginia Antiquities. 
(Around the rim) It is more blessed to give than to receive 



and Mre Robert S* Bright 

Memorial Endowment 
Contributed by their Children 



Credence Cable 

To the Glory of God 

and in 

Loving Memory of 
Susan Henley 

and 

John Randolph Coupland 

"Their children arise up and 

call them blessed." 



Special Memorials 



Cross 

To the Glory of God 

and in Loving Memory of 

John Millington, July 10^ 1868 

and 
Sarah Ann, his wife, Dec. 23, 1869. 

Cbe Clerk's Desk prayer Booh 

To the Glory of God 

and in loving memory of 

Robert Major Garrett, M D. 

Warden of Bruton Parish Church 

and Vestryman from 1848 to the 

date of his death in 1885. 
Presented by his Children, 1907. 

Memorial prayer Booh and Bymtial 

To the Glory of God 
and in loving memory of 
^ J. A. Glenn Singleton 

Student at the College of William and Mary 

who entered into life eternal May 19, 1906. 

Presented by Bruton Parish Church Chapter 

of the Junior Brotherhood of St. Andrew 

of which he was a devoted member 

Boly Cable Lecturn 

To the glory of God 

and in memory of 

James Dunlop Moncure, M. D. 

Senior Warden of Bruton Parish Church 

who entered into life eternal Nov. 10, 1897. 

Stiver Offertory plate 

Dedicated to the Glory of God 
and to the memory of Henley T. Jones, Jr. and Mary South- 

all, his wife. 
Presented by their daughter in 1906 



142 Special Memorials 

prayer Desk (1) 

Memorial to Frances Catharine, (1796-1867) 

daughter of 
Baylor andMaiy (Brooke) Hill, of Norfolk, Virginia, 

and wife of 

Thomas Coleman of Braton Parish 
This memorial is placed by her descendants of three 
generations, in memory of her many virtues and years of 
faithful service in this Church. 

flowr Yases for fioly Table 

Presented by Mr. and Mrs. H. N. Philips 
in memoty of their children. 

Hltar Service Booh 

In memory of Edloe Morecock 
presented by his children. 

Prayer Desk < 2) 

To the Glory of God 

and in Memory of the Bishops of Virginia 
Rt Rev. James Madison, D. D., 1790-1812. 
Rt. Rev. Richard Channing Moore, D D., 1914-1841. 
Rt Rev. William Meade, D. D., 1841-1862. 
Rt. Rev. John Johns, 1842-1876. 
Rt. Rev. Francis M. Whittle, D. D. LL. D. 1868-1902. 



Prayer Desk 



(3) 



To the Glory of God 

and in Memory of Mr. Wordworth Thompson 

Painter of the picture of Bruton Parish Church, in the 

Metropolitan Museum of Art. 

(i) Presented through Mrs. Helen 3>igh. from 4 *The Talent Society 
(a) Presented through Mn. Helen LSghVfrom "ThTTaXsnt Sodet?" 
(3) Presented bj Mrs. Wordworth Thompson. ^^^ =ooety. 



Special Memorials 143 

Booh Marks 

Memorial to Miss Virginia Morecock 
Presented by her mother and sisters. 

"Cwo Hlms Basin 

Inscribed "To Bruton Parish, \Villiarasburg, Va. 

From an Alumnus of William and Mary College, 

of the Class of 1815-1816." 



edmund pcndleton 

As this work goes to press Miss Sarah Pendleton and 
Mr. Edmund Pendleton of Laurel, Md., have given order for 
having the remains of the Hon. Edmund Pendleton removed 
from near Bowling Green, Caroline Co., Va., to be interred 
beneath the north aisle of Bruton Parish Church. 

Edmund Pendleton was born in 1721, and died in 1803. 
He was the author of the resolutions offered here in the Vir- 
ginia House of Burgesses, May 15, 1776, which were 
unanimously adopted, calling upon Congress to declare the 
colonies free and independent States. He was President of 
the Convention in 1775, was subsequently President of the 
Virginia Court of Appeals, was twice elected to Congress, 
and in 1788 was chosen President of the Convention of 
Virginia which met to consider the adoption of the Federal 
Constitution. 

He was for many years a vestryman of Drysdale Parish, 
and, although one of the most loyal and devoted Churchmen 
in America, was a member of the Committee which in 1777 
drafted the law for establishing "Religious Freedom in 
Virginia." 



Xocation ant> Description of (Braves fount) in 

Bruton parisb Gburcb, Wbiie Excavating 

in June ant> 3uty, 1905, ant) of tbe 

tombstones in tbe Cburcb 

1. Located in the southwest corner of the tower; removed 

from the Waller farm on York River. (See inscrip- 
tion, p. 104.) 

2. Located to the east of No. i ; removed from the Waller 

farm on York River. (See inscription, p. 104 ) 

3. Located to the east of No. 2 ; removed from the Waller 

farm on York River. (See inscription, p 104.) 

4. Located to the east of No. 3 in the southeast corner of 

the tower. Removed from the churchyard. Inscribed 
Col. John Page. (See inscription, p. 104.) 

5. Located from the west wall II ft. i in.; from the north 

wall 10 ft, 3 in. Bricked up grave containing remains 
of one person. In brass head tacks in coffin wood 
were the letters P. G. Age 61. 

6. Located from the west wall 1 1 ft. 1 1 in. ; from the south 

wall i r ft. 8 in. Bricked up grave containing remains 
of one person, unknown. 

7. Located from the west wall 13 ft. 8 in. ; from south wall 

10 ft. i in. Unknown. 

8. Located from west wall 32 ft. 2 in. ; from north wall 10 

ft. 4 in. Marble slab in aisle, inscribed Mr. Henry 
Hacker. (See inscription, p. 105.) 

9. Located in the north aisle of the church. Grave of Gov- 

ernor Francis Fauquier, located by inscription in the 
Virginia Gazette. (See inscription, p 106.) 

10. Located from east wall 40 ft; from the north wall of 
transept 26 ft. 10 in. Remains of three persons 
Name in brass head tacks, Mrs. Prentis, Obt. 94. 

ir. Located from east wall 40 ft.; from the south wall of 
transept 26 ft. 10 in. Remains of a very large man, 
unknown. 



Graves excavated 145 

12. Located to the east of Xo. u. Unknown. This grave 

being under the grave of Dr. William Cocke, and being 
evidently of very much older date, was doubtless in 
the church of 1674. 

13. Located from the east wall 30 ft. 2 in. : in the aisle. 

Marked in brass head tacks, E. J. 17:27. The grave 
of Governor Edmund Jenings. (See inscription.) 

14. Located south of Xo. 13. Marked with brass head tacks 

\V. C. 1720. Grave of Dr. William Cocke, Secretary 
of State. (See inscription, p. 106. ) 

15. Located from the east wall 22 ft. 9 in.; from the south 

wall 10 ft. 7 in. Unknown. 

1 6. Located from the east wall 12 ft. n in.; from the north 

wall 3 ft. 8 in Size of stone, 38 in. x 77 in. Tomb- 
stone of Mrs. Christian Monro and children, found 
while excavating. (See inscription, p. 109.) 

17. Located from the east wall 13 ft. I in.; from the north 

wall 7 ft. 4 in. Size of stone 26 in. x 59 in. Infant 
children of James and Ann Blair. This stone was 
found while excavating in the church. ( See inscrip- 
tion, p 102.) 

1 8. Located from the east wall 13 ft. n in.; from the north 

wall 13 ft. 2 in. The tombstone of Orlando Jones, 
son of Rev. Roland Jones. (See p. 108.) 

These three stones were doubtless placed over these 
graves while the graves were in the churchyard, and 
became incorporated in the church when the chancel 
was extended by order of the Vestry in 1750. 

19. Located south of Xo. 18. Tombstones of Mrs. Orlando 

Jones, removed with the remains from Xew Kent 
County, and placed in Bruton Church at the time of 
the restoration of 1905. 

20. Located from the east wall n ft. ; from the north wall 13 

ft. 5 in. Unknown. This grave is doubtless very old. 

21. Located from the east wall n ft; from the south wall 

12 ft. Remains of unknown child. 

22. Located from the east wall 13 ft 11 in.; from the south 



14G raves Sxcavatcd 

-wall 8ft. Marked with brass tacks R. P. JB. 37-1730. 

23. Located from the east wall 13 ft. n in.; from the south 

wall 4 ft. 6 in. Unknown. 

24. Located from the east wall 9 ft. ; from the south wall 4 

ft. 8 in. Remains of two unknown persons. 

25. Located from the east wall 4 ft. 8 in.; from the north 

wall i ft. Unknown. 

26. Located from the east wall 33 in. ; from the north wall 

5 ft. 2 in. Unknown, 

27. Located from the east wall 3 ft. ; from the north wall 7 

ft. 2 in. Unknown. 

28. Located from the east wall 3 ft. ; on the north side of tiw 

chancel. The tombstone of Rev. Roland Jones, re- 
moved from the churchyard and placed in the chancel 
at the north side of the Holy Table. Remains not 
removed. (See inscription, p. 110.) 

29. Located from the east wall 18 in.; from the north wall 

II ft. Unknown. 

30. Adjoining No. 29, and to the south. Unknown. 

31. Located from the east wall 16 in.; from the south wall 

8 ft. 6 in. Vaulted grave marked in cement July 
XXV. MDCCCXXVII. The grave of Rev. William 
H. Wilmer, D. D. (See inscription, p. 110.) 

32. Located from the east wall 2 ft. 6 in.; from the south 

wall 6 ft. 5 in. Unknown. 

33. Located from the east wall 2 ft. 3 in.; from the south 

wall 4 ft Unknown. 

The remains found in the graves located in the aisles of 
the church did not have to be removed. Those found beneath 
the chancel were interred beneath the floor of the crypt of 
the church. 

In examining the graves found in Bruton Parish Church, 
the wood of the coffin was found, in most instances, to have 
turned to dust. Where the brass tacks had been driven into 
the wood, generally with a strip of leather between the head 
of the tack and the wood, the tack head and the leather had 
held the fibre of the wood together and prevented disintegra- 



Graves excavated 14-7 

tion. In many instances, these tacks, with the leath'er strip 
beneath, had been nailed entirely around the outer edge of 
the coffin, in addition to forming the initials and dates, which 
were always found between the head and the center of the 
coffin. 

The work of identification had to be done with extreme 
care, as nothing could be learned from the initials and dates 
unless found in the exact position in which they had been 
originally placed. Between the letters and figures, there 
being nothing to hold the fibre of the wood together, it had 
generally split in two, as was often the case between the tacks 
forming the letters and figures. The Parish Register, dating 
back to 1662, being still preserved, we were able, by com- 
paring the initials and dates with the death record of the past, 
to identify the graves. Over these graves, marble slabs have 
been placed in the chancel and aisles of the church, containing 
the exact record given by the tacks and their interpretation 
from the Parish Register and other sources, where such 
information could be found. 

This work was done by the Rector of the Church, 
assisted by Mr. T. N. Lawrence, of the Senior class of Wil- 
liam and Mary College, who was employed by the Vestry to 
assist in this work of excavation. 

The measurements given above were taken by Lieuten- 
ant Gait, of the United States Navy, who also prepared the 
diagrams showing the location of the graves. 




+3 


fit 



a 



3 

Q 



T3 


2 
1 

3 

u 



o 

^ 

3 

Ul 

tt 



Continuity of the Me of the 
Cburcb 

Sermon preached by Rev* B* D* Cucfecr, D* D*/ at Bniton 
Church, May 14, 1905, inaugurating the worfe of restoration* 

" We are the servants of the God of Heaven and earth, and build the 
House that was builded these many years ago, and since that time even 
until now, hath it been in building, and yet it is not finished. 79 Ezra vi: 
verses 11-16. 

I NE of the characteristic marks of the times 
in which we live is a growing reverence for 
the past, an increased interest in the beginning 
of things, an acknowledgment of the depend- 
ence of the present upon the past, and a recog- 
nition of the link that binds one generation to 
another. 

In all departments of thought, in the study 
of science, in the great field of history, in the 
investigation of social institutions there is 
this emphasizing of the principle of continuity. 
It was not so in the first half of the last 
century. There was a tendency, which found 
its most marked expression during the period 
of the French Revolution, to uproot everything which men 
held sacred, to break with the past It was a generation which 
asserted its independence of all that had gone before, which 
discarded institutions that had Been years in erecting, and 
which aspired to start the work afresh. 

The sober second thought of mankind soon re-asserted 
itself, and men in our day have begun to estimate at its real 
value all that has gone before. We realize that there must be 
progress, advancement, re-adaptations to changes and condi- 
tions, but in order that progress should be real, there must 
be candid recognition of the work which has been already 
done and which is an essential part of the whole. This con- 
tinuity of all things, this linking of what is with what has 

* Since elected and consecrated Bishop Coadjutor of the Diocese of Southern Virginia 




150 Cbe Continuity of the Church 

been, has become now one of the truisms of thought which it 
is detrimental to ignore. 

A very good illustration of this principle is found in the 
record before us in the answer of the Jews, who had returned 
from their exile in Babylon, and were rebuilding the temple 
of God at Jerusalem. To the enemies who sought to impede 
their work they made their reply in the words I have brought 
before you. 

Their work, they said, was no new work. They were 
building on the old foundations, carrying on the work which 
was begun centuries before. * 4 We are the servants of the 
most high God, and build the house which was builded these 
many years ago, which the great King of Israel builded and 
set up, and since that time it has been building; and yet it is 
not finished." 

It was the two-fold thought of the glory of the past and 
the possibility of the future that beckoned them to their task. 
The undertaking in itself was disheartening. It drew tears 
from the eyes of the elders as they remembered the glory of 
the former temple, but they took heart of grace as they real- 
ized the power of God, and remembered that they were build- 
ing the house which had been building many years, and which 
was not finished. 

As we look at the Christianity of to day, its develop- 
ment, its widespread influence; as we see the verification of 
the Master's parable of the mustard seed, we can only ex- 
plain it by remembering that each century has brought its 
contribution, that the house which we are now building, 
the Church of Christ of to-day, is the same house which the 
apostles and martyrs of the first centuries builded. There 
have been re-adaptation and accommodations, but tinder 
God it is the same Church of which Christ said to St. Peter, 
"The gates of hell shall not prevail against it." 

The recognition of the principle of continuity, of the 
linking of what is, with that which has gone before, is espe- 
cially characteristic of the branch of the Catholic Church to 
which we belong. It stands on the ancient foundations. It 



Che Continuity of the Church 151 

has never broken with the past. It has ever been mindful of 
the days that are gone. It was because our forefathers real- 
ized in the great days of the Reformation that they were not 
to tear down, but to build, because they did not disdain what 
the past had contributed of real worth, because they realized 
that they were building not a ne\v house, but the same that 
their fathers had builded many years ago, that the English 
Church came out of the throes of the Reformation purified 
and unfettered, adapted to be the home of men whom the 
truth had made free, but the same Church which had been 
planted in the apostolic centuries in the land of Britain. It 
gave to the people the open Bible and a worship purged from 
superstitious accretions, but it preserved for them all that was 
sacred and venerable in the past. The old Catholic order, 
the ministry received from the Apostle, the round of feasts 
and fasts ; these she retained, testing all things by the Word 
of God, sifting the good from the evil, casting away that 
which was corrupt, but holding on to that which was pure, 
counting it all the more precious, because it was the heritage 
of the ages. 

It is essentially true of the Liturgy of our Church. It 
was not made in a day, but, like the stately cathedrals of 
Europe, it is the growth of ages, and the work of many gen- 
erations. They come, these many prayers and songs, from 
many sources and many times. The music which David 
learned as he watched his father's sheep, the strains of the 
Magnificat in which the Virgin Mother of our Lord gave 
thanks for the Incarnation, the songs of welcome to the new- 
born Saviour of Zacharias, the Nunc Dimittis of the aged Sim- 
eon, the prayer that comes to us from the golden mouth of 
Chrysostom, the lofty Te Denm of Ambrose, the stately rythm 
of the words of the Martyr Cramner, and collects and prayers 
which unknown worshippers contributed, the Litany voicing 
the many wants of body and soul, the last prayer for the 
spread of the Gospel added in our day : these are some of the 
sources from which we draw the forms in which we worship 
God. The Prayer Book is not the book of our generation, 



152 -Che Continuity of the Church 

but of many generations. Is it any the less sacred ? Does it 
not indeed add dignity and a worth, when we feel that the 
devotions which we have used to-day are hallowed by the use 
of many generations? Xay, in our worship we realize that 
there is a true communion of the saints, a link that binds those 
on earth with those who have gone before. As we erect our 
House of Prayer and Praise, we are but building the house 
which has been building these many days, and which is not 
finished. Our children and our children's children shall con- 
tinue the \\ ork ; the generation that now is shall be linked by 
the bonds of Common Prayer and Common Praise to the gen- 
erations that are to come. 

But again, this principle of continuity finds its expression 
in this venerable sanctuary in which you are privileged to wor- 
ship. It stands not by itself. It has an ancestry which should 
make it all the more sacred and precious to those who love its 
walls. 

When the forefathers of some of us, who are gathered 
here this evening, builded these walls, they were undertaking 
no new work. As they prepared a place where God might be 
worshipped according to the customs of their fathers, they 
realized that the House they were building, had been building 
for many years, and was not finished. This Church of 1710, 
with its later additions, traces back its lineage to the Church 
of 1683, and that to the one built earlier than 1674, and 
through the later Church at Jamestown, back to that first 
shrine on the banks of the river, in which good Parson Hunt 
first used the prayers and praises we have used to-day, back 
to the quiet village churches or the cathedrals of old England, 
back to the shrine of Augustine, or to the old sanctuary of 
St. Martin, outside the walls of Canterbury, where the British 
worshipped Christ before the coming of the Roman monk- 
hack to the rock-bound lona, cradle of our Anglo Saxon 
Christianity, back to the churches of Gaul to the catecombs 
of Rome, back to that first sanctuary of Europe by the river 
bank of Philippi. back to Antioch, where the disciples were 
first called Christians, back to the upper room at Jerusalem, 



"Che Continuity of the Church 1 53 

where the disciples knelt to receive the outpouring of the Holy 
Ghost, and where they had seen the risen Christ, and heard 
His " Peace be with you." As we remember this, we feel that 
we are doing- no isolated work, when we seek to restore to 
something of its ancient beauty and former dignity this old 
fane, but that we are building the house which our fathers 
builded these many years ago, and which is not finished. 

As we go forth to this new task, we do not break with 
the old traditions, but we make them all the more sure. It is 
your church, but not yours alone. It is the church of those 
who have gone before, many of whom sleep in the quiet 
graves around us. Of the men vho. while here as representa- 
tives in the Virginia House of Burgesses, helped to lay the 
foundations of our Anglo-Saxon civilization in this republic, 
who were the pioneers of the great nation. They had their 
faults, but they had also their strong virtues. They were real 
men of God, and they showed their devotion to the Christ 
when they built a church strong to stand the wear and tear 
of time, and beautiful as an expression of their thought that 
the House of God should be the fairest and stateliest in the 
community. It is your Church, but it is also the Church of 
'the men who took the foremost part in asserting the principle 
of independence, in securing for America the great boon of 
civil and religious liberty. Into the making of these great 
Virginians of the Revolutionary period, without whom there 
would have been no victory and no ordered state, this Church 
had a large part. They were what they were because they 
had been trained by her services, because they had been 
taught from Bible, and Prayer Book and Catechism their duty 
to God and to man. It is your Church, but it is also the 
Church of the men and women who have gone before you. 
You are entering upon their labors, "building the house which 
1 they builded, which has been building many years, and which 
is not finished." 

It is your Church, but it is also the Church of those who 
are to come after you; the Church of many generations, 



154 Cbc Continuity of the Church 

which each must safeguard, and which each must hand down 
to the other, stronger, more meet for the Master's service, 
more fitted to be a spiritual house for God's children. 

I cannot but feel that this duty to which you are called 
now is one which God has given you. Changes are sometimes 
trying, but the changes which you propose to make do not 
tend to break with the past, but to bind )*ou more closely to 
it. It is not simply a work of historical interest, this work of 
restoration : it is rather one prompted by the desire to be true 
to a trust, to hand down to the generation that is to succeed, 
the Church of their fathers, as their fathers knew it, with its 
architecture ttnmarred, with the simple beauty and dignity 
which its builders sought to express in their work. 

When the work is done, it will not mean that all is done, 
but it will simply mean that you are better prepared to con- 
tinue your work on the spiritual building, on the upraising of 
a spiritual temple to God. Into the Church restored you will 
bring all the traditions of the long historic past. Nay, what 
are dearer still, all the sacred memories and associations of 
your own life. You will still find as you kneel at the Table of 
the Lord, the thoughts of those whom you have loved long 
since and lost awhile, and still have the consciousness of fel- 
lowship with them. 

May God bless die undertaking to the furtherance of 
His glory, to the upbuilding of His Church, to the spiritual 
welfare of His people. May you feel that even in seeking to 
beautify the material temple you are entering upon no new 
work, but "are building the house that was builded these many 
years ago, and since that time even until now hath been in 
building and is not yet finished." May a prayer come from 
each heart for God's blessing, that the glory of the latter 
house may be greater than that of the former." 

O God of our fathers, defend 

The place that we love, 
Let mercy and blessing descend 

Like dew from above. 



Che Continuity of the Church 155 

Remember the faith which of old. 

For love of Thy ways, 
Here builded with silver and gold 

A house to thy praise. 

Remember the works of the just 

Tho' ivy entwine 
The tombs \vhich now shelter their dust; 

Their spirits are thine ! 

Forget not the love that they bore 

The place of Thy name, 
Whose courage was strong to restore 

And save it from shame ! 

Forget not the faith that sufficed 

In war and distress. 
Remember, O God and O Christ, 

Their patience, and bless. 

Remember, O Ancient of Days, 

For sake of the dead, 
The worship, the prayer and the praise. 

The breakings of bread. 
Forget not their pleadings and plaints. 

Remember the tears. 
The life and the love of Thy saints, 

The faith of the years ! 

And visit, O God, as of yore, 

With mercy and grace 
The house where we worshipped before 

Thy glorious face! 
Our prayers and petitions receive, 

Our praises accept ! 

Give faith, O God, to believe 

Thv promises kept. 



156 Che Continuity of the Church 

Onr courage is feeble, and faints, 

Our zeal waxes cold. 
O God! for the faith of Thy saints, 

Thy people of old. 
For grace to be trustful and true 

Like those in the grave, 
To know that by many or few 

Thy mercy can save ! 

The sparrow hath found her a nest, 

Thine altars, O God! 
O ? make, too, our shelter and rest 

The courts we have trod, 
Like tendrils of ivy that cling 

And cover Thy fane, 
O Christ, be the love that we bring 

And give once again. 



IHunbreb Keats of Cburcb 
3Life anb Influence in IDirginia 

By Rev* dm* H* tL Good-veto, BL WL* 

(Rector Brnton Parish Church, Williamsburg) 

" In all times, in all countries," says M. Gnlzot, 
" religion has civilized the people among whom it 
dwelt." Under the limitations necessarily imposed, 
it is impossible to do more than call attention to the 
salient points where the Church in Virginia has exert- 
ed its influence by contributing forces which have 
been fundamental and constructive in upbuilding our 
civilization. 

TCbe Cburcb in tbe (Beneafe of the 
-Republic- 1 607-1700 

O statement could be more untrue to the facts 
of history than that the Virginia Colony was 
an enterprise conceived and executed for mate- 
rial and commercial ends alone. It is true 
that it was not, like the New England Colony, 
the outgrowth of religious contention and 
persecution, and the men who composed it did 
not have religious grievances to proclaim to 
the world. Their religion was normal and 
their faith the faith of their forefathers: and 
it expressed itself in Virginia, as it had in 
England, without ostentation, in a way that 
was perfectly normal and natural. The an- 
cient royal Charter under which these Virginia 
settlers sailed, commended and accepted "their desires for a 
furtherance of so noble a work, which may, by the providence 




* This chapter -was written for the Diocesan Journal of the Diocese of Sotttlem Virginia 



1 60 Che Genesis of the Hmerican Church 

of Almighty God, hereafter tend to the glory of His Divine 
Majesty in propagating- the Christian religion to such people 
as yet live in darkness and miserable ignorance of the true 
knowledge and worship of God. and may in time bring infidels 
and savages living in those parts to human civility, and to a 
settled and quiet government (Hening, Vol. I, Page 57) 
and they were instructed "to provide that the true word and 
service of God and Christian faith be preached, planted and 
used, according to the doctrine, rights and religion now pro- 
fessed and established within our realm of England." The 
last instructions given to the Colonists by the King's council 
were: 4 *Lastly and chiefly the way to prosper and achieve 
good success is to make yourselves all of one mind for the 
good of your country and your own, and to serve and fear 
God, the giver of all goodness. For every plantation which 
our Heavenly Father hath not planted shall be rooted out" 
(Brown's First Republic). The first services held upon the 
Virginia shores at Cape Henry (April, 26th, 1607), and at 
Jamestown, were doubtless held in the silence of the primeval 
forest and under the canopy of heaven. When the Colonists 
reached Jamestown on May I3th, 1607, and began their home 
building in the new world, an improvised church was built. 
This Church has been described in the chapter on the Church 
at Jamestown. Around this primitive church they built their 
primitive homes. This tabernacle in the wilderness marked 
the beginning of permanent Protestant Christianity in Amer- 
ica. Here the Holy Communion service was held on the 
Third Sunday after Trinity, 1607, an d it has been suggested 
that this Sunday be observed throughout our Church this 
year, as a special day of thanksgiving. 

American Churchmen can never fully repay the debt of 
gratitude which the nation owes to one of the heroes of that 
heroic band which settled three centuries ago at Jamestown. 
Xo stone and no inscription, as yet, mark the resting place of 
Captain Robert Hunt, Chaplain of the Colony of 1607. Se- 
lected by \Vingfield and appointed by the Archbishop of Can- 
terbury, because he was *'a man in not any waie to be touched 



Che 6ene9t8 of the Htnertcan Cbutxb 161 

with the rebellious humors of a papist spirit, nor blemished 
with ye least suspition of a factious scismatick." Rev. Robert 
Hunt mgide himself loved by all "for his exceeding goodness." 
"By his godly exhortations ( but chiefly by the true devoted 
examples) he quenched the flames of envie and dissention" 
which threatened to exterminate the Colony, and administered 
to them the Holy Communion, which Smith says, "\ve all re- 
ceived as an outward and visible token of reconsiliation." It 
is recorded elsewhere that "when the Indians saw us at prayer 
they observed us with great silence and respect, especially 
those to whom was imparted the meaning of our reverence." 

Nowhere in history is there a more tragic story than that 
which tells of the struggle of this Virginia Colony to survive. 
Ravaged by pestilence, decimated by starvation, almost ex- 
terminated by attacks of savages, it is estimated that during 
the first nineteen years 6,040 persons died out of a population 
of 7,289 (Young, Page 20). In England the Colony was kept 
before the people by pamphlets distributed, and by sermons 
preached. In these the appeal most strongly made was to 
the missionary spirit. Large sums were contributed to send 
the Gospel of Christ to Virginia. Before leaving, the Colon- 
ists were assembled to receive the blessing and the instruction 
of the Mother Church. 

The sermon preached on the 25th of April, 1609, and 
one preached in February, 1610, to the emigrants to Virginia 
have been preserved, and live to rebuke the untruth so widely 
disseminated that the Virginia Colony in its incipency was 
solely a commercial enterprise. To the title page of the ser- 
mon preached in 1610 to the Colony which settled in Henrico, 
there was affixed the following antiphon, which should cer- 
tainly be chanted at some service held this year at Jamestown : 

England to God. "Lord, here am I, send me." 

God to J r irginia. "He that walketh in darkness and hath 
no light, let him trust in the name of the Lord and stay upon 
his God." 

Virginia to God. "God be merciful to us and bless us 
and cause the light of thy countenance to shine upon us ; let 



162 Che Church and 6arly Legislation 

thy ways be known upon earth, thy saving health among* all 
nations/' 

England to Virginia. "Behold I bring you glad tidings, 
unto you is born a Saviour, even Christ the Lord." 

rirginia. to England. "How beautiful are the feet of 
them that bring glad tidings and publish salvation." 

These facts have been dwelt upon because it is worth 
while that they should be placed in the foreground at this 
time as a witness to the truth, as well as an inspiration to 
Churchmen. 

Already the Colonists had begun to settle in other places 
along the shores of the great rivers of Virginia. Dale in 
161 1 had established a colony on James River at Henrico. Here 
Rev. Alexander Whittaker, a graduate of the University of 
Cambridge, served as Chaplain. He was a man of devoted 
zeal and godly piety. To him was committed the Christian 
instruction of the Princess Pocahontas. In a letter to the 
Lord Bishop of London, who was also Bishop of Virginia, Sir 
Thomas Dale reported the baptism of this Indian maiden, 
who, he said, had subsequently been married, in the church 
(at Jamestown) to one John Rolfe, an English gentleman. 
Rev. Alexander Whittaker also reports this baptism in a letter 
written to a clergyman in England. A letter was written by 
John Rolfe to the church in England which contained a mas- 
terful argument in behalf of giving to Foreign Missions in 
Virginia in which he revoked the cry of Macedon, "Come 
over and help us." 



Cburdb ant> fiarfy OLeflieiation 



A great modern historian has said that "The Christian 
Church has proclaimed the great truth which forms the only 
foundation of our hope for humanity, namely, that there 
exists a law above all human law, which is, in all times and 
in all places, the same." The Virginia Colonists recognized 
that the law of God was the fundamental basis of human 



'Che Church and Garly Legislation 163 

legislation, and entered upon their work by looking first to 
Him for His guidance and blessing. 

On July 30, 1619, the First Representative Legislative 
Assembly ever held in America met in the church 
at Jamestovm. A more commodious structure had by 
this time supplanted the homely church "like a "barne" 
and the ancient "Colonial records" state that the 
most "convenient place we could finde to sitt was the Quire 
of the Churche, where Sir George Yeardley, the governour, 
being sett downe in his accustomed place, those of the Coun- 
sel of Estate sate nexte him on both handes. But forasmuche 
as men's affaires doe little prosper where God's service is 
neglected, all the Burgesses tooke their places in the Quire 
till a prayer was said by Mr. Bucke, the minister, that it 
would please God to guide and sanctifie all our proceedings to 
His own glory and the good of this plantation." Thus as the 
first homes of the Virginia settlers were built within the trian- 
gular fort about the Church, which was placed in the center, so 
the first laws passed by the First Legislative Assembly in Vir- 
ginia were passed by men assembled in God's Church, and act- 
ing in conscious dependence upon His blessing and guidance. 
The first laws passed were for the defence and support of the 
Christian religion. During this century the records give con- 
stant evidence of the co-operation of the Church and the legis- 
lature in promoting the cause of religion, and give evidence 
of the spread of the Church's influence. It was in those years 
that most of our ancient parish lines were established in 
eastern Virginia, showing that the Church of England was 
following her children out into the wilderness to minister to 
them in the name of Christ. The parish vestries were 
made the guardians of public morals, the custodians of 
dependent orphans, and the overseers of the public poor. 
Ministers' salaries were fixed at so many pounds of tobacco, 
and people were ordered to attend church and behave 
themselves while there or suffer the consequences of being 
fined for neglecting to do either. Before 1707 many of 
the Parishes substantial brick churches had been erected, 



164 Che Church and education 

most of which have since fallen into decay. St. Luke's, in 
Isle of Wight, and a few others of this century still remain. 
At Jamestown the lone ivy-mantled tower marks the site of 
the three churches which have stood upon the recently un- 
earthed foundations. 

be Cburcb anb je&ucatfon 

Prior to 1700, the Church in Virginia had accomplished 
an end which should be mentioned, because of its far reaching 
influence for good. In 1617 a charter was secured from Eng- 
land for the establishment of the University of Henrico ; but 
the Indian massacre of 1622 brought this project to an un- 
timely end, and it was not until 1690 that the project of estab- 
lishing a college in the Colony was again revived. This move- 
ment, which culminated in the establishment of the College of 
William and Mary in 1693, was largely accomplished through 
the intervention of the Church. A royal Charter and a royal 
subscription was secured by Rev. Commissary James Blair, 
D. D., whose object was to establish in Virginia an institu- 
tion primarily for the purpose of educating a native ministry, 
and also for the purpose of educating and christianizing the 
Indian youth, and the sons of the planters of Virginia. The 
Archbishop of Canterbury was Chancellor of William and 
Mary, and Rev, Commissary James Blair, D. D., its first presi- 
dent. For many years its presidents and most of its profes- 
sors were learned clergymen of our Church. Bishop Madison 
and Bishop Johns both served in this capacity. When one 
considers the names of the men upon the roll of the alumni 
of this venerable institution, including Jefferson, Monroe, 
Marshall, the Randolphs, and many other distinguished Vir- 
ginians ; when one remembers what the men who were trained 
in this College have given to America, and then remembers 
that the College was largely the gift of the Church to the 
people of Virginia, there is presented a cause of gratitude to 
God which should not be forgotten. Thus it \vould appear 
that between 1607 and 1700 the Church had established her- 



II 



SI 



H 



o - 




166 Church extension 

self as the center of influence over the homes of the early 
Virginians; sheltered and blessed the First Representative 
Legislative Assembly in America; impressed herself through 
parish names and parish bounds upon the geography as well 
as the social conditions of the state; established a spiritual 
foundation for the upbuilding of national integrity and right- 
eousness; and founded a College which was conducted for 
well-nigh two centuries under the direction of the Church and 
under the care of its learned and godly ministers. 

perfot> of itension an& Cumulative 
Influence 1700^82 



A sense of permanence seemed mv to have possessed 
the minds of the people. The vision had become wider. The 
jthoughts of our forefathers were embodied in their building. 
This is seen in the Colonial Churches of the century that re- 
main. The removal of the Government from Jamestown to 
Williamsburg led to the rebuilding of Bruton Parish Church. 
This was done with large thoughts, and with a far reaching 
purpose in 1710. Its walls and massive timbers tell of a vision 
of usefulness unbounded by a single century. In 1737 old 
Blandf ord Church was erected and has recently been restored. 
St Paul's Church, Norfolk, embodying to-day the Canon ball 
fired from Lord Dunmore's fleet, was erected in 1739, an ^ St. 
John's, Hampton, in 1727, Hungars and St. George's, Pun- 
goteague, on the Eastern Shore, Trinity Church, Ports- 
mouth, and Grace Church, Yorktown, still stand within the 
bounds of the Diocese of Southern Virginia as memorials of 
the faith and devotion of the Churchmen of this century. 
Many of these old churches have been destroyed by fire, or 
have succumbed, through neglect to the disintegrating touch 
of time. In the Diocese of Virginia, Christ Church, Lancas- 
ter, 1732, St. John's Church, Richmond, Christ Church, Alex- 
andria, Pohick and Falls Church in Fairfax, Ware and 
Abingdon in Gloucester, St. Peter's, New Kent, and others of 
this period have remained. 



the Influence of the Church upon Hmmcan Statesmen 167 

In these old churches most of the patriot statesmen 
of Virginia served as Parish Vestrymen. From them 
proceeded an influence which sanctified the homes of Vir- 
ginia which have ever been the units of her civilization 
and the glory of her life. From these ancient church altars 
the fire was taken which kindled the flame of devotion upon 
the family altars of the people. At these family altars, too 
many of which, like the ancient churches, have fallen into 
decay, the young men of Virginia consecrated themselves to 
the sacred ministry, or to the defence of the liberties of their 
country; and there is no question but that in these homes 
and around these altars the negro servants received the best 
instruction and richest spiritual blessing which has ever come 
into the lives of these people now emancipated from slavery, 
and self-exiled from these high and holy spiritual privileges. 
We confidently believe that there is more of genuine spiritual 
good which has come to them as an inheritance from this 
social and religious tutelage than has since been acquired by 
them, or imparted to them, along independent lines. 



ftbe Influence of tbe Cburcb upon Hmerican 
Statesmen 

The true American patriot can not be unmindful of the 
debt he owes to the religion of the Christ for the influence 
exerted by the Church upon the statesmen and warriors of 
the revolutionary period. While acting as Parish Vestrymen 
most of these men received their first training in defending 
the rights and liberties of the people against the undue en- 
croachments of the Church of England. To name the Ves- 
trymen of Virginia distinguished for the service rendered 
during this period would be to call almost the complete roll of 
the men who then arose as leaders of the people in the 
struggle for liberty (see list in Bishop Meade's old Churches 
and Families in Virginia, Vol. i, p. 153). Washington, 



1 68 Che Church and Religious freedom 

George Mason, Peyton Randolph, Wythe, Edmund Pendie- 
ton, General Xelson, Richard Bland, Archibald Gary, Richard 
Henry Lee. and hundreds of others, who rendered signal 
service to America in time of need, were servants of Christ, 
in His Church, and were Parish Vestrymen. 

As the Church at Jamestown ministered to the men who 
laid the foundations of American civilization, so Bruton 
Parish Church situated in Williamsburg, the Colonial Capitol 
ministered to the men, who, through the State Constitution 
and Bill of Rights, and Declaration of Independence, passed 
by Congress, laid sure and strong the foundations of the free 
and independent government of the federal republic. The 
sons of the Church and heirs of her teaching, these patriots 
and warriors of Virginia came to this Church to find clearer 
vision and nobler courage, and to invoke upon their cause the 
blessing of their God and the God of their fathers. The state 
documents of this period reflect the glow of faith and the 
fervor of religious devotion which illumined the lives of these 
men who consecrated themselves to the cause which resulted, 
through their endeavor, in our heritage of civil liberty. 

Sbe periot) of Greatest Erial anb Greatest 
Griumpb, 17821907 

The struggle of the Church for her life after the Revolu- 
tion was almost as tragic and desperate as the struggle of the 
colony of 1607 f r existence, and in many respects the forces 
allied against the early Colonists were symbolical of those 
arrayed against the Church. 

About no period of American Church History are there 
more gross and yet more generally accepted misconceptions. 
We are told and our children are told, that the Church was 
disestablished by those who were the champions of religious 
freedom, and that these champions of liberty were the de- 



Church under trial 169 



fenders of the people against the claims of the Church. The 
Church was disestablished by the champions of religious free- 
dom, but, "the disestablishment of the Church in Virginia 
was the work of its own members, who, in laying the founda- 
tions of their country's liberty, believed that they should un- 
selfishly sacrifice the privileges the law had hitherto secured 
to them, that civil and religious liberty might be found insep- 
arably united" (Rowland's Life of George Mason, Vol. I, 
p. 243). Of the five men appointed to revise the laws of the 
Commonwealth, namely, Jefferson, Pendleton, \Vythe, George 
Mason and Thomas Ludwell Lee, four were active Vestry- 
men of the Episcopal Church, and Jefferson had also at one 
time been a Vestryman, and from papers extant it is in evi- 
dence that the very law in question was drafted prior to 
the time when George Mason resigned from the Committee. 
A marked distinction should be made between the disestab- 
lishment of the Church and her spoliation. The acts 
of the Legislature passed in 1787, 1799, and finally in 1802, 
were not inspired by a spirit of religious liberty. They were 
designed to confiscate the property of the Church, and re- 
sulted in the sale of her glebe lands. Against legislation 
looking to this end George Mason, Edmund Pendleton, and 
other Virginia Churchmen, did protest, because they believed 
that such procedure was contrary to the principles of com- 
mon honesty. This left the Church stripped and impover- 
ished. Her once wealthy members had sacrificed their for- 
tunes in behalf of their country. Among the masses of the 
people there was a feeling of prejudice. It has been gener- 
ally stated and believed that this was due to the fact that 
the clergy of the Church had been Tories. As a matter of 
fact the records show that the Virginia Clergy, led by Rev. 
Drs. Madison and Bracken, were, with very few exceptions, 
ardent supporters of the cause of liberty. The prejudice 
had a reasonable basis in the fact that prior to the disestablish- 
ment the people had been taxed by the State to support a 
Church to which some of them did not adhere, to which was 
added the dislike wliich at this time was felt against the 



170 Cbc Church triumphant 

Church because of her English connection. Thrown upon 
her own resources the Church made a desperate struggle 
until almost the middle of the last century. 

In 1789 the Prayer Book, adapted to the changed poli- 
tical conditions and otherwise revised, was ratified at the 
General Convention of the Church, held in Christ Church, 
Philadelphia. In many of the churches the prayer for the 
President of the United States was pasted over the prayer 
for King George III in the old Prayer Books. In 1784 
Bishop Seabury was consecrated for the Church in Connecti- 
cut, Bishop Provoost for New York, in 1787, Bishop White 
for Pennsylvania, in 1787, and Bishop Madison for Virginia, 
ip 1/90. 

From the dark days of the beginning of the last century 
we look forward into an ever increasing circle of light. We 
can not pause to mark the place where, in her onward 
march, the Church has placed the lamp of truth to 
lighten the darkness. We can not follow Bishops 
Meade, Chase, Kemper and Whipple, or Boone, Williams, 
Payne an3 others who have led the Church in the partial 
fulfilment of her mission to the world. We can not venture 
to measure her influence upon education and social life and 
upon the religious life about her in the world, or 
count her spires, or number her homes of mercy. 
God has blessed her, and through her He has blessed 
the nation and is blessing the world. Rich with the heritage 
of far more than three centuries, the American Churchman 
faces the new century. The years that have gone have 
brought us blessings immeasurable. The year that is now 
brings us a responsibility and a duty. Made, through God J s 
Church, in Christ, sons of the King, and the heirs of His 
blessings, we face the responsibility of determining in what 
measure and in what way we shall return thanks to the 
King. The suggestion of the Church for a "MEN'S MISSION- 
ARY THANK OFFERING" simply indicates one of the many 
ways in which we may manifest our gratitude. Every Church- 
man in Virginia and every true American should respond 



Che Church ^Triumphant 171 

loyally and gladly to this call. It has been suggested that 
\ve consecrate at least the amount of "OxE DAY'S WAGE" 
upon the altar of thanksgiving for the rich inheritance wnich 
is ours as Churchmen, Virginians, and Americans. The 
offering is designed to give to others the blessings which 
have been given us. 

As we celebrate our greatness, it is all important that 
we should manifest our gratitude by doing the things which 
help to save us from being very little after all. 




0* 


** 
ft, 





S 
& 

u 




o 

S 

fi 





Spiritual anb Ibeal 
cance of Bruton parisb 
Cburcb, TRestoreb 

" And the house (of God) was finished and the 
children of Israel kept the dedication of the house 
with joy."* 

Ezra vi : 15-16. 

| HESE words were spoken concerning- the temple 
of Zerubbabel, which had been built in Jerusa- 
lem after the ruin and desolation that had 
fallen upon the house of God at the hands of 
those who had led Israel and Judah into cap- 
tivity. The temple had been restored, the 
work was finished, and the people rejoiced as 
they gave the house to God. 

For well nigh two years this house of God 
in which we worship to-day has been in the 
hands of workmen who have been laboring to 
restore to the temple its ancient interior form, 
and make it symbolic of its ancient glory. And 
now "the house is finished," and we approach the day (May 
12, 1907) when in the service of consecration the Church re- 
stored will be given to God, and we pause to-day to learn the 
lessons of the past, and to consider the meaning of the work 
that we may enter upon that service with feelings of joy and 
thanksgiving. 

The temple was the centre of Israel's life. During the 
days of its splendor it was the symbol of the nation's glory, 
and in its subsequent ruin and desolation it became the sym- 
bol of the nation's shame. 

The house of God was from the first a place of hallowed 

* Sermon preached in the church by the Rector, Sunday, April 21, 1907, upon the com- 
pletion of the work of restoration. 




174 Che Significance of the Church Restored 

and sacred memories; designed to minister to the present 
needs of the people, pointing ever to the great hope of 
the coming of the promised Messiah, the temple was con- 
structed also to recall the blessings of the past. The memorial 
idea which is made a characteristic feature in Bruton Parish 
Church restored has ever been present in the life and form 
of the Church of God. In the days of the patriarchs, who 
wandered from place to place, seeking pasture for their flocks 
and herds, the house of God was a rude altar, made of the 
unpolished stones of the wilderness. Used for sacrifice, these 
altars were left for memorials to mark the points where God 
revealed himself to His people Bethel, Horeb, Jehovahnissi. 
and Peniel were names which stirred the memory and inspired 
the people of many subsequent generations to "praise the 
Lord for His goodness and declare the wonders that He doeth 
for the children of men/' 

The tabernacle, too, was constructed upon a memorial 
plan. Associated with God's care of His people during the 
years of their wilderness wandering, it remained for them a 
place of worship until the nation was established in the land 
of their inheritance and the temple built, and then it came to 
be the inspiration of the great national Feast of Tabernacles. 

When the temple was erected with its splendid magnifi- 
cence, the past was welded into the temple structure, and 
woven into the temple ritual. In the ark of the covenant 
were kept the tables of the law, the manna with which God 
had fed His people, and Aaron's rod that budded, cherished 
tokens and reminders of the past 'The golden threads of 
memory were woven into the life and thought of the people. 
At the feast of the Passover God's mercies shown in the 
land of Egypt were recalled, at Pentecost the people were 
reminded of the fires and thunders of Sinai, and at the Feast 
of Tabernacles the green bough houses, built in the* streets 
and upon the housetops of the city of the great King, recalled 
the experiences of the nation's past. When the time came 
for them to lay the foundation stones of the temple, the place 



tTbc Significance of the Cbwcb Restored 175 

selected was the traditional mount where Abraham had built 
the altar upon which to sacrifice his son. Thus did God, 
through associations, seek to stimulate and sanctify the mem- 
ory of His people. 

Israel's prophets, with spirit-illumined vision, unfolded 
the scroll of the future and told of things that were to be, but 
the key that unlocked the years unborn was ofttime the mem- 
ory or the history of the years that had been. 

Israel's poets sang of the glories which the future had in 
store, but they sang, too, as an inspiration, of the heroes of 
the past and told in sacred song of what their fathers had 
told them of what God had done for the nation in the times 
of old, and called upon the people to give thanks unto the 
Lord who through Moses, Aaron, Phinehas, Barak and 
Gideon had "delivered them out of their distress." 

This method of appeal is not confined in the book of 
inspiration to the writers of the Old Testament. In the midst 
of the Gospel record the evangelists pause to place upon the 
immortal scroll the names of the men and women whose 
deeds of self-forgetful devotion gave them the right to live 
in the long annals of the Church; and nowhere in literature 
is there to be found a more deathless roll of fame than that 
recorded in the eleventh chapter of the Epistle to the He- 
brews, where the writer calls the names of the great heroes 
of faith, and summons them about us to be our inspiration 
and example, that we may "run with patience the race that 
is set before us." 

It is in this spirit that historic Bruton has been restored 
and enriched. All through the long months, when almost 
overwhelmed by the dust, disorder and confusion of construc- 
tion, when harrassed by questions of delicate responsibility 
in reaching decisions as to questions of harmony and taste, 
while watching the commonplace details of building, and at- 
tending to the still more commonplace and arduous work of 
raising the necessary funds, there has ever been a splen- 
dor of association, a richness of glory coming out of 
the past which has hallowed every task. From out of the 



176 Cbc Marks of Continuity 

centuries that are gone have come voices which have sounded 
above the noise of workmen's tools, voices of great men, 
which seem still to echo back the prayers and praises of the 
past, and the burdens have grown lighter, and the work made 
a thing of joy to all \vlio have shared in doing it by the 
thought that the temple restored would speak to the present 
and future of what is highest and noblest in life, that it would 
recall the best that the past holds and present it as an ideal 
and inspiration to men, and call very strongly to them to live 
for the things that count for the strength and glory of the 
Church and the nation. The thought of that for which the 
old Church stands sanctifies the commonplace, transforms the 
thought of duty into a feeling of privilege, and the task that 
might otherwise have been a burden to be borne became a 
lever to uplift the life to a higher plane of vision. 

And now as we approach the day when the Church re- 
stored will be consecrated through a form of service which, 
because there were not bishops in America, could not have 
been held when the Church was built, what are the thoughts 
with which we should approach that service, and how may we 
prepare ourselves to participate in it? 

This church so soon to be consecrated witnesses to much 
that deserves to be marked and borne in mind as we enter 
upon that service. It bears witness, as no other building in 
America does, to 

THE CONTINUITY OF THE LIFE OF THE CHURCH 

It stands within the bounds of the country where, in 1607, 
our English forefathers planted the old Mother Church of 
England, and commenced here, under the sail awning 
hung to three or four neighboring trees, the services which 
through the centuries have invoked God's blessing upon the 
nation. Of that Church Bruton is the lineal descendant and 
direct successor. Parish tradition hallows the Baptismal font 
with the name of Jamestown, and letters carved in the solid 
silver establish the identity of our Communion silver as be- 




Jamestown Island 




Bruton Parish Church, Restored 



// f J n * 
, </ 




^r ^ 

Ml 




r- 

, f * 



tibey pscy .truly pfcafe -thee^ ; 

poir iipoii &m tie 

cbsr of tfey 'fi 

tl^O Lord* 

rf<w Advocate and Mediator, 

JcfusCbrit 



&r 




%4Pwp*0f Ghiyfoftm 

jr God, who haft 
us grace at this 
With one accord to mate; 
oar common implications un^ 
to ike 5 and dtm promiie, thati 
wto two <r three are gather- 
ed together intiy Name, thoa* 

ffl now, Lord, the defires 
and petiticHis of thy fervants,/ 
as mybemoft^pedknt for 
usinthisworfd 
thy truth, and 
in tbe world txycom^ Efe ever-' 
laftkig. Anwi. 



Lwd ' 

Jelife Chrift, and the 
df God, aid the " 



us al evermore, 



tiftr 



The Pre-Revolutionary Prayer Book 



Che Marks of Continuity 179 

ing that of the old Mother Church. Here witness is borne to 
the strength of those fundamental principles which underlie 
her life and constitute the enduring power which has pre- 
served her unity and secured the continuity of her existence. 
No external forces could tend more strongly to the disintegra- 
tion and overthrow of the Church than those arrayed against 
her subsequent to the Revolution. She was still the English 
Church, and misguided England had fought her children, 
and stained our soil with their blood. Her clergy were still 
tinder the authority of the English Bishop, and her service 
was still under the authority of the English Church. Within 
these walls the men worshipped who arraigned the injustice 
of the English government in the halls of legislation, and 
then marched forth to battle for their inalienable rights, and 
yet to-day there is in this Church the Prayer-Book from 
which the service was read in their hearing, and they held 
on to it, simply pasting the prayer for the President over 
the prayer for the King, yielding to human prejudices in 
changing the words of invocation to God from "King of 
Kings" to "Ruler of the Universe," but refusing to depart 
from the the continuity of the Church's life or nbandon her 
time-honored liturgy, through which, by the spirit of God, 
the English people are reunited in one communion and fel- 
lo .vship in the mystical Body of Christ. 

And then, in later years, when dreadful civil strife fell 
upon the nation, and the Southland found herself threatened 
with invading armies, the Churchmen of the South refused to 
drag party bitterness and the animosities of war into the 
Church. The Rector of Bruton Parish, so recently "num- 
bered with God's saints in glory everlasting," took the Church 
Prayer-Book, and running his pencil through the words 
"President of the United States" wrote: "April i;th, 1861 
The Governor of Virginia, " and with these changes the peo- 
ple went on saying the same old service which was said at 
Jamestown and which was said to-day. 

As we see so much of the organic religious life of the 
world breaking into fragments under external pressure or as 



180 Cbe faitb of the Nation Builders 

a result of the lack of internal principles of coherence, we have 
cause for joy and thanksgiving that our Church has mani- 
fested the power of her divine life by passing safely through 
the shocks of war and the convulsions of human prejudice. 
Here where nations have divided, and where battles have 
raged, the Church has stood a witness to that which is per- 
manent, and as we meet here on the i2tH of May, to conse- 
crate the Church on the eve of the Three Hundredth Anni- 
versary of the day on which the English colony reached the 
nearby Island of Jamestown, and as we think of the witness 
that Bruton bears to the continuity of the life and liturgy of 
the Church, "Let us come into His presence with thanksgiv- 
ing and into His courts with praise." "For the Lord is gra- 
cious, his mercy is everlasting and his truth endureth from 
generation to generation." 

Then, too, Bruton bears witness to 

THE FAITH AND DEYOTION OF THE NATION-BUILDERS 

The names presented here in bronze and in letters of gold 
have been inscribed upon or wrought into the structure of 
the temple with no vain spirit of ancestor worship, and with 
no desire or intention of simply glorifying men. They are 
placed here to the "Glory of God,' J and as an abiding witness 
to the truth. Most people are too much preoccupied to read 
the long annals of history; busy with routine work, or ab- 
sorbed by rontinepleasure they are prone to take the lessons of 
history at second or third hand and are satisfied with a super- 
ficial knowledge which they love to delude themselves into 
believing constitutes "culture." At the hands of these people 
the facts of history become woefully perverted. The impres- 
sion is somewhat deepset that Virginia had a glorious, but a 
very godless past. With a reluctance to exploit herself by 
turning the searchlight of investigation down the path 
through which her history has run its famous course, with a 
preoccupation born of the stern necessities which war and 
subsequent poverty forced upon her people, she has for too 
long a time worn the garments of mourning and left her 



H 
n> 
Z 

fl 

sr 
o 

a 







The Colonial Governors* Canopied Pew, restored, in Bruton Parish Church 



Hlexander Spotswood 183 

name and fame to the care of the historians far removed 
from sympathetic touch with her life and institutions. 

We can. therefore, reproach ourselves alone for the 
fact that the historians whose message has reached the 
public ear have been largely the men who have sought to 
trace the source of the nation's godliness and piety back to 
Plymouth Rock, regarding the Virginia settlers and their de- 
scendants as a gay and careless set of wild adventurers whose 
minds were set upon material gain, and whose hearts were 
pleasure bent ; or, else the story of her past has been told by 
those who had a mortal grudge against the Church, and who 
perverted the truth of history to make it conform to the low 
requirements of a special brief. 

In lasting bronze we have placed here in the Church of 
God names eloquent with suggestion. From the tower door 
to where the nave intersects the transepts the names are, with 
but two exceptions, those of men who served on the parish 
vestry during Colonial days, and who, almost without excep- 
tion, served the state in some distinguished capacity. 

The truth conveyed through the memorials in the tran- 
septs is of a deeper and wider interest. They tell of the faith 
and devotion of the Nation-builders. The velvet canopy 
bearing the royal arms of England and embroidered in let- 
ters of gold with the name "Alexander Spotswood," is a 
restoration and a memorial to the gallant knight of "the 
golden horse shoe." He was a cavalier, and was ever eager 
for adventure, but he was a churchman, and loved the Church 
with a zeal and devotion which hallows his name and gives 
it a rightful place where we see it to-day. It was he who, 
when the seat of government was moved from Jamestown in 
1699 and established here, proposed, in 1710. that a new 
Church should be built, and suggested that the Parish build 
the two ends and that "the government would take care for 
the wings and the intervening part." It was he who fur- 
nished the parish with the plan of the Church, and gave to 
its outline forms the grace and strength and beauty which our 
architect has restored, and which, after the lapse of years, we 



184 ko*d Botetourt 

behold to-day. It was he who largely prevailed upon the gov- 
ernment to appropriate a sufficient sum of money to build this 
part of the Church and to put in pews for the Governor, his 
council, and the members of the House of Burgesses, making 
Bruton the "Court Church of Colonial Virginia ;" and it was 
he who, when he found that the contractor was disposed to take 
an unfair advantage of the Church, offered to furnish all the 
bricks needed for the building at fifteen shillings pef thousand. 
In his spirit of devotion to the Church we find our vindica- 
tion for this memorial, and with this knowledge we place upon 
the canopy over the pew where the Governors sat the name, 
as it was in the olden days, of "Alexander Spotswood;" Gov- 
ernor and Churchman. 

Beneath this canopy a chair has been placed in memory 
of the Honorable Norborne Berkeley, Baron de Botetourt. 
Many Governors, Spotswood, Drysdale. Gooch, Dinwiddie, 
Fauqttier, Botetourt, and Lord Dunmore sat with their Coun- 
cils in this canopied pew, but the finest Englishman of them 
all, the most zealous patron of education, the most devoted 
American, the most devout Churchman, and the one most 
beloved was Lord Botetourt. It was he who when about 
to answer to the last earthly summons of the King of 
Kings, sent for Hon. Robert Carter Nicholas, who had re- 
marked that he could not understand how His Excellency 
could ever resign himself to death, and said, "Mr. Nicholas, I 
have sent for you that you may see that I am willing to resign 
the good things of earth with the same equanimity with which 
I have enjoyed them." He loved Virginia, and chose to be 
buried in her soil, and was followed from the Church by a 
great concourse of mourners to his last resting place beneath 
the Chancel of the Chapel of the College of William and 
Mary. 

Here in these memorial pews in the transepts worship- 
ped for many years the representatives of the people of Vir- 
ginia in the House of Burgesses. To have named them all 
would have covered every inch of the woodwork with tablets 
of bronze. 




Governor's Chair, Memorial to Lord Botetourt 



186 Cbe Church and Religious freedom 

There come times in the history of nations when circum- 
stances call for men to rise as leaders and as the defenders of 
the life and liberties of the people. Circumstances do not 
make men. They sound the clarion call; they create the 
stage of action ; they raise the curtain God makes men ; or 
men, by the help of God, make themselves, and the men who 
are prepared and equipped to answer the call of their times 
are the men who create what is glorious and enduring in a 
nation's life. 

When the summons came at the time of the American 
Revolution it found here men ready to respond. The sons 
of the Church and the heirs of her teaching, these men had 
been trained by her to reverence their conscience, and to love 
their fellowmen, and they were spiritually, as well as men- 
tally, equipped for duty which demanded the sacrifice, if needs 
be, of themselves for the life and liberty of the people. In 
the dark hours of perplexity they looked to the Church of 
their fathers for light and for strength, and came here to find 
the consolations afforded by the great gospel of redemption. 
From the men of this hero band who have found fame be- 
cause they were willing to lose themselves in service, we have 
selected twenty-three names, which are almost exclusively the 
names of the great constructive statesmen of the republic, 
rather than the heroes of war, and have placed these names 
in bronze on the pews in this part of the Church where they 
assembled to worship and to invoke upon their cause the bless- 
ing of the God of liberty. 

In the north aisle of the transept, on the west side, are 
the names of the seven men who for Virginia signed the 
Declaration of Independence. 

RELIGIOUS FREEDOM IN VIRGINIA 

On the wall above these pews a tablet has been placed 
inscribed 

"To the glory of God, and in memory of the members 



Che Church and Religious freedom 187 

of the Committee which drafted the law establishing- Re- 
ligious Freedom in Virginia 

Thomas Jefferson, Vestryman of St. Anne's Parish. 

Edmund Pendleton, Vestryman of Drysdale Parish. 

George Wythe, Vestryman of Bruton Parish. 

George Mason, Vestryman of Truro Parish. 

Thomas Ludwell Lee, Vestryman of Overwharton 
Parish. 

Being all the members of the Committee. " 

This principle had been embodied in the immortal 
work of the Virginia Statesman and Churchman, George 
Mason, "The Declaration of Rights," adopted here in Wil- 
liamsburg, in June, 1776. "Never before," says William 
Wirt Henry, "had any civil government in the whole world 
allowed the claim of absolute religious freedom." When the 
contention is made, as it often is, that the Church was the 
foe to religious freedom, it is worth while to recall these 
facts of history. 

Bruton has the right to place within her walls the names 
which have been placed upon the pew plates and mural tab- 
lets. These men all worshipped here Washington records 
in his diary that he attended the service here on Sunday "and 
fasted all day." 

Because these men contributed so much to the nation 
building, because their presence is associated with this Church, 
and because, with scarcely an exception, they were vestry- 
men of the Church in Virginia, their names are recalled in 
this place as a witness to the truth of history and as a peren- 
nial inspiration to men. It may be that many as they read 
these names will have their minds illumined with the truth 
of history, and we trust that these memorials will be a means 
of showing what Virginia has given to America and what 
the Church has given to Virginia. 

THE CHARACTER OF THE COLONIAL CLERGY 

There is another testimony which one of these memor- 



188 Che Character of the Colonial Clergy 

ials bears. In superficial history and benighted fiction the 
custom has been to speak of the clergy of Colonial Virginia 
with ridiciile and scorn. This has been done so largely and 
for so long that the vast majority of people, even in the 
Church, have come to believe that the term "Colonial minis- 
ter," is almost a synonym for all that was low and degraded 
in men. It is undoubtedly true that Virginia afforded a 
place of refuge to a number of ministers who left England be- 
cause they could not well remain there, but these men who 
have been seized upon, advertised, exploited and held up to the 
public gaze and the public scorn were not types but excep- 
tions. In St. John's Church, Hampton, a window has been 
placed memorial to the Colonial clergy of that Parish. Upon 
examining the records extending over 175 years, only one 
man was found who was unworthy of being named in the 
long list of godly men. On the walls of this Church near 
the pulpit, a tablet has been placed in memory of the clergy 
of Bruton Parish Church from 1674 to 1873. During this 
period of one hundred and ninety-nine years, not one min- 
ister is to be found against whom there stands a word of cen- 
sure or reproach. They were men of education and of godly 
piety. Most of those who ministered here in the Colonial 
times were masters of arts of the universities of Oxford, 
Cambridge and Edinburgh, and we have the records giving 
the testimony of contemporaneous men to the effect that they 
were earnest and faithful ministers of the gospel of Christ. 

Time fails us to mention the names upon the many me- 
morial tablets or to recall the memories which they suggest. 
They are names which it is an inspiration to recall and which 
it would be a shame and reproach for us ever to forget ; 

******* "They from their labors rest, 
"Who Thee by faith, before the world confessed, 
Thy name, O Jesus, be forever blest 
Alleluia. 



190 Hppcat to Reverence 

"Thou wast their Rock, their Fortress and their might, 
Thou, Lord, their Captain in the well-fought fight, 
Thou in the darkness drear, their one true light 
Alleluia. 

"Oh, may thy soldiers, faithful, true and bold, 
Fight as the saints who nobly fought of old, 
And win with them, the victor's crown of gold 
Alleluia. 

"O, blest Communion, fellowship divine! 
We feebly struggle, they in glory shine, 
Yet all are one in Thee, for all are thine, 
Alleluia. 

"The house is finished." With joy and gratitude let us 
come to its consecration. The building has been enriched 
and beautified, and its glory is doubtless greater than that of 
the Church of old. It is meet and right that it should be. 
It is hallowed by the glory of the past, and for Bruton Parish 
Church nothing could be made too beautiful if its form blends 
with the symmetry and architectural designs of the past, and 
is in harmony with the beautiful and true and that the archi- 
tect has done this is evident to all. 

Around this building our associations may gather, and 
ab6ttt it our heart cords may fasten themselves in enduring 
love. 

Let us ever show in this place the deep reverence that 
to this hallowed shrine is due. Let such conversation as 
needs be held in this house of God be in tones subdued, that 
we may hear the voices of those invisible which speak to us, 
which can be heard alone where silence reigns, and when 
upon the life the hush of reverence falls. 

When you come here to participate in the service of con- 
secration, pray that the glory of the Lord may fill and sanctify 
this temple; that to the associations of the past may be added 
a new witness-bearing power; that those who enter the King- 
dom of Christ at this font; that those who kneel for confir- 



Hn Invocation 191 

mation at this altar rail ; that those who come there to find for- 
giveness and power from Christ, through the Holy Com- 
munion; that those who stand there to pledge their troth in 
holy matrimony; that those who come to hear God's word 
read and his truth proclaimed, and kneel here to invoke upon 
others and upon themselves the blessings of Heaven, may 
find grace and power to witness to the word of the love and 
mercy of Christ for Whom the Church stands and to Whom, 
in the service of Consecration, it is to be dedicated anew. 

And may God grant that the stranger who passes into 
these sacred courts may feel a presence which will inspire 
reverence, and that in the silence of the sanctuary voices may 
be heard speaking from out of the past and out of the deep 
of the present which may lead to an abiding love for Christ 
and His Church. 

May He "who is able to keep us from falling and to pre- 
sent us faultless before the presence of His glory with ex- 
ceeding joy,'' bless, preserve and keep us faithful in His 
Church during the days of the years of our pilgrimage, and 
at the last bring us home to the "Temple not made with hands 
eternal in the Heavens" upon whose gates "are written the 
names of the twelve tribes of Israel" and in whose foundation 
stones are "the names of the twelve Apostles of the Lamb. 11 




Pulpit, Reading Desk, and Clerk^ Desk 



Consecration of Bruton 
jparteb Cbutcb 




|N Sunday morning, May 12th, 1907, Bruton Par- 
ish Church was consecrated by the Rt. Rev. A. 
M. Randolph, D. D., Bishop of the Diocese of 
Southern Virginia, assisted by Rev. Lyman B 
Wharton, D. D , former rector of the Church, 
Rev. Robert Saunders Coupland, rector of Ascen- 
sion Church, Baltitfcore, and by the rector of 
Bruton Parish Church. The Bishop was met at 
the tower door by the Vestry; Dr Van F. Gar- 

rett, H. S. Bird, H. D. Cole, W. H. Macon, John L. Mercer, 

Dr. L. S. Foster, Capt. L. W. Lane, Z. G. Durfey, Dr. J. 

Blair Spencer, W. A. Montgomery, James S. Wilson, and by 

Mr. John D. Wing, acting as Clerk. 

"Che Sentence of Consecration 

was read by the Rector as follows : 

In the name of the father, and of the Son, and of the 
fioly host Hmen 

44 Whereas, this Church building was erected in the Cen- 
tury when Virginia was a colony of England, when the 
Church in America was under the ecclesiastical authority of 
the Archbishop of Canterbury, having no Bishops in Amer- 
ica to perform ecclesiastical functions assigned to the Epis- 
copate; and therefore has never been formerly consecrated, 
as required by the law of the Church; and, whereas, through 
the efforts of the Rector, and the Congregation, and the 
generosity of friends throughout the country, the canonical 
conditions with reference to the consecration of Churches 
have been complied with, in connection with the discharge 



194 Cbe Sentence of Consecration 

of all obligations and debts for the building and the resto- 
ration, now, therefore, I, 

Hlfrcd JflagtU Randolph 

Bishop of the Diocese of Southern Virginia, do consecrate 
this building bv the name 

3Bruton parish Cburcb 

thereby setting it apart from all worldly and common uses, 
and dedicating it to the worship of Almighty God, to the 
preaching of the Gospel, to the administration of the Sacra- 
ments of Christ, and to the performance of all the other offices 
of our holy religion, and^ pray God to bless this place 
with His continual presence, and to answer the prayers 
that are offered in this house that is called by His name, and 
to accept the ministrations of His Word, so that here the 
comfortable Gospel of Christ may be truly preached and 
truly received, and the Sacraments duly administered, and 
the worship of the Protestant Episcopal Church may be 
preserved in its purity throughout all generations. 

Done under my hand and seal this twelfth day of May, 
in the year of our Lord nineteen hundred and seven, and in 
the twenty-second year of my Episcopate. 

Signed, H* M* Randolph 
Bishop of the Diocese of Southern Virginia." 

The Consecration Sermon was preached by the Bishop 
from 2 Cor. v: 17. Hymns Nos. 491, 196, 299, 218, 225, 
and 176 were sung during the service, which embraced the 
Form of Consecration, the Order for Morning Prayer, the 
Order for Confirmation, and the Order for the Administra- 
tion of the Lord's Supper, or Holy Communion. 

Visitors, for whom the transepts, the Governors' pew 
and the pew of the Surveyor General were reserved, were 
present in large numbers from all parts of the country to 
participate in the service. The offering of the congregation 
was asked for the Missionary Thank Offering, and the offer- 



Sentence of Consecration 195 



ing made by the visitors was devoted to the Endowment 
Fund of Bruton Parish Church. 

"Lift the strain of high thanksgiving! 

Tread with songs the hallowed way ! 
Praise our fathers' God, for mercies 

New to us their sons to-day : 
Here they built for him a d welling, 

Served him here in ages past, 
Fixed it for His sure possession, 

Holy ground, while time shall last." 

"When the years had wrought their changes, 

He, our own unchanging God, 
Thought on this His habitation, 

Looked on His decayed abode; 
Heard our prayers, and helped our counsels, 

Blessed the silver and the gold, 
Till once more His house is standing 

Firm and stately as of old." 




4> 
8 

S g 



*S *! 

Ij 
II 



o <u 

ffi6 

O H;J 

JS 



III 



ill 



SI* 

B G 

' 



Gbree IbunfcreMb Hnniversan? flDemorial (Com 
munton Service belt) at Jamestown on tbe 
ftbfrb Sunbap after ftrinity t 1907. 




N the Third Sunday after Trinity, June 21st, 1607, 
Rev. Robert Hunt administered the Holy Com- 
mtmion for the first time in Virginia, on the 
Island of Jamestown, in an improvised Church 
in the unbroken silence of the primeval forest. 

This Communion was received as an outward 
and visible token and pledge oi reconciliation, 
without which, Capt. John Smith says the 
whole enterprise might have been overthrown, 
The service was first held beneath the trees, 
to which was hung an old sail awning, with the pulpit 
lashed between two neighboring trees. 

On Saturday, June 15th, 1907, this improvised Church 
was reproduced beneath the trees on the island ot 
Jamestown, on or near the spot where the service was 
held by Rev. Robert Hunt, and on the day following, being 
the Third Sunday after Trinity, 1907, the Rector of Bruton 
Parish Church, assisted by Rev. Edgar Hunt Goold, of 
Albany, New York, said Morning Prayer and administered 
the Holy Communion to about one hundred and fifty per- 
sons who had come from many places, but chiefly from 
Williamsburg and Norfolk, to participate in the Memorial 
Service. Under the trees, which sheltered us from the sun, 
the service was held as it was three hundred years ago, and 
was characterized by a deep tone of solemn reverence. Out 
upon the broad river, by a strange coincidence, were 
anchored three sailing vessels which recalled the three ships 
which brought the Colony from England, and among those 
present at the service was an Indian, suggestive of the 
red men of the primeval forest, who according to an old 



198 Communion Service at 



record, observed those engaged in the first service "with 
great respect and reverence." 

The address was designed to emphasize the fact that 
the religion of Christ was present as a strong regulative 
and constructive force in the Virginia Colony. The offering 
was taken for the Rev. Robert Hunt Memorial to be placed 
at Jamestown and for the Missionary Thank Offering 

Although three centuries have passed since the service 
was held which this service commemorated, Jamestown 
Island is almost as deserted, and its silence was as unbroken 
as when the voice of Rev Robert Hunt fell upon the stillness 
of the forest wilderness. 



Ulame Inbei 



The numbers in parenthesis denote the number of times the name occurs on the page 

indicated. 



Abbott, 81. 

Ambler, 123. 

Archbishop of Canterbury, 90. 
95, 96, 193. 

Archer, 80, 129 (2j. 

Argall, 38. 

Anniger, 80, 81. 

Annistead, 112. 

Aylett, 52, 117, 119. 
Bacon, 39, 73. 
Ball, 54. 

Ballard, 119, 129. 
Barney, 83, 90, 94, 127. 
Barradall, 80, 121, 130. 
Baskett, 69 (2). 
Beale, 129. 

Berkeley, 13, 125, 138, 184. 
Besouth, 52, 119. 
Beverley, 119, 123, 137. 
Binghan), 80. 
Bird, 127, 193. 
Bishop, 87. 

Bishop or Washington, 90 
Blackley, 80. 

Blair, 16, 24 (3), 45, 49, 50, 55, 
56, 74, 78, 80 (3), 108 (4), 
109 (2), 117, 119, 122 (2), 
124, 125, 137, 138 (4), 145, 
164 (2). 

Bland, 47, 92, 119, 122, 136, 168. 
Boiling, 46, 56 (2), 119. 
Bonnyman, 53. 
Bonyman, 52, 119, 137. 
Boone, 170. 

Botetonrt, 20, 24, 46, 92, 184. 
Bowcock, 81. 
Bowden, 121. 
Bracken, 118, 123, 169. 
Brafferton Hall, 16. 
Braxton, 47, ISO. 



Bray, 52, 54, 81 (5), 119 (2), 

130 (4). 
Briggs, 81 (2). 
Bright, 140. 
Brooke, 105. 
Brown, 80. 
Bryan, 83, 87, 126. 
Buckner, 139. 
Buck, 61. 

Bucke, 39, 124, 163. 
Bucktrout, 80 (6). 
Bunting, 69. 
Burgess, 80. 

Burwell, 33, 80, 117, 122, 125, 131. 
Byrd, 126, 137 (2). 
Cabaniss, 81. 
Cfabell, 47, 135 (2). 
Cambridge, 188. 
Cameron, 132. 
Camm, 118, 123. 
Carey, 47, 139 (3). 
Carnegie, 91, 139. 
Carr, 20, 47, 135. 
Carrington, 47, 135 (2). 
Carter, 33, 47, 122, 124, 137. 
Gary 129, 168. 
Charlton, 81. 
Chase, 170. 
Chesley, 52, 117, 119. 
Christian, 113. 
Clayton, 121. 
Clows, 81. 
Cobb, 52, 119. 
Cobbs, 119. 
Cochran, 83. 

Cocke, 50, 106, 111, 137, 145. 
Cogbill, 81. 
Coke, 139 (2). 
Cole, !#?; JL93^ 
Coleman, 80, 114. 



200 



JSame Index 



Collett, 80. 

Corbin, 137. 

Cornwallis, 13, 24. 

Coupland, 140, 193. 

Croshaw, 118, 131. 

Custis, 30, 33, 55, 77, 80 (3), 133 

(3). 

Cutting, 91, 126. 
Dale, 162 (2). 
Darling, 117. 
Dawson, 56, 117 (2), 122. 
Dehart, 81, 
Delaware, 36. 
Denison, 123. 
Dew, 118. 
Dlgges, 137, 136, 
Dinwiddie, 19, 24, 46, 125, 184. 
Dixon, 80. 
Doyley, 122. 
Drysdale, 46, 124, 184. 
Dugger, 80. 
Dunlop, 92, 125 (5). 
Dunmore, 20, 23, 30, 46, 116, 166, 

184. 

Durfey, 81 (3), 127, 193. 
Dyer, 8L 
Baton, 117. 
Eburne, 122. 
Edward VII, 50, 95. 
Emple, 118, 123. 
Evelyn, 111 
Everard, 130. 
Ewell, 118. 
Fairfax, 125. 
Fauquier, 20, 46, 50, 106, 125, 

144, 184. 
Folliott, 118. 
Foster, 127, 193. 
Frank, 81. 
Gait, ,30, 147. 
Garrett, 81 (3), 91, 127, 136, 138, 

141, 193. 
Gllliam, 80. 
Gooch, 46, 49, 124, 184. 



Goodwin, 7, 126, 159. 

Goold, 197. 

Gravatt, 12G. 

Graves, 118, 132 (2). 

Greenhow, 80 (3). 

Gregory, 131. 

Griffin, 81. 

Grinsley. 80. 

Grymes, 137 (2). 

Guizot, 159. 

Hacker, 105, 144. 

Halloway, 123. 

Hansford. 129. 

Harrison, 47, 91, 121, 123, 126, 

136, 137. 
Harvey, 39. 
Henderson, 80 (7). 
Henley, 127, 140. 
Henrico, 16. 

Henry, 13, 20, 23, 47, 136, 187. 
Hill, 142. 
Hoag, 90. 
Hodges, 123. 

Holloway. 45,56(2), 119<2\ 130. 
Hornsty, 80 (2). 
Hord, 80. 

Horrocks. 118, 122. 
Houston, 91. 
Hunt, 35, 36, 80, 91, 140, 152, 

160, 161, 197 (2), 198. 
Huntlngton, 91, 126. 
Jackson, 119. 
Jamestown, 13 (2), 16, 177, 179, 

180, 183, 197 (2), 198. 
Jefferson, 16, 24, 44, 91, 123, 133, 

134, 135, 164, 169, 187. 
Jenings, 50, 107 (3), 117. 119, 

124, 132, 137, 145. 
Johns, 118, 142, 164. 
Johnson, 135. 
Johnston, 13 

Jones, 23, 43, 49, 52 (2), 53, 54, 
78 (2), 80, 108 (2), 110, 119 

(2), 122, 138, 141, 145 (2), 146 



Name Index 



201 



Keith, 123. 

Kemp, 76. 

Kemper, 170. 

Kendall, 119. 

Kernochan, 91, 126. 

King Edward VII, 90, 96. 

King George III, 47, 49, 57, 59, 

170. 

LaPayetto, 13, 29. 
Lane, 30, 127, 193. 
Lawrence, 147. 
Lee, 47, 124, 125, 137 (2), 168, 

169, 187. 
Leigh, 142 (2). 
Lett, 80. 
Lewis, 122, 136. 
Lindsay, 80 (3). 
Lines, 87. 
Lloyd, 87. 
Louis XVI., 29. 
Low, 112. 
Ludwell, 41, 52, 54, 76 (3), 80, 

117, 122, 130, 132, 137. 
Lunsford, 76. 
Macon, 92, 108, 127, 131, 134, 135, 

136, 193. 
Madison, 39, 118, 142, 164, 169, 

170. 

McCann, 81. 
McCarty, 123. 
McKenzie, 112. 
McKim, 126. 

Marshall, 24 (2), 91, 134, 164. 
Martin, 119. 
Mason, 23, 47, 124, 136, 168, 169 

(4), 187 (2). 
Matthews, 117 (2). 
Mayo, 91,JL22, 125 (6), 126, 139 

(2). 

MoClellan, 13. 
Meade, 142, 167, 170. 
Mercer, 127, 193. 
Meriwether, 46, 119. 
Merriwether, 56 (2). 



Middle Plantation, 14 (2). 

Miller, 137. 

Millington, 80, 141. 

Mitchell, 126. 

Moncure, 141. 

Monro, 109 (4), 145. 

Monroe, 16, 24, 49, 134, 164. 

Montgomery, 193. 

Moore, 142. 

Morecock, 142, 143. 

Murray, 125. 

Nelson, 23, 47, 125, 136, 137, 168, 

181. 

Newport, 36. 
New York, 6, 7. 
Nicholas, 47, 135, 184 (2). 
'Nicholson, 19 (2), 80, 124. 
Nicolson, 81. 
Norfolk, 197. 
Norvell, 47, 119, 133 (3). 
Nott, 74, 75, 81, 124. 
Ort, 81. 

Owens, 52, 119, 129. 
Oxford, 188. 
Page, 24, 43 (2), 52, 54 (4), 80 

(4), 81, 104, 119 (2), 122, 126, 

139, 144. 
Paget, 96 (2). 
Paine, 126. 

Parke, 52 (2), 111, 119, 132. 
Parks, 129. 
Payne, 170. 
Peachy, 29. 
Peirce, 38. 
Pelham, 56, 58, 139. 
Pendleton, 23, 47, 123, 136 {$ 

143 (3), 168, 169 (2), 1ST, 
Pettus, 129. 
Phillips, 142. 
Pierse, 117. 
Pinkethman, 117. 
Plymouth Rock, 183. 
Pocahontas, 38, 162. 
Pollock, 87, 91, 134. 



202 



Index 



Pory, 38. 
Powell, 65, 124. 
Power, 118. 
Poyndexter, 119. 
Poythress, 122. 

Prentis, 105 (2), 130 (3), 144. 
Purdie, 81. 
Rae, 81. 

Randolph, 5, 6, 29 (2), 30, 47, 56, 
80, 87, 121, 123 (2), 126 (2), 
133, 134, 136, 164, 168, 193, 194. 
Read, 138 (2). 
Richmond, 13, 126. 
Robertson, 53, 130. 
Robinson, 13, 125, 134, 137 (2). 
Rolfe, 38, 162 (2). 
Roosevelt, 90, 95. 
Roscoe, 137. 
Rowland, 169. 
Saunders, 24, 118. 
Savage, 80. 
Scott, 69. 
Scrivener, 81. 
Seabury, 170. 
Singleton, 14L 
Slaughter, 138. 
Smith, 35, 80 (2), 81, 118, 161, 

197. 

Snow, 81. 
SouthalJ, 127, 141. 
Spencer, 127, 193. 
Spotswood, 19, 20, 23, 46, 50, 107, 
112, 124, 125, 138, 183, 184 (2). 
Stevens, 91, 123, 138. 
Stephenson, 80. 
Stewart, 83. 
Stith, 80, 117. 
Stuart, 81. 
Taliaferro, 122. 
Tarleton, 33. 
Tarpley, 50, 65, 116. 
Thompson, 142 (2). 
Thomson, 121. 



| Thorp, 81 (2), 130. 
| Thorpe, 119. 
Tilford, 81. 
TImson, 104 (7), 117, 119 (2), 

131 (4). 
Tucker, 8, 29, 49, 80, 81 (2), 83, 

126 (2), 132, 149. 
Twine, 38. 
Tyler, 16, 29, 112, 117, 119, 134 

(2). 

Van Ness, 92. 
Van Rensselaer, 136 (2). 
Waller, 56, 133. 
Warburton, 118. 
Ware, 131. 

Washington, 13, 16, 24 (2), 29, 
30, 33, 46, 47, 49 (2), 74, 77, 
80, 134 (2), 135 (2), 187. 
Westwood, 80. 

Whaley, 76 (2), 81 (2), 130 (2), 
Wharton, 193. 
Wheatley, 122. 
Whipple, 170. 
White, 170. 
Whitehead, 139. 
Whittaker, 38, 1C2 (2). 
Whittle, 142. 
Wilks, 123. 

Williams, 81, 108, 134, 136, 170. 
Wilmer; 49, 80, 110 (2), 113, 118, 

123 (2), 146. 
Wilson, 193. 
Winder, 80, 81. 
Wing, 193. 
Wingfleld, 160. 
Wormley, 137. 
Wyatt, 81. 
Wythe, 19, 24 (2), 47, 117, 123, 

137, 168, 1G9, 187. 
Yates, 118, 122. 
Yeardley, 38, 124. 
Yorktown, 14, 33. 
Yuille, 81. 



Subject Inbet 



Advisory Committee, Memorial 
to, 126. 

Ancient Records, 43. 

Ancient Vestry Orders, 52. 

Antlphon of 1610, 161. 

Assembly of 1619, 163. 

Assembly of 1619, Memorial to, 
124. 

Association for the Preservation 
of Virginia Antiquities, 91, 
125, 140. 

Attendance at Church, Compul- 
sory, 53. 

Bassett Hall, 29. 

Bell, its History, 116. 

Bell in the Tower, 65. 

Bishops of Virginia, Memorial 
to, 142. 

Blair House, 24. 

Botetourt Memorial, 184. 

Bronze Memorials, 115. 

Burgesses, House of, Memorial 
to, 121. 

Burial Regulations, 54. 

Carter's Grove, 33. 

Character of the Colonial Clergy, 
187. 

Church, Building of 1674, 43. 

Church, Building of 1710, '45. 

Church and the Revolution, 46. 

Churchyard, 73. 

Churchyard Given, 54. 

Churchyard Wall, 74. 

Civil War and the Church, 179, 

Clock from the House of Bur- 
gesses, 66. 

Clock, Memorial, 116. 

College Communion Silver, 61 

College Presidents, Memorial to, 
117. 

College Presidents' House, 24. 

College Students, Provision 
made for, 55. 



College of William and Mary, 
14. 

College of William and Mary, 
how established, 164. 

Colonial Churches, 166. 

Colonial Church Service, 57. 

Colonial Clergy, Memorial to, 
122. 

Colonial Dames Memorial, 39, 
92, 116, 138. 

Colonial Governors' Pew, 46, 124, 
138. 

Communion Services at James- 
town on Third Sunday after 
Trinity, 1907, 197. 

Confederate Prayer Book, 69. 

Consecration of Bruton Parish 
Church, 193. 

Continuity of the Life of the 
Church, 149, 176. 

Court Church, how Bruton came 
to this distinction, 56. 

Court House in Williamsburg, 
23. 

Daughters of Revolution Memo- 
rial, 92, 136. 

Dedication, 5. 

Dedication of Church, 1683, 52. 

Disestablishment of the Church 
in Virginia, 169. 

Dunmore's Gallery, 116. 

Education fostered by the 
Church, 164. 

Endowment Memorial Fund, 70. 

Epitaphs, Ancient and Quaint, 
in Churchyard, 75. 

Excavated Graves, 89. 

Faith and Devotion of the Na- 
tion Builders, 180. 

Fees of Clerk and Sexton, 52. 

Font, the Jamestown, 62. 

Gallery, Names carved on, 89. 

Gait House, 29. 



204 



Subject Index 



Genesis of the Church, 159. 

Governor, Colonial, Memorial to, 
124. 

Graves discovered, location and 
description, 144. 

Historic Associations, 13. 

Historic Environment of Bruton 
Parish Church, 13, 

Historical Sketch of Bruton Par- 
ish Church, 41. 

History perverted, 180. 

House of Burgesses, 20. 

Hunt, Rev. Robert, Memorial, 35, 
36, His ministry, 160, Memo- 
rial Alms Basin, 140. 

Illustrations, List of, 11. 

Influence of the Church upon 
American Statesmen, 167. 

Innovations of 1840, 49. 

Jamestown and its Churches, 35, 
40. 

Jamestown Baptismal Font, 62. 

Jamestown Communion Service, 
61. 

King Edward's Bible, 95. 

King George Communion Silver, 
62. 

Legislation and the Church In- 
fluence over it, 162. 

Marble Memorials Tombstones 
in the Church, 104. 

Marble Mural Tablets, 111. 

Mayo, Memorial to, 125. 

Memorials Classified, 103. 

Memorial Pews, 129. 

Minister's Salary, 53. 

Missionary Thank Offering, 170. 

Name of Parish, 41. 

Names engraved on Tombstones 
in the Churchyard, 80. 

Organ Loft, 55. 

Palace of Colonial Governors, 19. 

Peachy House, 29. 



Pendleton, Judge Edmund; re- 
mains removed, -143. 

Peninsula, of Virginia, 13. 

Peyton Randolph House, 29. 

Powder Horn, 23. 

Prayer Book and Bible, Pre-rev- 
olutionary, 69. 

Prejudice against the Church, 
179. 

Pre-revolutionary Bible and 
Prayer Book, 69. 

President's Lecturn, 95. 

Private Pews, 54. 

Raleigh Tavern, 30, 

Record Books, Ancient, 66. 

Religion a Constructive power in 
founding Virginia, 159. 

Religious Freedom in Virginia, 
169, 186. 

Religious Freedom Committee, 
Memorial to the, 123. 

Removal of the Seat of Govern- 
ment to Williamsburg, 16. 

Restoration Inaugurated, 49. 

Restoration Notes, 83. 

Restoration Tablet, 126. 

Reverence in the Sanctuary, 190. 

Seats in the Church assigned, 55. 

Sermon Inaugurating the Resto- 
ration, 149. 

Six Chimney Lot, 30. 

Society of Colonial Wars, 135. 

Speakers of House of Burgesses, 
Memorial to, 123. 

Special Memorials, 140. 

Spirit of the Past, to be cher- 
ished, 33. 

Spiritual and Ideal Significance 
of Restoration, 173. 

Spoliation of the Church In Vir- 
ginia, 169. 

Spotswood Memorial, 125, 183. 
Statesmen influenced by the 
Church, 168. 



Subject Index 205 

Struggle of Colony to Survive, f Trials of the Church, subsequent 

161. - , to the Revolution, 169. 

Surveyor General, 139. Tucker House, 29. 

Tazewell Hall, 30. , Vestry of 1674-1683, Memorial to, 

Tercentenary Memorials, 95. ! 119. 

Three Hundredth Anniversary , Vestry of 1710-1715, Memorial 

Memorial Communion Service ' to, 119. 

on Jamestown Island on the Wardens Colonial, Memorial to, 

Third Sunday after Trinity, , 117. 

1907, 197. White Column House, 24. 

Three Hundred Years of Church Williamsburg, Foundation of, 14. 



Life and Influence in Vir- 
ginia, 159. 



Wytho House, 
Yorktown, 33.